Other Pamplin Media Group sites

INSIDERS (Sponsored Content)

Brought to you by Karen Sottile, Nature's Pet Market - Pet Grooming & Supplies INSIDER -


NATURE'S PET MARKET - Karen SottileWhen customers arrive at Nature’s Pet Market in Gresham, they’re greeted by the store’s long-haired ambassador, Grace.

The store cat “is the best thing that ever happened to our store,” says shop owner Karen Sottile. “She’s aggressively friendly, like a therapy cat. We have people who come by just to see her.”

Sottile opened Nature’s Pet about 18 months ago, one of a small, locally owned franchise of pet stores that offer natural foods, ethically produced toys and grooming (both self-service and professional).

“Our store concentrates on dog and cats,” says Sottile, a lifetime pet owner whose former career as a jewelry metalsmith presented ethical quandaries and difficulty finding fair-trade gems.

Opening the shop perfectly combined her love of pets with her belief in natural, safe, local and ethically made products.

“My store is somewhat curated,” she said. “Most of the products that are here are because I think they’re good products, something my customers would want.

“Quality ingredients for food are very, very important – but we have to make sure it’s affordable.”

The store has been very well-received.

“People here in Gresham wanted a place nearby” to buy natural food, toys and coats, she said.

Nature’s Pet Gresham added grooming soon after opening, with self-wash stations as well as professional grooming.

“This has been great here,” she said of Gresham. “We’ve had wonderful customers and we love their pets.”

Nature's Pet Market

901 SW Highland Drive, Suite P

Gresham, OR 97080

971-220-1501

HYPERLINK "http://www.naturespetmarket.com" www.naturespetmarket.com

Brought to you by Gengee Ramirez, Prestige Care Huntington Terrace - Retirement Living INSIDER -


PRESTIGE CARE HUNTINGTON TERRACE - Gengee RamirezExercise and physical activity are important for everyone, including older adults. No matter your health and physical abilities, you gain a lot by staying active. In fact, in most cases you have more to lose by not being active.

At Prestige Care Huntington Terrace, we have a Wellness Coach who comes two to three times per week, offering her services free to all residents. Exercise is offered mainly in the morning, with an emphasis on fall prevention and strengthening.

Here are just a few of the benefits of physical activity for seniors:

· Can help maintain and improve your physical strength and fitness

· Can help improve your ability to do the everyday things you want to do

· Can help improve your balance

· Can help manage and improve diseases like diabetes, heart disease and osteoporosis

· Can help reduce feelings of depression and may improve mood and overall well-being.

You may want to talk with your health care provider if you aren’t used to energetic activity and you want to start a vigorous exercise program or significantly increase your physical activity. Ask how physical activity can help you, whether you should avoid certain activities, and how to modify exercises to fit your situation.

Here at Prestige Care, we adhere to the maxim “If you don’t use it, you lose it.”

Schedule a visit to find out how we can help you or your loved one live a healthier, happier life.

Prestige Senior Living - Huntington Terrace

1410 NE Cleveland Ave.,

Gresham, OR 97030

503-465-1404

www.prestigecare.com/assisted.php?id=102

Brought to you by Dan Schofield, Weston Kia - Automotive INSIDER -


WESTON KIA - Dan SchofieldWith the Portland International Auto Show coming Jan. 26-29 at the Oregon Convention Center, Weston Kia is gearing up to show off what’s new, cool, green and awesome from this year’s Kia lineup.

Denny Joseph, product specialist with Weston, says there’s a lot of excitement about the brand-new Optima Plug-In Hybrid, a four-door available as Hybrid Premium and Hybrid EX.

The Optima Plug-In Hybrid “has a lot of safety features and gets about 50 mpg,” says Joseph. Both are fully parallel hybrid systems with 192 hp and 271 lb-ft of torque.

Meanwhile, the extremely popular Kia Soul makes a power move as the new Turbo Soul in 2017, with a 1.6-liter, turbocharged Inline 4 engine and a 7-speed dual-clutch transmission with fuel economy of 26 city/31 hwy/28 combined mpg.

“There’s a totally new design on the Kia Cadenza,” says Joseph, “with elegant European styling.”

Later in 2017, expect a new SUV/crossover called the Kia Niro.

Look for the Smart Trunk, a feature that opens the trunk or tailgate by sensing you are behind it. The key fob in your pocket lets the car know you’re balancing a heavy load and need help!

Kia is coming off a great year, said Joseph. JD Power ranked Kia No. 1 for initial quality and the fewest repairs needed of any manufacturer, stripping Porsche of the prize.

For more information about the Portland International Auto Show or to purchase tickets, visit portlandautoshow.com/.

In the meantime, pop by our showroom to see all the new Kias.

