My View: Kids' health shouldn't be a budget bargaining chip

Portland Tribune - Opinion
Congress has cut funding to the Children's Health Insurance Program; Sen. Ron Wyden vows to fight for funding to allow the program to continue.

Soapbox: 'Progress' in county should make room for wildlife…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
If the people of North Plains wish to have wildlife as part of their community they should advocate for saving the forest and open space that is left.

Letters to the editor: Dec. 1, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
City defends utility billing change, say land-use decision should be reversed, defend Roy Moore

Editorial: Metro affordable housing bond should stay on hold

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Should Metro be leading the charge for affordable housing? Maybe, but it needs more specifics.

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 24, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
In The Tribune's mailbag: Your utility bills are on the rise; Chronic illness sufferers need help.

Letter: Medicaid suffers from failed leadership

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Gubernatorial candidate says Oregon needs to make health care repayments a priority.

Letter to the editor

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Hillsboro youth says Oregon forest fires can be prevented through 'knowledge, awareness'

PERS problem calls for multi-pronged solution

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Oregon's lawmakers must take several smaller steps that at least mitigate the worst potential effects.

Let's expand opportunities for work-based skills training

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
To help Oregonians and many other Americans who still face job insecurity, we must expand work-based learning to sectors of the economy that lack…

Veterans deserve our support every single day

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our debt to these heroes can never be repaid but our gratitude and respect must last forever.

We can answer JFK's clarion call this Thanksgiving

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'If only this Thanksgiving we could reach across the table with higher aspirations and accomplish bold deeds.'

Specter of illegitimate elections looms large with Trump

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
No matter who wins future presidential elections, a third to two-thirds of the American voters won't trust the results.

Museum's move back to PCC Rock Creek receives positive…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The museum will now be open free to visitors every Wednesday and Thursday from 10 a.m. to 4 p.m., plus every second Saturday for free Family Day,…

Soapbox: A vibrant region needs a strong Portland Community…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Portland Community College directors say renewal bond should be approved by voters this Tuesday.

Soapbox: 'Youth Invasion' inspires career options

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Kristi Wilson is the lead coordinator for Youth Invasion with the city of Hillsboro.

Our Opinion: Good legislation requires good data

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
One of the most helpful steps in moving forward on the issue would be to get good data. And yet for more than 20 years, the federal Centers for…

Soapbox: A vote for clean-energy jobs is a vote for…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Rep. Janeen Sollman represents East Hillsboro, West Beaverton, Orenco, Helvetia and North Plains.

Letters to the Editor: Nov. 3, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Hillsboro-area mayors past and present ask voters to support Hillsboro School District bond.

Editorial: Media outlets partner on youth concussion project

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Public help sought to support effort, gather data and stories for investigating series

Letters to the editor

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Writers all recommend a 'yes' vote on the Hillsboro School District bond request in the Nov. 7 election

Soapbox: Voters should hold PCC accountable for 'racially…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Writer says Portland Community College's 'sanctuary policy' violates federal law

Endorsement: PCC bond deserves support

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Because Oregon's tax system is out of whack, this type of bond measure has become necessary for public colleges and school districts to properly…

Vote yes on bond measure to ensure Hillsboro schools' …

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Saying 'yes' to Hillsboro School District request will serve community and growing number of students

Letters to the editor

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Writers support Hillsboro School District bond request in special election

Indigenous artifacts flow from museum to Confederated Tribes

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Museum Musings: Tualatin, or Atfalati band, were part of several Kalapuyan language groups in Oregon

New fire chief says department is 'here to serve'

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
David Downey, who came from Albuquerque, introduces himself to the Hillsboro community

Soapbox: Higher Education Act will create a better future

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Congresswoman says she and other politicians are working to reduce the burden of educational debt

A call to action: Imagine a 'day without water'

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Washington County residents can take practical steps to safeguard public safety in emergencies

OrenKoFest brings Hillsboro together

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Parks department's special events and outreach supervisor: 'Easy to say yes' to festival

HillsDOer Day puts a spotlight on volunteering

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Mayor of Hillsboro encourages people to make a difference in city's downtown this Saturday, Oc. 7

Editorial: National Newspaper Week celebrates community…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Reporters for the Hillsboro Tribune have contributed to readers' understanding of events this past year.

Our Opinion: Don't politicize public records requests

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The ways PPS and Dennis Richardson responded show why public records advocate is needed.

Column: Let's get some perspective regarding the Eagle…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Showing emotion about the Eagle Creek fire destruction is OK, but keep it in perspective.

Cornelius Place project will 'serve all residents'

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
You're invited to the Cornelius Place groundbreaking this coming Saturday.

Column: DACA bill represents 'compassion that transcends…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Compassion transcends borders and should inspire our leaders to do the right thing.

Letter: Property owners left out of land use decisions

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Hillsboro citizens lost out on a critical resource for future infrastructure - schools, sewer, transit, housing close to jobs, etc.

DACA bill represents 'compassion that transcends borders'

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Adelante Mujeres executive director: 'I have yet to meet a parent whose primary reason for coming to the U.S. was anything other than making a better…

Cornelius Place groundbreaking: project will 'serve all…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Community development director says new edifice will 'cultivate a significant change' to town's character.

First session of Legislature trains focus on education

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Freshman state representative Janeen Sollman looks back on her first season in Salem.

Rosenblum right to join AGs in fight to preserve DACA

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Editorial board says deporting 'Dreamers' won't make communities safer or save taxpayer money.

Oregon ablaze: Let's take steps to minimize future…

Portland Tribune - Opinion
The number of human-caused wildfires is rising - plus climate change and fuel buildup are exacerbating conditions that threaten trees and community…

Road work ahead for foreseeable future

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The package of proposals includes four increases in the state gas tax stretched over a seven-year period.

Volunteers make museum work

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Curator grateful for dozens of people who help run things at Washington County Museum.

Letters to the editor, Sept. 1, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Writers thank Riley, Sollman and criticize Washington County Building Department.

How to improve things at those new bottle return…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
There's a big change taking place in the way we're being asked to turn in our cans and bottles for money.

Bottle drop centers open to doing better

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Writer: 'We've opened five Express and Center locations this year, and will have at least 12 more before the year is over.'

People of faith should stand up against white…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Eagan: 'Sometimes, loving one's neighbor means standing against those who act out their belief that they have more of a right to exist than others.'

My View: Could nonprofits replace cut services?

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Oregon has close to 20,000 registered nonprofits, which make significant contributions to the economic, social, and environmental future of the…

Racist rally in Virginia could absolutely happen…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our position is resolute: there are no two sides to identifying yourself as a Nazi, or neo-Nazi, or a white supremacist.

Letter to the editor

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Writer from Hillsboro says land use decisions in Washington County have been made in 'secret'

Oregon is doubling down on equity and opportunity…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The Director of Unite Oregon and Executive Director of Planned Parenthood Advocates of Oregon weigh in.

My View: New approach needed for opioid epidemic

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The scale of the crisis is beyond what our health care system can accommodate. Traditionally, an addict would have two options: inpatient/residential…

Curating county museum's 'Ladies' display was…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Liza J. Schade, Curator of Collections & Exhibitions at the Washington County Museum, shares her experience.

Washington County needs judges with public defense…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Gov. Brown has the opportunity to enact immediate and meaningful reform in Washington County.

How to improve things at those new bottle return…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
There's a big change taking place in the way we're being asked to turn in our cans and bottles for money.

Column: There is no defense for victimizing women

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Columnist Mikel Kelley speaks out against the people who make all men his age look bad.

Our Opinion: Lawmakers make strides for…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Over the coming weeks, in our news and commentary pages, you can expect to find more analysis and exploration into why so many things fell apart.…

Soapbox: Curating county museum artifacts a…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Washington County Museum curator introduces herself to Tribune readers in the first of an occasional series of columns.

Editorial: Full employment? Some observations from…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Pamplin Media Group reporters spoke to people seeking work, and also those who help people find work.

Editorial: Keep bipartisan PERS bill on track

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
There's still time for lawmakers to make a small step that has both symbolic value and tangible financial benefits in Salem: It's called SB 1068.

Mayor's Corner: Let's show support for SolarWorld's…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Hillsboro's mayor says company faces an 'almost impossible task of remaining viable' without federal action and urges support for employees.

Survey: tell us what's best about Hillsboro

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
It's that time of year again! Fill out our annual survey of the best businesses in Hillsboro and you can win $100! Vote once per day!

Soapbox: Women, immigrants should be proud of who…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'At Adelante Mujeres, the amount of learning that takes place has helped me to lead with confidence and use the strength of my voice.'

Our Opinion: New look honors past, embraces future

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Along with changes to our website, the Tribune and other Pamplin Media Group papres are launching a new front page design this week.

Republicans' Medicaid provision hastens deaths by…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Dr. Robert Seward of Forest Grove, a member of Mad as Hell Doctors, believes the Senate bill currently under considerations is tantamount to…

Editorial: This July 4, let Scalise and Griner…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
As Independence Day approaches, we can choose to speak more softly to our fellow humans, no matter what political perspectives we hold

Editorial: Defibrillators save lives, and we need…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The Tribune is partnering with local businesses to raise money for another automated external defibrillator in the Hillsboro community.

Editorial: Our hats are off to all 1,472 grads in…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Hillsboro's high school seniors will accept their diplomas this week, and will enter a favorable job market with a 3.8 percent unemployment rate.

Soapbox: A grieving mom points the way

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Asha Deliverance, mother of slain MAX train Samaritan Taliesin Namkai-Meche, urged us not to give in to blame or hate.

Soapbox: Christian leaders must oppose bigotry

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Rev. Chuck Currie says his 'prayer is that every Christian body speaks out against hate crimes.'

Editorial: Make all Washington County cities…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
People won't turn to their communities for help if they're afraid that acting like a good citizen could get them kicked out of the country.

Soapbox: Lawmakers should recall McCall's focus

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The late governor prioritized the advancement of Oregonians' quality of life, and today's lawmakers should, too.

Our Opinion: Sunshine Committee would lend…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Oregon's public records laws need to be more transparent. A proposed sunshine committee would help with that.

Soapbox: County residents with disabilities tackle…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Cindy Bahl, business development representative for Dirkse Counseling and Consulting, Inc., sent in this letter for National Mobility Awareness Month

Soapbox: More taxation not the answer to Oregon's…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Evan Bryan, a Hillsboro native pursuing a master's degree in Legislative Affairs at George Washington University in Washington, D.C.,

Hillsboro Letters to the Editor: May 19, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor are written by Hillsboro-area readers on any local issue of public interest.

Hillsboro Letters to the Editor: May 12, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor are written by Hillsboro-area readers on any local issue of public interest.

Our Opinion: Time for business reveal its plan

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The best way for business leaders to ensure new revenue is to be at the table

Capitol Report: The sun is already shining in Oregon

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Oregon Sen. Chuck Riley says new committee to oversee public records laws aren't needed

Letters to the editor

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Writers support school board candidates, hope Chief Kno-Tah statue can be preserved

Letters to the editor

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Writers recommend Spross for Hillsboro School board, invite community members to host exchange students.

Endorsement: Vote 'yes' for Enhanced Sheriff's…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The levy evens out law enforcement services for urban and less-urban sectors of Washington County.

Endorsement: Voters should say 'Yes' to police,…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The levy has been an important part of Hillsboro since the 1990s. Renewing it makes sense, does good work and doesn't cost you a dime more.

Endorsement: Elect Erika Lopez to school board's…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Out of three women running for Hillsboro panel -- including Jen Brandse and April Davis -- Lopez has best ideas overall

Endorsement: We recommend challenger Mark Watson

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
For Position 2, we saw merit in newcomer over incumbent Glenn Miller on Hillsboro School Board

Endorsement: Voters should return Akers to school…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Monte Akers' consistency, transparency, heart earn him four more years -- though challenger Martin Granum has merit

Endorsement: Vote for Flores to fill school board's…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Though we were impressed by Jaci Spross, our nod goes to underdog in four-way race for Hillsboro panel

Our Opinion: Cities benefit from grant program on…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The president's calls to cut Community Development Block Grants isn't just misguided, it hurts communities.

Our Opinion: Address budget, taxes for long term

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Finding a solution to the state's budget gap is possible, but it'll take work to get there.

Hillsboro Letters to the Editor: April 21, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor are written by Hillsboro-area readers on any local issue of public interest.

Hillsboro Letters to the Editor: April 14, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor are written by Hillsboro-area readers on any local issue of public interest.

Column: Terrorism in Europe and its 100 percent…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Newspaper editor notices zero resentment for people of Middle Eastern descent in Brussels

Soapbox: Police, fire, parks levy deserves voter…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Backer of Measure 34-273 says three city departments 'encompass what makes Hillsboro great'

Soapbox Supreme Court ruling on students with…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
A landmark U.S. Supreme Court decision has raised the bar for how schools educate students with disabilities.

Soapbox: Before kids can succeed, they need to…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
State legislators say it's important for kids to not only be successful in the classroom, but also have reliable ways to get to school.

Hillsboro Letters to the Editor: April 7, 2017

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor are written by Hillsboro-area readers on any local issue of public interest.

Reader View: Privatizing forest a bad deal for state

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The 'clearcuts for kids' model of using logging, grazing and mining to fund education may have made sense in 1859, but in 2017 it is as out of date…

Our opinion: Westside Bypass proposal should get…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Proposal breaks the rule that land-use planning must take precedence over transportation planning

Trump's budget hurts farmers, ranchers, timber…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Sen. Jeff Merkley says 'American Dream is one of equal opportunity for the child of a middle-class millwright and the child of a wealthy CEO'

Our Opinion: Legislature should require more…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Bill in the works no2 to remove at least some obstacles to obtaining public records

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may contain articles.

Contract Publishing

Go to top