Other Pamplin Media Group sites

INSIDERS (Sponsored Content)

Brought to you by Dan Schofield, Weston Kia - AUTOMOTIVE SERVICES INSIDER -
Brought to you by Gengee Ramirez, Prestige Senior Living Huntington Terrace - ASSISTED LIVING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Karen Sottile, Nature's Pet - PET GROOMING & SUPPLIES INSIDER -
Brought to you by Karen Johnston, All About Automotive - AUTOMOTIVE REPAIR INSIDER -
Brought to you by Seth Dickinson and Breanna Nickila, OASIS Senior Advisers - SENIOR ADVISORS INSIDER -
Brought to you by Maleesa Madsen - Cherry Park Plaza - SENIOR LIVING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Rob Cook - Nancy's Floral - FLORAL INSIDER -
Brought to you by Cindy Passannante - C.P. Trips - TRAVEL INSIDER -
Brought to you by Seth Dickinson and Breanna Nickila, OASIS Senior Advisors - SENIOR ADVISORS INSIDERS -
Brought to you by Cindy Passannante - C.P. Trips - TRAVEL INSIDER -
Brought to you by Randy Preston - Honke Heating - HEATING AND COOLING INSIDER -
Brought to you by Rob Cook - Nancy's Floral - FLORAL INSIDER -


Gresham's Opinions

COURTESY - John Horvick
May 23, 2017

The primary problem of Oregon's Motor Voter Law

by John Horvick
An ever-shrinking share of Oregonians has the opportunity to vote in primary elections, which is the often the only real contest where party registration is lopsided.
Lori Chavez-DeRemer
May 23, 2017

Solving area's transportation needs requires strong leadership

by Lori Chavez-DeRemer
We need leaders that have the tools to solve the education funding gap, so all our Oregon children are elevated.
FILE PHOTO - Mt. Hood Community College
May 18, 2017

MHCC bond defeat will have costly consequences

by Steve Brown
What happens when an earthquake drops an unreinforced building on students and college employees? Do we shrug and say, 'At least we saved $40 a year.'


COURTESY - Apartment buildings are shown in this rendering.
May 18, 2017

My View: Housing bill promotes family stability

by Andy Miller
As the owner of over 700 rental units, we know the challenges and economic risks landlords face every day.
FILE PHOTO - Mike McKeel
May 17, 2017

LETTER: As we usher in the new let's preserve the past

by Keith Tillstrom
So this little attachment to the past is worth keeping at a time when there is an attempt to erase history.
FILE PHOTO - Publisher Steve Brown
May 16, 2017

Preserve GHS facade for future generations

by Steve Brown
Kudos to Gresham Mayor Shane Bemis, Mike McKeel, the Dwyre family and Centennial Little League.
FILE PHOTO - Mikel Kelly
May 16, 2017

OK, maybe I love my leaf blower a little too much

by Mikel Kelly
If you are having trouble finding happiness and balance in your life, I suggest you do what I did. Get a leaf blower.
FILE PHOTO - I hope that the planners, the city arborists, the historical society all are aware of these trees and plans are made to protect them and these plans are monitored closely.
May 16, 2017

LETTER: Protect Ginkgo trees outside Gresham High

by Rosemary Shepperd Guttridge
Geography teacher Hazel Newhouse instigated the plantings of these wonderful trees.
Dave Wenzel
May 12, 2017

'Parenting is not for the squeamish'

by Dave Wenzel
My challenge to you is to not get caught up in a parenting style that is driven by sensationalized media reports that cause you to believe things are more dangerous than they are.
FILE PHOTO - 'I have seen wonderful facades of classic buildings saved. Gresham High School's can be too,' says City Councilor David Widmark.
May 12, 2017

LETTERS: Preserve GHS facade for future generations

by Readers
What's Inside: Vote yes on MHCC bond, Immunizations have no bearing on medical neglect.
May 12, 2017

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Beverly Russell

by Pamplin Media Group
Mt. Hood Community College provides $4 of economic impact back to the local economy for every dollar invested.
May 12, 2017

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: David Widmark

by Pamplin Media Group
I have seen wonderful facades of classic buildings saved. Gresham High School's can be too.
OUTLOOK PHOTO: JOSH KULLA - This is the front of the historic Gresham High School building, as it appears in 2017.
May 09, 2017

District must protect historic GHS facade

by Shane Bemis
I believe the district can achieve all the goals of security and modernization while also preserving the façade.
FILE PHOTO - Rebecca Tweed, head of the anti-Measure 97 campaign, speaks with reporters.
May 09, 2017

Time for business to lay out its plan

by Editorial Board
It's easier to unite in opposing something you hate than in building support for something you know needs to be done.
FILE PHOTO - Carla Piluso
May 08, 2017

LETTERS: Thank you, Rep. Piluso

by Readers
What's Inside: 'No-cause evictions' leave people vulnerable, Where did all the garbage cans go?
FILE PHOTO - Mt. Hood Community College
May 08, 2017

Investment in MHCC critical for our community

by John Miner
When we buy locally and invest locally in our community, we make our money count for our community.
FILE PHOTO - Mt. Hood Community College
May 08, 2017

LETTERS: Investment in MHCC pays off for community

by Readers
What's Inside: Mt. Hood Community College needs your support as it meets students' needs
FILE PHOTO - Mt. Hood Community College
May 02, 2017

LETTERS: Bond will make MHCC an education leader

by Readers
What's Inside: End imbalance of funding by approving Mt. Hood college bond, Tell lawmakers to end no-cause evictions.
LOGO - Reynolds School District
May 02, 2017

Make full education funding the state's top priority

by Tricia Thomas
Reynolds is as high a need district as I have ever worked in and operates on a shoestring.
COURTESY  - Outrage over Pepsi's new protest-themed ad is common here in the Pacific Northwest.
April 28, 2017

Pepsi ad shows sacred cows on parade

by Shahriyar Smith
Outrage over Pepsi's new protest-themed ad is common here in the Pacific Northwest.
April 28, 2017

OUTLOOK EDITORIAL: 'Predictive scheduling' bills are anti-business, anti-employee

by Steve Brown
The Outlook opposes 'predictive scheduling' bills under consideration in Salem, declaring them as anti-business and enti-employee.
GRAPHIC - The bond would fund the construction shown here.
April 28, 2017

LETTERS: It's time to reinvest in MHCC

by Readers
What's Inside: MHCC can't continue to finance its future on a credit card, Oregon's funding of K-12 schools is immoral.
FILE PHOTO - Diane McKeel
April 25, 2017

Elect McKeel, Mattson to MHCC board

by Editorial Board
We looked for candidates with energy, a broad base of community involvement and for people who are in-step with the needs of the surrounding industries and communities.
COURTESY - John A. Charles Jr.
April 25, 2017

My View: Nothing wrong with promoting cars

by John A. Charles Jr.
Auto mobility is a wonderful thing, and there is no reason to feel guilty about new roads.
FILE PHOTO - Reynolds School District Superintendent Linda Florence.
April 25, 2017

LETTER: State must take action on increasing revenue

by Tricia Curley
We need our legislators to be invested so that all Reynolds School District children get the education they deserve.

Don't miss the local news

April 12
Apr 21, 2017

Some 'lost causes' worth conversation, consideration

by Pamplin Media Group
Any bill in Salem with a 'fiscal impact' - that is, a price tag - is probably dead on arrival.
FILE PHOTO - President Donald J. Trump
Apr 21, 2017

LETTERS: 'Enjoy the ride' with unfit president

by Readers
What's Inside: Why won't police pull the fuse on fireworks, Accusations against Hays damage his reputation.
Bob Joondeph
Apr 21, 2017

Bill would benefit Oregonians with disabilities

by The Times
Whenever and however a disability arises, it may have a profound effect upon a person's perception of and expectation for their life.
FILE PHOTO - Steve Brown
Apr 18, 2017

Vote yes on MHCC's capital improvement bond

by Steve Brown
It's critically important that this measure be passed, and we hope you join us in supporting this measure.
PAMPLIN MEDIA GROUP - LOGO
Apr 18, 2017

Our Opinion: Address budget, taxes for long term

by Editorial Board
Democrats and Republicans - and the interest groups that fund them - must budge on some long-held positions.
FILE PHOTO - Mt. Hood Community College
Apr 18, 2017

LETTERS: MHCC needs to expand, modernize and catch up

by Readers
What's Inside: Finally, someone speaks the truth about Donald J. Trump
COURTESY PHOTO - Diane L. Gruber
Apr 14, 2017

GUEST OPINION: Diane L. Gruber

by Diane L. Gruber
Democrats have created a false narrative about President Trump and Russia. We should all be rooting for our president.
FILE PHOTO - Adam Davis
Apr 13, 2017

My View: Trump budget clashes with state values

by Adam Davis
Items in the president's budget are similarly out of tune with Oregonians' values.
KOIN 6 NEWS PHOTO - The Oregon State Capitol Building.
Apr 13, 2017

Legislature should fix housing bill while there's time

by Editorial Board
Lifting the ban on rent control could lead to a checkerboard of regulations.
FILE PHOTO - Multnomah County Commissioner Diane McKeel.
Apr 13, 2017

Letter: Elect former commissioner Diane McKeel to college board

by Kelly Carroll
It is hard for me to think of a more skilled, experienced and qualified person than Diane McKeel as a candidate for the Mt. Hood Community College Board of Directors.
OPB PHOTO - Fairview City Hall in 2007.
Apr 11, 2017

Fairview misses chance to re-set incentive package

by Editorial Board
The Outlook almost always appreciates Tosterud's pragmatic style of city governance, but on this subject we part ways.
FILE PHOTO - Dave Wenzel
Apr 11, 2017

Data doesn't support raising kids in culture of fear

by Dave Wenzel
The overall protective environment we have created for our kids impacts their sense of trying new things.
Christy Scattarella
Apr 07, 2017

My View: Supreme Court ruling on students with disabilities…

by Christy Scattarella
What will 'appropriately ambitious' look like for Oregon's nearly 77,000 students with disabilities?
KOIN 6 NEWS PHOTO - A United States Postal Service dropbox in downtown Portland.
Apr 07, 2017

LETTERS: Indiana student seeks help with Oregon class project

by Readers
What's Inside: State needs to keep fingers off our money.
FILE PHOTO - A teen smoker.
Apr 04, 2017

Raise age to buy, use tobacco to 21

by Pamplin Media Group
Deaths from tobacco use are the No. 1 preventable cause of death in Oregon, according to the state Public Health Division, and most people start smoking before they turn 20.
FILE PHOTO - A teen smoker.
Apr 04, 2017

Raise age to buy, use tobacco to 21

by Editorial Board
Deaths from tobacco use are the No. 1 preventable cause of death in Oregon.
Apr 04, 2017

State needs to keep fingers off our money

by Pamplin Media Group
Letter writer Carlton Bruce of Sandy says the state government has plenty of money, it's just over spending.
Apr 04, 2017

Access to medicine outweighs the risks

by John Johnson
The current law restricting pseudoephedrine has not solved the problem, yet burdens those who depend on these medicines for relief with unnecessary and costly visits to the doctor.
Rep. Carla Piluso
Apr 02, 2017

Stable housing is a public safety issue

by Rep. Carla Piluso and Rep. Chris Gorsek
Reps. Carla Piluso, District 50, and Chris Gorsek, District 49, are working to pass housing stability for all renters, including survivors of domestic violence and their children.
Steve Brown
Mar 31, 2017

Look for opportunities to defeat hate with kindness

by Steve Brown
We hope Hasel Afshar can take comfort in knowing thousands of people in the metro area stand behind him with offers of support and acceptance.
Mayor Casey Ryan
Mar 31, 2017

Mayor of Troutdale stands with victim of hate crime

by Casey Ryan
Troutdale Mayor Casey Ryan calls on his community to make connections and to treat each other with compassion.
Mar 31, 2017

Legislative action needed on equal pay for women

by Mardy Stevens
Letter writer Mardy Stevens of Gresham is a strong advocate for equal pay for women.
Mar 31, 2017

Tobacco-free parks is right move for city

by Brittany Duffy-Goche
Letter writer Brittany Duffy-Goche says visitors to Gresham's public parks shouldn't have to breathe second-hand smoke.
Mar 31, 2017

Citizenship required

by Frank Bonneau
Letter writer Frank Bonneau says the U.S. Constitution mandates that immigrants seek citizenship.
FILE PHOTO - Three revolvers.
Mar 28, 2017

Legislature must act to keep guns away from children

by Paul Kemp, Robert Yuille and Lily Raff McCaulou
It is time for Oregon to create a clear expectation for gun owners that they must safely store their firearms.