ButenhoffFour local students are National Merit Scholars — two students from Lakeridge High School and two from Lake Oswego High School.

The National Merit Scholarship Corporation is publicly announcing this year’s 2,500 National Merit Scholarship winners in four installments, the first on April 23 and the second on Wednesday. Each student receives $2,500 and was selected from a pool of 15,000 finalists. Committees composed of college admissions and high schools counselors choose the winners.Kwartler

The local winners, along with their schools and their possible career fields, are: Patrick Butenhoff, Lake Oswego High School, economics; Joel Kwartler, LOHS, undecided; Stephanie Lippincott, Lakeridge High School, nursing; Amber Tang, Lakeridge, biochemistry.Lippincott

This year’s competition dates back to October 2012 when about 1.5 million juniors in approximately 22,000 high schools took the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test, and the highest-scoring participants in each state — 16,000 students comprising less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors — were named as semifinalists. Some 15,000 students then met the academic standards to move on in the competition, becoming finalists.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine