Endorsement: Jerry Willey for Washington County commissioner

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
In the District 4 race, both candidates are capable but Willey stands out with experience and relationships.

Morey: Keep the jobs pipeline local for water supply

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Those who manage our water are thinking and planning ahead to secure a new source for our water supply.'

Speirs: Judgment is reserved for our creator

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Trump was elected to bring back a failing economy and to revive the spirit of the American worker.'

Letters to the Editor: April 18, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers make pitches for candidates in Washington County, Metro and Oregon state elections.

Tariffs on newsprint could hurt American journalism

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
We don't like talking about ourselves. But we worry about how tariffs could impact our ability to serve you.

Mitsui & Hinshaw: Collaboration that connects students to…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Portland Community College is achieving dramatically improved graduation outcomes for these students.'

Church: My Lai, Parkland and Dr. King

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'It is also vital now, with the Parkland high school massacre fresh in our memory, to look at systemic violence.'

Learn about local races when the chance presents itself

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
While we focus our attention on national politics, decisions close to home affect our day-to-day lives.

Hastings: Just say 'no' to NRA's political agenda

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Like apartheid falling in South Africa, the NRA will topple, and even the corporations ... will abandon them.'

Charles & Shepard: TriMet shows pension reform possible

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'TriMet's pension reform offers a valuable guide ... on how to contain and reverse the spiraling PERS disaster.'

Gardner & Weber: The truth about sports scholarships

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The odds of a sports scholarship paying for even a portion of a student's college education are miniscule.'

Letters to the Editor: April 4, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers write to us about upcoming elections, Native American representation, school safety and more.

Retailers' moves a step in the right direction

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Restricting gun access to teenagers is wise, and if our lawmakers won't do it and our stores can, they should.

Emerick: More people with guns doesn't fix the problem

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Again, the root cause is guns. We must address weapons that can create such rapid and mass destruction.'

Parks: One step in reducing gun violence is simple

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
't was not that long ago that we had a ban on assault rifles. ... We have gone backwards on reasonable gun control.'

Lindsley: Seriously happy school gardens work for the…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'A 'garden per school' is proving its value as students achieve higher test scores.'

Currie: Honor Dr. King by joining the fight for social…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The gun violence that took Dr. King, and would soon take Sen. Robert F. Kennedy, is now an epidemic.'

Ferreira: Vape rule fix needed to improve public health

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Economists conclude FDA regulations will prevent smokers from switching to safer alternatives.'

Letters to the Editor: March 28, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers write about local history, gun control, web headlines, on-campus filming, sex ed and more.

Schools should support students when they speak out

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
We understand the need for schools to maintain order, but allowing students to be heard is important, too.

Duyck: A way forward for Washington County Fairgrounds

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'We can argue all day about how things should have been done in the past. What matters now is how we work together...'

Reverends: Sanctuary anniversary a time for reflection,…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'What we say about brothers and sisters, fellow members of our community, matters.'

Bourgeois: 'Greatest Generation' built strong nation

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'I have only a handful of World War II pals left and I treasure each moment I can spend with them.'

Stride: Development, conservation in the Willamette Valley

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'For those that have the spirit of conservation in them, it manifests in many ways.'

Students: Neil Armstrong Middle School works to spread…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Even though Respect Week has ended, we need to continue spreading this awareness.'

Letters to the Editor: March 21, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers share their thoughts on the Washington County Fair Complex and Alzheimer's legislation.

This year's short session worked by being short

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Oregon legislators will have time to more thoroughly tackle big, contentious issues in 2019.

Sitter: Gun violence solutions aren't as simple as some…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'What is needed is not smart guns but smart legislators willing to research problems and dialogue honestly.'

Wentz: A tale of two countries

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Which country you live in is apparently decided by what you are willing to see, hear and think.'

Felton: Glad to see column promoting biblical values

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'It used to be that most people, whether they practiced them or not, acknowledged biblical values.'

'Yes' votes will expand fire services westward

Beaverton Valley Times - Opinion
Measures 34-280 and 34-281 shouldn't be on the ballot, but since they are, voters should approve them.

Housing for all should be the goal

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Our leaders need to do what they can to put roofs over residents' heads, regardless of income level.

Spiesschaert: Fairgrounds deserve better than county's…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The destruction of this incredible gem ... is a breach of trust beyond all comprehension.'

Hutchison: Look to God, not gun control, after school…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Let's try returning to a value system similar to that which was in place when the country was formed.'

Novick: 'Smart guns' could be smart way to limit gun…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Studies show that a move to smart guns would significantly reduce gun deaths in a variety of ways.'

Letters to the Editor: March 7, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers follow up on a story about a new book and a column about Washington County's trees from last month.

Hillsboro School Board is right to re-address contraception…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
School-based health centers are vitally important, and so is birth control access.

Bilderbacks: Prospector's sequoias are our Gold Rush…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'He planted seeds more than 130 years ago that still resonate with Washington County residents.'

Feik: Sustainability Commission works to reach the public

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Many global actions determine ... conditions. We have to be aware of those actions but act locally.'

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 28, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Readers react to calls for gun control and arming teachers after the Parkland, Fla., shooting.

Time to have a difficult conversation about guns

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
It is unacceptable that our elected officials fail to act to prevent mass shootings.

Our changing newsroom welcomes two new reporters

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Stephanie Haugen and Kathy Fuller are succeeded in their roles by Olivia Singer and Mandy Feder-Sawyer.

Warren: Federal Reserve was in good hands with…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'In Yellen's four years at the Fed helm, not once did the jobs report come in negative.'

Starrett: Could local oversight improve foster care…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'I'm concerned that by virtue of its size, a large centralized state agency may never do a satisfactory job...'

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 21, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Our readers write to us with a different view on Facebook and deep concerns about a Supreme Court case.

It's not too late to nominate your Amazing Kid!

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
We look forward to hearing, and telling, the stories of amazing young people in western Washington County.

Harris: Tax reform legislation should be moral…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'Whatever our political affiliation, we would do well to judge the tax reform law in the context of Jesus' words.'

Schley: Deactivate Facebook and participate

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'A social networking site that kept me from being as social as I prefer to be ... isn't very social, is it?'

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 14, 2018

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
A reporter says goodbye, and readers write about graduation rates, voter assistance and biblical wisdom.

Fire authority an opportunity to pull together as…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
We think the idea to unify our local fire agencies is a good one, and we are excited to see it develop.

McLain: Session an opportunity for accountability…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'I have ensured that we remain focused on making our government nimble and productive.'

Stride: Reading animal tracks in western Oregon is…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The best way to learn tracking is to go out and find tracks in snow and soft earth.'

Weiss: Family Fiesta creates new community…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'This year's Family Fiesta reminded me of why we created the event two years ago.'

Duke, Teske and Valliere: County needs regional…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The Washington County Board of Commissioners has been providing valuable support for this work.'

Nominate Hillsboro's next Amazing Kid

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Nominations now being accepted for the Pamplin Media Group program that honors community service

Changes at Tribune won't affect our commitment to…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Hillsboro's local paper is moving to a Wednesday publication date and returning to paid delivery.

Solares: No, the Century High health center should…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'For people to call for its closure is disheartening and shows a lack of compassion.'

Editorial: County finds itself in crosshairs of…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Whether it's DACA or Measure 101, national news is being played out right here in Washington County.

Letters to the Editor, Jan. 26, 2018

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
This week's letters include Boy Scout derby races and a sobering account on the cost of health care.

My View: What's the chance of a woman president?

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Marylhurst University president says a woman to be elected to the White House, more women are needed in other government roles.

Soapbox: School board again considers policy that…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Parents' Rights in Education director says district shouldn't allow contraceptives at health center.

Editorial: We need to talk about big-picture…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The state's Joint Committee on Student Success is a good start, but there's a long way to go.

Soapbox: School health center a distraction and…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Former Hillsboro School Board member says district's school-based health center should close.

Health care tax doesn't pass fairness test

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Oregonians without a lobbyist, who aren't beholden to special interests and who were too busy working to pay for healthcare to come to testify on a…

Learn to live with population growth

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
These are special places, and just as we must protect our most sensitive habitat areas and our most valuable farmland, we must preserve our unique…

PCC enters 2018 with optimism

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Education changes lives and opens doors to opportunity that benefit the greater community. A recent economic impact study shows a return of $3.70 in…

Taking stock of 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Close to home, we continue to grapple with a growing population and increasing density.

Ignore hype, vote yes on health care legislation

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Measure 101 is, in effect, at attempted 'do-over' by the losers of a tough political fight.

Tax code changes will pummel Oregon

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
There is a certain elegance to the simplicity of this philosophy. But like all simplistic theories, it suffers from a glaring problem - it ignores…

Column: Here's how to preserve your holiday…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
A keeper finds a place for everything and loves any small, eclectic gift, which to them shows the character of the gifter.

Editorial: Sexual harassment a long-overdue…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Many Oregon women who find themselves in a hostile work environment remain silent.

Letter to the editor, Dec. 29, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Hillsboro's library director is encouraging local itizens to register for reading challenge.

My View: Give to the arts by year-end

Portland Tribune - Opinion
Oregonians may get a 2017 tax credit for giving to the Oregon Cultural Trust and qualifying arts organizations by Dec. 31.

Pass Clean Energy Jobs bill for farmers, first…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our state is poised to reap the rewards of such a policy: more well-paying jobs, clean air, and local, renewable energy.

It's time for West Coast leaders to talk traffic

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
With many decisions ahead regarding the use of tolls and how to prioritize congestion-relief and maintenance efforts, the committee will be busy for…

What do we want for Christmas? Peace

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
It seems peace, compassion and empathy have taken a backseat to rampant fear, violence and vitriol.

Soapbox: Measure 101 helps stabilize health rates

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Virginia Garcia Memorial Health Center's Lyn Jacobs says Measure 101 would stabilize health insurance rates

Editorial: Superfund cleanup must not be delayed

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The secrecy of the talks is troubling, particularly in a process in which trust and credibility are key.

Soapbox: What we have in common helps us

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Hillsboro resident Chris Spalding says differences in our community teach us about our similarities

What my father taught me about women

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
My mom would not tolerate sexism and instilled within me feminist ideals. What I inherited from her makes me a better husband and father.

When it's time to say 'me too'

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
I didn't understand the value of the metoo meme, I mean, who can't say 'me too'?

GOP tax plan threatens education for decades

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
There are many reasons to criticize these bills, but the attacks on education could have very long-lasting effects.

My View: Kids' health shouldn't be a budget…

Portland Tribune - Opinion
Congress has cut funding to the Children's Health Insurance Program; Sen. Ron Wyden vows to fight for funding to allow the program to continue.

Soapbox: 'Progress' in county should make room for…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
If the people of North Plains wish to have wildlife as part of their community they should advocate for saving the forest and open space that is left.

Letters to the editor: Dec. 1, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
City defends utility billing change, say land-use decision should be reversed, defend Roy Moore

Editorial: Metro affordable housing bond should…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Should Metro be leading the charge for affordable housing? Maybe, but it needs more specifics.

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 24, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
In The Tribune's mailbag: Your utility bills are on the rise; Chronic illness sufferers need help.

Letter: Medicaid suffers from failed leadership

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Gubernatorial candidate says Oregon needs to make health care repayments a priority.

Letter to the editor

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Hillsboro youth says Oregon forest fires can be prevented through 'knowledge, awareness'

PERS problem calls for multi-pronged solution

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Oregon's lawmakers must take several smaller steps that at least mitigate the worst potential effects.

Let's expand opportunities for work-based skills…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
To help Oregonians and many other Americans who still face job insecurity, we must expand work-based learning to sectors of the economy that lack…

Veterans deserve our support every single day

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our debt to these heroes can never be repaid but our gratitude and respect must last forever.

We can answer JFK's clarion call this Thanksgiving

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'If only this Thanksgiving we could reach across the table with higher aspirations and accomplish bold deeds.'

Specter of illegitimate elections looms large with…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
No matter who wins future presidential elections, a third to two-thirds of the American voters won't trust the results.

Museum's move back to PCC Rock Creek receives…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The museum will now be open free to visitors every Wednesday and Thursday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., plus every second Saturday for free Family Day,…

Soapbox: A vibrant region needs a strong Portland…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Portland Community College directors say renewal bond should be approved by voters this Tuesday.

Soapbox: 'Youth Invasion' inspires career options

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Kristi Wilson is the lead coordinator for Youth Invasion with the city of Hillsboro.

Our Opinion: Good legislation requires good data

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
One of the most helpful steps in moving forward on the issue would be to get good data. And yet for more than 20 years, the federal Centers for…

Soapbox: A vote for clean-energy jobs is a vote for…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Rep. Janeen Sollman represents East Hillsboro, West Beaverton, Orenco, Helvetia and North Plains.

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 3, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Hillsboro-area mayors past and present ask voters to support Hillsboro School District bond.

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine