Failed loading XML file.
StartTag: invalid element name
Extra content at the end of the document



Seth is honored with the prestigious Play It Forward award while Gilbert is named Prep Lacrosse Player of the Year

PAMPLIN MEDIA GROUP PHOTO: ADAM WICKHAM - Lake Oswego's Tya Seth is honored as winner of the Play It Forward award during the Oregon Sports Awards on the Nike World Headquarters campus on Sunday.Oregon's best high school athletes — including two from Lake Oswego High    School — got one more moment in the spotlight again on Sunday.

At the 2017 Oregon Sports Awards, held Sunday at the Stanford Theater in the Tiger Woods Center on the Nike World Headquarters campus, Lake Oswego's Tya Seth was honored with the prestigious Play It Forward award, while fellow Laker Lauren Gilbert was recognized as the Prep Lacrosse Player of the Year.

Lakeridge senior Paul Seydel was also nominated as a finalist for the Prep Soccer Player of the Year award.

Seth, a junior on the Lake Oswego girls golf team, was honored for her dedication and commitment to being a great role model, and for motivating kids in the community to get active.

She is heavily involved with First Tee of Greater Portland, starting as a regular First Tee participant at age 9, and now serving as an instructor, mentor and role model to younger golfers.

During her high school season, Seth helped her team finish second in the Three Rivers League, win a berth to the Class 6A state tournament, then placed 11th individually at state while the Lakers finished fourth as a team.

The Play It Forward award recognizes high school athletes for their dedication to athletics and giving back to the community, and to non-profit organizations in Oregon that are committed to getting kids active through the Play It Forward Fund, sponsored by Nike and Providence Health & Services.

Gilbert, meanwhile, was honored for her incredible senior lacrosse campaign. In the recently completed 2017 season, Gilbert led her Lakers to a Three Rivers League championship and a second straight Oregon Girls Lacrosse Association state championship.

In addition to being honored on Sunday, Gilbert was previously recognized by being named to the all-Three Rivers first team, all-state first team and All-American first team after leading her team in scoring with 97 goals, 40 assists, 82 ground balls, 38 turnovers caused and 181 draw controls.

Winners were selected through a statewide voting panel consisting of TV, radio and print personalities and respected sports professionals.

Originally, the Hayward Banquet of Champions, the Oregon Sports Awards began in 1948 to honor Oregon's outstanding professional and amateur athletes, teams, coaches and administrators from many levels and a wide range of sports.

To see all of this year's and past years' winners, visit OregonSportsAwards.com.

Contact Sports Editor Miles Vance at 503-330-0127 or This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine