Voters elect Danzuka, Hurd, Norton, turn down JCEMS tax request

In the May 16 special district election, voters re-elected two 509-J board members, named a new board member, and defeated a tax request.

MADRAS PIONEER - Tom Norton Jr., Jamie Hurd, and Laurie Danzuka won positions 3, 2, and 1, respectively, on the School District 509-J Board of Directors.Only 28 percent of Jefferson County voters — 3,674 — returned their ballots for the May 16 special district election to decide three seats on the School District 509-J Board of Directors, and decide the fate of a permanent tax rate for the Jefferson County Emergency Medical Services District.

Laurie Danzuka and Tom Norton Jr., both of whom were first elected in May 2009, will retain their seats, positions 1 and 3, on the five-member board, while Jamie Hurd was elected to position 2.

Danzuka, of Warm Springs, who was challenged for her position by Brian Crowe, of Madras, won with 58.2 percent of the votes, by a vote of 1,267 to 897.

In a four-way race for an open seat on the board, Hurd, of Madras, received 43.6 percent of the vote — 936 votes. Sue Matters, of Warm Springs, won 29.2 percent of the total with 626 votes; Gary Sisk, of Madras, won 22.3 percent with 479 votes; and Juan Leach Orozco, of Madras, who decided not to campaign, still received 4.6 percent with 99 votes.

Norton, of Madras, received 1,267 votes, while Alyssa Macy, of Madras, received 897 votes — 58.2 percent to 41.2 percent.

Culver voters re-elected Michael Knepp, Robert Buckner and Scott Leeper, all of Culver, to the board of directors for Culver School District No. 4. None of the three was challenged for his position. Knepp received 402 votes; Buckner, 422; and Leeper, 425.

Jefferson County Emergency Medical Services' request for a permanent tax rate of 40 cents per $1,000 in property valuation was defeated by a vote of 1,766 no (70 percent) to 871 yes (33 percent). The vote was the district's first attempt at a permanent tax base to help fund district operations.

Four people were re-elected to the JCEMS District Board of Directors: John Curnutt, 1,802 votes; Patricia Neff, 1,727; Louise Muir, 1,665; and David Budden, 1,579.