Many other state and federal races were decided in the May primary Tuesday

The 2014 May primary has passed and voters have decided who will either represent them going forward or move on to the November general election.

While results are not made official until they are certified in the coming weeks, the votes have been counted and the people have spoken.

In Crook County, voters opted to change the county court positions to nonpartisan, approving Measure 7-62 with 2,718 votes (68 percent). The measure was added to the ballot after county court members approved the measure earlier this year.

Crook County Assessor Brian Huber and 22nd District Circuit Court judges Daniel Ahern and Gary Williams were all elected after running unopposed. Seth Crawford, on the other hand, had to best Jack Seley in order to retain his position of Crook County Commissioner. Crawford defeated Seley, a Prineville City Councilor, by a 1,617 to 1,019 margin.

“I’m looking forward to continuing the programs I have done and looking for any opportunity to improve the economy and quality of life,” he said. “I feel great to be re-elected – mostly just the outpouring of support from everybody in the community was amazing.”

Seley, meanwhile, said he accepts the will of the people, but does not feel that they ended up with the best-suited leader.

“I think the people of Crook County lost,” he said. “The people who supported me, supported me because of a lack of action on the part of Seth. They were disappointed in his performance. I hope in listening to the rhetoric and picking up on things that were brought out, maybe he will be more energetic this time.”

At the state level, several Oregon Supreme Court and Court of Appeals judge positions were filled. On the Supreme Court, Thomas Balmer was elected to Position 1 while Martha Walters was chosen for Position 7. Timothy Sercombe was elected to Position 4 on the Court of Appeals and Joel DeVore won Position 11, Erin Lagesen took Position 12, and Doug Tookey was elected to Position 13.

Voters ensured that Brad Avakian will retain his post as Commissioner of the Bureau of Labor and Industry, and elected Henry Breithaupt to Judge of the Oregon Tax Court.

The race for Representative of House District 55 is set as Mike McLane of Powell Butte earned the Republican nomination and Richard Phay of Prineville won the Democratic primary. The two candidates, who ran unopposed, will square off in November.

The race for Oregon governor featured eight candidates, and two will move on to the general election. Gov. John Kitzhaber won the Democratic primary by a 238,140 to 25,953 margin over Ifeanyichukwu Diru. While Kitzhaber earned 88.5 percent of the statewide votes, he garnered only 76 percent in Crook County.

Dennis Richardson handily won the six-candidate Republican race, gaining 153,010 votes (65.8 percent). The race was closer among local voters who approved Richardson with 54.8 percent of the vote.

In the race for Second Congressional District, incumbent Greg Walden bested Dennis Linthicum by a 62,969 to 19,946 margin to earn the Republican Party nomination. Walden received 75.8 percent of the votes districtwide and 78 percent in Crook County.

“I want to commend my opponent (Klamath County) Commissioner Dennis Linthicum, and his family and friends for campaigning harder than anyone I’ve encountered in recent years,” Walden said in a statement. “I wish him well as he completes his term on the Klamath County Commission.”

Walden will face Democratic victor Aelea Christofferson, who won 61.8 percent of the votes districtwide and 58.5 percent locally, in a three-way race, in November.

Finally, in the race for U.S. senator, which featured three Democrats and five Republicans, Jeff Merkley easily won the Democratic primary, earning 245,932 votes (91.6 percent). Meanwhile, Monica Wehby topped Jason Conger in the Republican race by a 126,642 to 94,211 margin. Crook County voters, by contrast, favored Conger over Wehby, 1,392 to 1,017.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine