Karlee Hollis also named to first team

Crook County senior outside hitter Hannah Troutman has been named player of the year for both the Intermountain Hybrid League and Special District LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Hannah Troutman goes up for a kill against Summit earlier this year. Troutman led the Cowgirls to a 9-1 record and first place in the Intermountain Hybrid League. Troutman was recently named player of the year for the league.

“I think it’s a great honor, but it’s not just me, it’s the whole team,” Troutman said. “We won the IMC title together. It’s not just one player out there, it’s an entire team.”

The Cowgirls finished with a 9-1 record in the IMC, and a 2-0 record in Special District I to finish first in both leagues.

Troutman was joined on the IMC first team by teammate Karlee Hollis, Cassidy Wheeler of Bend, Jill Roshak of Mountain View, Katrina Johnson of Ridgeview, and Dani Taylor of Summit. Katie Nurge of Ridgeview was named the first team libero.

Other Crook County players recognized by the IMC were Kathryn Kaonis, second team middle blocker, and Aspen Christensen, honorable mention libero.

“I was thrilled to have Hannah and Karlee both on the first team,” said Crook County Head Coach Rosie Honl, “and really excited about Kathryn and Aspen. All four of them really deserved it and it was a nice going away from the IMC.”

Troutman, Hollis, and Kaonis were all also named to the Special District I first team, while Christensen, defensive specialist Laken Berlin, middle blocker Jennifer Roth, and setters Abby Smith and Kayla Hamilton were all named to the second team.

“It’s a team deal for sure,” Kaonis said. “Volleyball is a team game, but I think it’s great that our upper classmen are being recognized.”

Troutman led the IMC with 557 kills in 1,195 attempts with just 168 hitting errors. She finished the regular season with 56 blocks, 480 digs, and was 384-410 from the service line with 75 aces. In addition, she carried the bulk of the service receive duties for the Cowgirls, receiving 560 serves with just 18 errors.

Hollis finished the regular season with 327 kills and led the Cowgirls in aces with 85. Kaonis was also an important member of the Cowgirls’ front line, finishing the year with 214 kills and leading the team in blocking with 74.

Christiansen, a freshman, finished the year with 401 digs while converting 92 percent of her serves and receiving 480 serves with just 25 errors. Smith and Hamilton had nearly identical stats with Smith amassing 587 assists while going 264-302 from the service line, and Hamilton finished with 528 assists and was 354-392 from the service line with 56 aces.

Berlin, who is a defensive specialist, was third on the team in digs with 180 and received 297 serves with just 32 errors.

The Cowgirls finished the regular season with a 22-5 record. The team begins their quest for an eighth consecutive state championship when they host La Salle Prep tonight in the first round of the state playoffs. Game time is set for 6:30 p.m.

Intermountain Conference all-league team

Player of the year — Hannah Troutman, Crook County

Coach of the year — Kristin Cooper, Bend

First team — Hannah Troutman, CC. Karlee Hollis, CC. Cassidy Wheeler, Bend. Jill Roshak, Mt. View. Katrina Johnson, Ridgeview. Dani Taylor Summit. First team libero, Katie Nurge, Ridgeview.

Second team — Callie Kruska, Bend. Jordan Waskom, Summit. Rhian Sage, Ridgeview. Kathryn Kaonis, CC. Brianna Yeakey, Ridgeview. Mikayla Schumacher, Mt. View. Emma Dahl, Summit. Second team libero, Brenna Roy, Summit.

Honorable mention — Amanda Todd, Bend. Lexie, Ostrander, Bend. Sierra Hollister, Mt. View. Kenzi Kitzmiller, Summit. Shelby Abbas, Ridgeview. Honorable mention libero, Aspen Christiansen, CC.

Special District I all-league team

Player of the year — Hannah Troutman

Coach of the year — Rosie Honl

First team — Hannah Troutman, CC. Karlee Hollis, CC. Kathryn Kaonis, CC. Katrina Johnson, R. Rhian Sage, R. Brianna Yeakey, R. First team libero, Katie Nurge, R.

Second team — Kayla Jackson, R. Kaci Sage, R. Laken Berlin, CC. Abby Smith, CC. Kayla Hamilton, CC. Jennifer Roth, CC. Second team libero, Aspen Christiansen.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine