Former assistant coach Greg Larrison takes over a program that lost last years entire varsity lineup to graduation.

The Canby boys golf team has gone through a complete overhaul.

The five players who led the Cougars to a tie for fifth place at last year’s state championships have all graduated, meaning the program will rely on a new crop of golfers in the varsity ranks.

And former coach Ryan Swearingen is now serving as the high school’s interim athletic director, leaving the reins of the program in the hands of first-year coach Greg Larrison and new assistant Aaron Smith.

“We’re in the building process,” Larrison said. “It’s not going to be the team it was in the past.”

Larrison, who also serves as the high school’s police officer, was an assistant under Swearingen for the last few seasons. He has worked at Canby for 11 years.

The Cougars’ starting lineup has not been solidified, but it will likely feature Jake Schellman, Trevor Buck, McKinnley Reznicsek and Darien Dawes. All four boast junior-varsity experience.

Their skills will be tested in a perennially tough Three Rivers League that features defending state champion Lake Oswego, which returns much of its 2013 lineup.

Last year’s seniors — Bradley Klienstuber, Blake Netter, Nathan Pellatz, Benson Winklebleck and Andrew Myers — provided a blueprint of success for the incoming players, Larrison said.

Klienstuber, the TRL player of the year, and his teammates propelled Canby to the Class 6A tournament as a team last season for the first time since 2010 thanks to a second-place finish in the conference.

“Practice was done at 6, and they would hit balls until dark,” Larrison said. “That’s what they did. They got out there before anyone else. (The incoming varsity players) saw their practice routine, saw how much they were out at the range and saw what it takes to be a better golfer.”



Coach: Greg Larrison (first year)

Last year: Tied for fifth place at the Class 6A championships after earning its first team berth since 2010

Key players: Jake Schellman, Trevor Buck, McKinnley Reznicsek, Darien Dawes

Key losses: Bradley Klienstuber, Blake Netter, Nathan Pellatz, Benson Winklebleck, Andrew Myers

The scoop: New faces abound in a program that lost last year’s entire varsity lineup to graduation.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine