by:  ISABEL GAUTSCHI - Rick Mudrow and Leslie André were voted school board chair and vice chair for the 2014-15 year.For the second year in a row, Rick Mudrow was voted Estacada School Board chairman.

The selection of 2014-15 board chair and vice chair occurred during the board meeting Wednesday, July 9.

Before the vote was taken, Mudrow reminded the other board members that the roles of chair and vice chair had responsibilities that required a time commitment.

“I guess the only comment I would make to the fellow board members here is that in both of these positions there are time and availability requirements which need to be considered as you nominate that those are things (the nominee) can do,” Mudrow said.

Board member Ralph Branson nominated Mudrow for board chairman.

Board member Jeromy Adamson nominated 2013-14 Vice Chairwoman Angi Riedel for 2014-15 board chair.

Mudrow was elected 4-2 with the votes of Leslie André, Ralph Branson, Sonja McCarty and himself.

Adamson and Riedel voted for Riedel.

Board member Mark Greene was absent.

McCarty nominated André for vice chairwoman.

Adamson nominated Riedel.

André won with Branson, McCarty and Mudrow’s votes and a vote for herself.

The meeting was the first for Marla Stephenson as the new superintendent of the Estacada School District.

Estacada Mayor Brent Dodrill attended the meeting, briefed the School Board on city projects and welcomed Stephenson to the district.

“We’re just excited about partnering with (the school district) as we move ahead,” Dodrill said. “We both have some deep responsibilities to make Estacada all it can be.”

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine