Oregon Sports AwardsNeither snow nor more snow can completely stop the 62nd annual Oregon Sports Awards.

The stage show returns to the Tiger Woods Center at Nike on Sunday, one month after wintry weather forced its postponement.

Neil Everett, ESPN SportsCenter anchor, is back for his second consecutive year as host.

The Oregon Sports Awards honors the state’s top athletes, coaches, teams and more for their performances in 2013.

A statewide voting panel picks the finalists and winners in numerous categories at the pro, college and high school levels.

The Oregon Sports Awards began in 2002, after a five-year absence.

The event previously was known as the Bill Hayward Banquet of Champions.

Top honors include the Bill Hayward Amateur Athlete of the Year awards, which go to one male and one female.

Finalists are Brandin Cooks and Michael Conforto of Oregon State and Marcus Mariota of Oregon, along with Elizabeth Brenner and English Gardner of UO and Amanda Frisbie of the Portland Pilots.

The Harry Glickman Pro Athlete of the Year finalists are Ashton Eaton, Jacoby Ellsbury and Damian Lillard among the men, and Shalane Flanagan, Alex Morgan and Christine Sinclair for the women’s award.

The Slats Gill Sportsperson of the Year Award finalists are Linfield baseball coach Scott Brosius, Oregon State baseball coach Pat Casey and Portland Timbers coach Caleb Porter.

The Johnny Carpenter Prep Athlete of the Year awards will salute the best male and female competitors in two categories: Class 6A/5A and Class 4A/3A/2A/1A.

The Ad Rutschman Small College Athletes of the Year awards spotlight the premier players from statewide schools.

Also, the Oregon Sports Awards will have an athlete of the year in 19 Oregon School Activities Association-sponsored sports.

The show has several other awards that recognize other contributions to sports in the state. That list includes the Lou Burge Special Olympics Athlete of the Year and the Game Changer Award for dedication to prep sports.

Celebrity award presenters will include Timbers Jack Jewsbury and Taylor Peay, Portland Thorns Mana Shim and Kat Williamson, former Trail Blazer Brian Grant, distance runner Matthew Centrowitz, UO sprinter Gardner, Sean Mannion and Jordan Poyer from Oregon State football fame, and softball star Ashley Charters.

Doors to the Tiger Woods Center at the Nike World Headquarters near Beaverton will open at 5:30 p.m. Sunday. The show starts at 7 p.m. Food and beverages will be available before and after the show.

The Oregon Sports Awards will be broadcast live on KFXX - the Fan 1080 AM, with Travis Demers and Josh Wilcox hosting a red carpet show.

The show also will be streamed at

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine