The Vikings' Katie Rebsom is honored as the Greater Valley Conference Defensive Player of the Year.

STAFF PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Forest Grove senior Katie Rebsom was selected as the GVC Defensive Player of the Year, and was joined on the conference's first team by fellow senior Emily Huson.Following an up and down basketball season that resulted in a historic league championship for the Forest Grove girls and an injury-plagued campaign for the boys, eight Viking hoopers were honored in the All-Greater Valley Conference selections, including five girls and three boys.

Forest Grove senior Katie Rebsom was a first-team selection and was voted the Conference Defensive Player of the Year. Joining Rebsom on the first-team was fellow senior Emily Huson, while senior Kinsey Barnett was selected for the second-team. In addition to the seniors, junior forward Emily Lester and sophomore post Olivia Grosse were selected as honorable mention honorees.

Joining Rebsom and Huson on the first-team were McNary senior Kailey Doutt, West Albany senior Hannah Kerlegan, McMinnville senior Alix Williams, West Salem junior Maddie Bertsch, and South Salem senior Morgan Winder.

McNary's Doutt was selected as the conference's Player of the Year, while McMinnville's Sean Coste was honored as the Coach of the Year.

The Forest Grove girls won their first league title since 2005 and qualified for the state playoffs, losing to Sherwood in the first round.

Viking boys honorees included seniors, guard Drake Littlefield, point guard Kyle Thompson and post Sam Riley, who all were selected as honorable mention. Thompson missed the bulk of the season due to injury.

The league's first-team consisted of West Salem senior Kyle Greeley, South Salem junior Jaden Nielsen Skinner, Sprague senior Teagan Quitoriano, McMinnville senior Aaron Baune, West Albany junior Oreon Courtney, and McNary seniors Chandler Cavell and Lucas Garvey.

Greeley was selected as the Player of the Year, Jones was the Defensive Player of the Year, and McNary's Ryan Kirch was honored as the Coach of the Year.

The entire list of honorees can be seen below:

GVC Basketball All-Stars:


1st Team Kyle Greeley West Salem SR

1st Team Jaden Nielsen Skinner South Salem JR

1st Team Teagan Quitoriano Sprague SR

1st Team Aaron Baune McMinnville SR

1st Team Chandler Cavell  McNary SR

1st Team Lucas Garvey McNary SR

1st Team Oreon Courtney West Albany JR

2nd Team Tyler Wadleigh South Salem SR

2nd Team Khyler Beach McKay SR

2nd Team Tyke Thompson West Salem SR

2nd Team Jallen Hammer Sprague SR

2nd Team Andrew Jones McNary SR

2nd Team Andre Tovar McKay JR

2nd Team Boston Smith McNary SO

2nd Team Kobe Withers Sprague SO

2nd Team Tyler Miller West Salem SR

HM Drake Littlefield Forest Grove SR

HM Kyle Thompson Forest Grove SR

HM Israel Garza McKay SR

HM Luke Arzner McMinnville JR

HM Parker Spence McMinnville JR

HM Chase LaPerle West Albany SR

HM JD Drioji North Salem SR

HM Riccardo Gardelli  McNary SR

HM Trey Galbraith  South Salem SO

HM Zac Bulgin West Salem SR

HM Perry VanHouten Sprague SR

HM Nick Renyer West Albany JR

HM Sam Riley Forest Grove SR

HM Ryan Bangs McKay SR

HM Max Long Sprague SR

HM Ryan Brown South Salem JR

HM Isaac Newell McMinnville SR

HM Nick Renyer West Albany JR

HM Drioji Joel McKay SR

POY Kyle Greeley West Salem

COY Ryan Kirch McNary

DPOY Andrew Jones McNary


1st Team Kailey Doutt  McNary SR

1st Team Katie Rebsom Forest Grove SR

1st Team Hannah Kerlegan West Albany SR

1st Team Emily Huson Forest Grove SR

1st Team Alix Williams  McMinnville SR

1st Team Maddie Bertsch West Salem JR

1st Team Morgan Winder South Salem SR

2nd Team Dana Romero North Salem JR

2nd Team Kayla Heuberger  McMinnville SR

2nd Team Kylee Arzner  McMinnville FR

2nd Team Natalie Bock Sprague SR

2nd Team Hilary James South Salem FR

2nd Team Kinsey Barnett Forest Grove SR

2nd Team Paige Downer McNary SR

2nd Team Abbie Hawley   McNary JR

2nd Team Molly Hendricks West Albany SR

HM Ashley Rhoads  McMinnville SR

HM Olivia Rudolph West Salem FR

HM Lexi Tejeda West Salem SO

HM Leva Mike McKay JR

HM Anita Lao McKay JR

HM Alexia Hicks South Salem SR

HM McKenzie Kosmicki West Albany FR

HM Gretchen Olsen South Salem SO

HM Emily Lester Forest Grove JR

HM Olivia Grosse Forest Grove SO

HM Diana Cruz McKay JR

HM Antonia Gonzales West Salem JR

HM Lexie Stinton West Albany JR

HM Tori Fox  McMinnville JR

HM Sabella Alfaro  McNary JR

HM Josie Ferry South Salem SR

HM Aaliyah Fitzke North Salem JR

HM Kat Olson Sprague SR

POY Kailey Doutt McNary

DPOY Katie Rebsom Forest Grove

COY Sean Coste McMinnville

Quality local journalism takes time and money, which comes, in part, from paying readers. If you enjoy articles like this one, please consider supporting us.
(It can cost as little as 3 cents a day.)

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine