Other Pamplin Media Group sites

INSIDERS (Sponsored Content)

Brought to you by Gengee Ramirez, Prestige Senior Living Huntington Terrace - Assisted Living INSIDER -
Brought to you by Karen Sottile, Nature's Pet Market - Pet Grooming and Supplies INSIDER -
Brought to you by Dan Schofield, Weston Dealerships - Automotive Services INSIDER -
Brought to you by Karen Johnston, All About Automotive - Automotive Repair INSIDER -
Brought to you by Breana Nickila and Seth Dickinson, PDX OASIS Senior Advisors - Senior Advisors INSIDERS -
Brought to you by Donivon McCord - McCord Construction - CONSTRUCTION INSIDER -
Brought to you by Tony Kriss - Advanced Firearms Training - FIREARMS INSIDER
Brought to you by Rob Cook - Nancy's Floral - FLORAL INSIDER -
Brought to you by Maleesa Madsen - Cherry Park Plaza - SENIOR LIVING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Randy Preston - Honke Heating - HEATING AND COOLING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Ken Mitchell-Phillips - The Law Offices of Ken Mitchell-Phillips - LEGAL INSIDER -
Brought to you by Cindy Passannante - C.P. Trips - TRAVEL INSIDER -


Gresham's Opinions

FILE PHOTO - Peter Courtney (left) and Tina Kotek (right) stand with Gov. Brown.
February 16, 2017

Our Opinion: Time to talk details on budget deal

by Editorial Board
Peter Courtney and Tina Kotek are doing more than they let on.
PAMPLIN MEDIA GROUP - LOGO
February 16, 2017

LETTERS: Boy Scout says teachers deserve to be paid

by Readers
What's Inside: Protect the right to reproductive health, Trump administration is hurting animals, too
FILE PHOTO - Is your kid amazing?
February 14, 2017

Give us your Amazing Kids nominees soon

by Editorial Board
The selected Amazing Kid will be honored along with outstanding youths from throughout the metro area.


FILE PHOTO - Bill MacKenzie
February 14, 2017

Put a cork in it: Oregon needs hiring freeze now

by Bill MacKenzie
Most states, when they confront financial hard times, put a hold on hiring.
FILE PHOTO - There's nothing weird about the Metro area's traffic congestion, it's just aggravating.
February 10, 2017

True confession: Avoiding a longtime friend

by Paul Keller
There's nothing weird about the Metro area's traffic congestion, it's just aggravating.
FILE PHOTO - These students are assuredly entranced by a pine cone.
February 10, 2017

LETTERS: Don't let funding evaporate for outdoor school experience

by Pamplin Media Group
Even More Gresham Letters Inside: Saying nothing is saying something
FILE PHOTO - Rep. Bill Kennemer
February 07, 2017

Commission betrays interests of sport anglers

by Rep. Bill Kennemer
My View: 175,000 Columbia River sports anglers are being betrayed and taken for a ride.
FILE PHOTO - Jim Schlachter
February 07, 2017

Our mission: Prepare all students for success

by Jim Schlachter
Public schools are for everyone. Federal law prohibits public schools from asking about, or maintaining information on, a student's immigration status.
FILE PHOTO - President Donald Trump
February 07, 2017

LETTERS: 'Alternative America' is not my America

by Readers
More Letters Inside: Mr. Trump demonstrates serious lack of judgment
PMG - LOGO
February 03, 2017

Our Opinion: Racial disparities will continue without better information

by Editorial Board
As with many projects like this, they found more questions than answers.
Sen. Elizabeth Steiner Hayward
February 03, 2017

Lawmakers: Change legal age to buy tobacco products to 21

by Sen. Elizabeth Steiner Hayward and Rep. Richard Vi
Tobacco 21 is bipartisan, and it's all about saving money and saving lives.
FILE PHOTO - Reporter Shasta Kearns Moore
February 03, 2017

LETTER: Compromise needed to heal divided nation

by Don Neary
'I really enjoyed the column by reporter Shasta Kearns Moore.'
FILE PHOTO - A government tax assesor in Clackamas.
January 31, 2017

My View: Sensible property tax reform has merit

by Jeff Cole
Oregon is the only state not to reassess taxable value on a property when it is sold or transferred.
TRIBUNE PHOTO - Shasta Kearns Moore
January 31, 2017

My View: The ends often don't justify the means

by Shasta Kearns Moore
It is easy to cast doubt on someone's motivations. It is much harder to address their issues and experience.
FILE PHOTO - The Oregon Capitol building.
January 27, 2017

Legislators must dig in or face long session

by Editorial Board
The Legislature won't start until next week, but lawmakers already are behind schedule.
FILE PHOTO - Mark Johnson
January 27, 2017

State budget proposals lack necessary reforms to fill in $1.8 billion shortfall

by Rep. Mark Johnson
'I am working with a group of bipartisan legislators toward a comprehensive plan that will do three things.'
FILE PHOTO - Matt Wand
January 23, 2017

Lawsuit stands without apology, retraction

by Matt Wand
These are serious charges and a public retraction is absolutely necessary.
FILE PHOTO - Mikel Kelly
January 23, 2017

Being the oldest sibling can be hazardous

by Mikel Kelly
Our brothers and sisters, on the other hand, mostly worried about getting dates and keeping up with the latest hairstyles.
COURTESY PHOTO - Eastwind Development
January 19, 2017

Outlook calls for 'peace' agreement in Troutdale

by Pamplin Media Group
This lawsuit will only serve to further aggravate the strained relationship between Eastwind and Allen.
FILE PHOTO - U.S. Rep. Suzanne Bonamici
January 19, 2017

My View: Trump foes must be at inauguration, too

by U.S. Rep. Suzanne Bonamici
I endorsed his opponent and actively worked against his candidacy.
OUTLOOK PHOTO: JOSH KULLA - Snow days aren't all fun and games.
January 16, 2017

State should show flexibility with snow days

by Editorial Board
Why don't schools plan for more snow days? Most years, there's no need for them.
FILE PHOTO - It is important for us to pause and remember the legacy of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
January 16, 2017

Honor MLK by continuing to work toward justice for all

by Rev. Chuck Currie
Will you remain silent in your outrage? One pastor hopes not.
FILE PHOTO - Sweet Cakes in 2015.
January 12, 2017

Consumers - not businesses - can choose to boycott

by Bill Lamb
No business has the right to force citizens to become their customers.
COURTESY PHOTO - Dr. Samuel Metz
January 12, 2017

Let Oregon find its own healthcare solution

by Samuel Metz
If empowered, Oregon can dare to try healthcare solutions exceeding the unrealized promises of the ACA.
PAMPLIN MEDIA GROUP - LOGO.
January 09, 2017

We want a president who acts presidential

by Editorial Board
Our Opinion: Making fun of, even castigating our president, is a long American tradition.

Don't miss the local news

Bill MacKenzie
Jan 10, 2017

Would liberals now support Sweet Cakes?

by Bill MacKenzie
Our columnist asks: Is all this a liberal double standard?
FILE PHOTO - Gresham Police Chief Robin Sells
Jan 06, 2017

Violent crime remains rare in Gresham

by Robin Sells
We live in a safe community and enjoy a great quality of life, Police Chief says
FILE PHOTO - Troutdale Mayor Casey Ryan
Jan 06, 2017

LETTERS: Troutdale mayor pledges positive leadership ahead

by Contributors
What's Inside: Stegmann is a vibrant voice for East Multnomah County, Volunteers needed for Multnomah County spellers.
FILE PHOTO - Gresham, Portland and Multnomah County officials worked to removed homeless campers from along the Springwater Trail corridor in 2016. But the lasting solutions to homelessness have been hard to come by.
Jan 02, 2017

Our Opinion: Our wishes for Oregon, Portland in 2017

by Editorial Board
Happy New Year! Here's our wish list for 2017 and beyond.
FILE PHOTO - Christine VanOrder
Dec 30, 2016

My View: Continue locking up repeat offenders

by Christine VanOrder
'I wonder how many victims had previous no-contact orders violated before they were murdered.'
COURTESY PHOTO - The Owyhee Canyonlands.
Dec 30, 2016

LETTERS: Protecting the Owyhee has economic benefits

by Contributor
What's inside: True democracy wins in Damascus, It's been a privilege to serve East County
BEND BULLETIN - Logo
Dec 27, 2016

Public records advocate needs independence

by Bend Bulletin Editorial Board
Could it be that Brown is out to undercut the incoming Secretary of State Dennis Richardson, who is a Republican?
FILE PHOTO - The Owyhee Canyonlands in Central Oregon.
Dec 26, 2016

Letter: Don't be fooled by special interest rhetoric

by Barry Bushue
All Oregonians can agree that the Owyhee Canyonlands is one of our state's treasures that should be protected for generations to come
COURTESY PHOTO - Carole Morse
Dec 26, 2016

Reader Commentary: Give to culture - it brings us together

by Carole Morse
The Cultural Trust envisions an Oregon that champions and invests in creative expression and cultural exchange.
PMG - LOGO
Dec 23, 2016

Measure 97 alternative disappoints

by (none)
A Better Oregon's plan isn't a serious one. Yet, the Legislature must get very serious indeed to avert a fiscal crisis for the coming biennium.
Virginia OHanlon was 8 years old when she wrote her now-famous letter to the New York Sun.
Dec 23, 2016

It's as true today as it was in 1897: Yes, Virginia, there is a…

by Pamplin Media Group
Virginia O'Hanlon was 8 years old when she wrote her now-famous letter to the New York Sun.