Weston Kia

22309 SE Stark St.

Gresham OR 97030

503-676-2100

www.westonkia.com/

Brought to you by Tony Kriss - Advanced Firearms Training - FIREARMS INSIDER

Brought to you by Donivon McCord - McCord Construction - CONSTRUCTION INSIDER -

Brought to you by Randy and Dori DeLaunay - Creative Visions Landscapes and Water Garden Center - LANDSCAPING INSIDER

Brought to you by Rob Cook - Nancy's Floral - FLORAL INSIDER -

Brought to you by Maleesa Madsen - Cherry Park Plaza - SENIOR LIVING INSIDER -

Brought to you by Ken Mitchell-Phillips - The Law Offices of Ken Mitchell-Phillips - LEGAL INSIDER -

Brought to you by Deb-ee Jones - Bridge City Medical Aesthetics - AESTHETIC INSIDER -

Brought to you by Cindy Passannante - C.P. Trips - TRAVEL INSIDER -

Brought to you by Dan Schofield, Weston Kia - Automotive Insider -


WESTON KIA - Dan SchofieldNever mind fitting the biggest present under the tree.

How about something big, shiny and new wrapped in a garage?

“Holidays on Us” is Weston Kia’s gift to you this season. Have you been eyeing 2016 Kia Optimas, Optima Hybrid or Kia Souls all year? Have you checked out the 2017 Kia Forte or Kia Sorento?

The time is right to come in for a test drive and choose your favorite.

Through Jan. 3, 2017, Weston Kia will make your season bright, offering:

· First two payments covered by us, up to $1,000

· Additional 90-day deferred payment option

· Zero percent interest for up to 66 months

(Offer applies only to qualified buyers financing their purchase through Kia Motors Finance.)

Come on by and we’ll tell you all about it.

Happy Holidays from Weston Kia!

Weston Kia

22309 SE Stark St.

Gresham OR 97030

503-676-2100

www.westonkia.com/


Gresham's Opinions

COURTESY PHOTO - Eastwind Development
January 19, 2017

Outlook calls for 'peace' agreement in Troutdale

by Pamplin Media Group
This lawsuit will only serve to further aggravate the strained relationship between Eastwind and Allen.
FILE PHOTO - U.S. Rep. Suzanne Bonamici
January 19, 2017

My View: Trump foes must be at inauguration, too

by U.S. Rep. Suzanne Bonamici
I endorsed his opponent and actively worked against his candidacy.
OUTLOOK PHOTO: JOSH KULLA - Snow days aren't all fun and games.
January 16, 2017

State should show flexibility with snow days

by Editorial Board
Why don't schools plan for more snow days? Most years, there's no need for them.


FILE PHOTO - It is important for us to pause and remember the legacy of the Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.
January 16, 2017

Honor MLK by continuing to work toward justice for all

by Rev. Chuck Currie
Will you remain silent in your outrage? One pastor hopes not.
FILE PHOTO - Sweet Cakes in 2015.
January 12, 2017

Consumers - not businesses - can choose to boycott

by Bill Lamb
No business has the right to force citizens to become their customers.
COURTESY PHOTO - Dr. Samuel Metz
January 12, 2017

Let Oregon find its own healthcare solution

by Samuel Metz
If empowered, Oregon can dare to try healthcare solutions exceeding the unrealized promises of the ACA.
PAMPLIN MEDIA GROUP - LOGO.
January 09, 2017

We want a president who acts presidential

by Editorial Board
Our Opinion: Making fun of, even castigating our president, is a long American tradition.
Bill MacKenzie
January 10, 2017

Would liberals now support Sweet Cakes?

by Bill MacKenzie
Our columnist asks: Is all this a liberal double standard?
FILE PHOTO - Gresham Police Chief Robin Sells
January 06, 2017

Violent crime remains rare in Gresham

by Robin Sells
We live in a safe community and enjoy a great quality of life, Police Chief says
FILE PHOTO - Troutdale Mayor Casey Ryan
January 06, 2017

LETTERS: Troutdale mayor pledges positive leadership ahead

by Contributors
What's Inside: Stegmann is a vibrant voice for East Multnomah County, Volunteers needed for Multnomah County spellers.
FILE PHOTO - Gresham, Portland and Multnomah County officials worked to removed homeless campers from along the Springwater Trail corridor in 2016. But the lasting solutions to homelessness have been hard to come by.
January 02, 2017

Our Opinion: Our wishes for Oregon, Portland in 2017

by Editorial Board
Happy New Year! Here's our wish list for 2017 and beyond.
FILE PHOTO - Christine VanOrder
December 30, 2016

My View: Continue locking up repeat offenders

by Christine VanOrder
'I wonder how many victims had previous no-contact orders violated before they were murdered.'
COURTESY PHOTO - The Owyhee Canyonlands.
December 30, 2016

LETTERS: Protecting the Owyhee has economic benefits

by Contributor
What's inside: True democracy wins in Damascus, It's been a privilege to serve East County
BEND BULLETIN - Logo
December 27, 2016

Public records advocate needs independence

by Bend Bulletin Editorial Board
Could it be that Brown is out to undercut the incoming Secretary of State Dennis Richardson, who is a Republican?
FILE PHOTO - The Owyhee Canyonlands in Central Oregon.
December 26, 2016

Letter: Don't be fooled by special interest rhetoric

by Barry Bushue
All Oregonians can agree that the Owyhee Canyonlands is one of our state's treasures that should be protected for generations to come
COURTESY PHOTO - Carole Morse
December 26, 2016

Reader Commentary: Give to culture - it brings us together

by Carole Morse
The Cultural Trust envisions an Oregon that champions and invests in creative expression and cultural exchange.
PMG - LOGO
December 23, 2016

Measure 97 alternative disappoints

by (none)
A Better Oregon's plan isn't a serious one. Yet, the Legislature must get very serious indeed to avert a fiscal crisis for the coming biennium.
Virginia OHanlon was 8 years old when she wrote her now-famous letter to the New York Sun.
December 23, 2016

It's as true today as it was in 1897: Yes, Virginia, there is a Santa Claus

by Pamplin Media Group
Virginia O'Hanlon was 8 years old when she wrote her now-famous letter to the New York Sun.
FILE PHOTO - Mikel Kelly
December 20, 2016

Keep the skinny reporters away from Crown Point

by Mikel Kelly
It was an inch of snow, people! Just an inch.
FILE PHOTO - Dr. Debbie Derr
December 19, 2016

MHCC continues safe, welcoming environment

by Dr. Debbie Derr
Dr. Debbie Derr is president of Mt. Hood Community College.
PAMPLIN MEDIA GROUP - LOGO
December 16, 2016

Our opinion: After Measure 97, time for compromise

by Editorial Board
Business groups defeated Measure 97 only after both sides spent a combined $42 million.
FILE PHOTO - Jim Schlachter
December 16, 2016

Exciting times ahead for Gresham-Barlow schools

by Jim Schlachter
Our students and our community have a bright future because of your commitment.
FILE PHOTO - SnowCap volunteer and past board president Jim Liefeld works in SnowCap's warehouse.
December 16, 2016

Need is always great for food donations

by Alyson Huntting
We are the fortunate ones to have an organization such as SnowCap to help those in need and that need never seems to lessen.
PAMPLIN MEDIA GROUP - Logo
December 12, 2016

My View: Reduce 'mercy rule' threshold in sports

by Mark Kirchmeier
It's called the 'slaughter rule' in the Deep South, where football is king.
CONTRIBUTED PHOTO - Steve Bates
December 12, 2016

Clackamas County should have urban-rural representation

by Stephen Bates
Would it not be best for the commissioners to represent specific communities and advocate for them?

Don't miss the local news

LOGO - Pamplin Media Group.
Dec 09, 2016

Make sure state hears your voice on next budget

by Editorial Board
Republicans in the House and Senate will balk at increased taxes.
Dec 08, 2016

Our opinion: After Measure 97, time for compromise

by Editorial Board
Businesses should reach out to other side, but Democrats who control Legislature must act as well
PMG  - LOGO
Dec 06, 2016

My View: Bhutanese Americans advance despite immigration rhetoric

by Mark Kirchmeier
'When people are freed from a prison-like country and come to a free country like the USA, they take the positive opportunity to build their future.'
FILE PHOTO - Publisher Steve Brown
Dec 02, 2016

Mike Weatherby brings fair view back to council

by Steve Brown
City may have turned the page on ornery recent past.
FILE PHOTO - Editor Nancy Townsley
Dec 02, 2016

Stop fighting and recognize we all are colored glass

by Nancy Townsley
Consider those around you. Consider yourself. Then imagine an amalgam.
Mikel Kelly is the former head of the Central Design Desk at Pamplin Media Group and former managing editor of The Tribune's sister newspapers, the Beaverton Valley Times and The Times, serving Tigard. Tualatin and Sherwood.
Dec 01, 2016

Even in retirement, I continue to have way too many jobs

by Mikel Kelly
I've been retired for more than a year already, and I'm somewhat surprised to report that this past year has been one of the busiest of my life.
COURTESY PHOTO - David Jorling
Dec 01, 2016

It's time to abolish the death penalty

by David L. Jorling
'When the law punishes by death, it risks its own sudden descent into brutality, transgressing the constitutional commitment to decency and restraint.'
PAMPLIN MEDIA GROUP - Our Opinion
Nov 28, 2016

Our Opinion: Diluted bus project still right move

by Pamplin Media Group
Some hard work has resulted in a commendable - if not breathtakingly creative - plan to improve public transportation between Portland and Gresham.
CONTRIBUTED PHOTO - Russ Dondero
Nov 28, 2016

Trump needs to come clean on Kremlin connection

by Russ Dondero
Now that our long election nightmare is over, we face uncharted waters with a President-elect who has never held office and whose campaign was the most uncivil in memory.
CONTRIBUTED PHOTO - Lutie (Welch) Bailey, her father Billy Welch, and Billy's second wife, Jennie Faubion, are shown at the Welch's ranch near where the first hole of today's golf course is located. That's the base of Hunchback Mountain directly behind them with West Zigzag Mountain rising up in the distant background.
Nov 23, 2016

What our mountain area road names reveal about us

by Paul Keller
Have you ever taken the time to really ponder our Mount Hood area road names?