by: MOLALLA PIONEER: CORY MIMMS - Bull riders and other riders took home the biggest checks from this year's Molalla Buckeroo.Fat checks are rolling out for the riders and ropers who placed at this year’s Molalla Buckeroo. A total of $145,032 was paid out across seven events.

This year’s all-around cowboy was tie-down roper Caleb Smidt, but at $2,956 his winnings weren’t at the top.

Team ropers Justin Van Davis and Clay O’Brien Cooper each took $1,590 home for their 5.1 second performance. The round two winners, David Key and Bucky Campbell, also took $1,590 home, but their 4.1-second ride beat Davis and Cooper's.

In bulldogging, Riley Duval and Stan Branco tied in the first round, each pinning their steer in 3.8 seconds, which gave them $1,566 each. In the second round, Dru Melvin won $1,675 with a 3.4-second pin.

Around the barrels, Brenda Mays bested all others with a 17.19-second ride. Her speed won her $3,255. Sherry Cervi came in next at 17.34 seconds, which got her $2,604.

The three biggest checks went to the riders. Bareback rider Tom McFarland took home $4,289 for his 87-point ride, and bull rider Troy Jensen snagged $4,731 for his 86 points. Curtis Garton set the bar for saddle-bronc riding on the first day with 85 points, which landed him $4,306.

The cowboys and cowgirls who competed were among the best, some holding world champions, like bull rider Cody Teel. But previous titles don’t always mean good performances. What happens when the chute opens is all that counts. Teel only grabbed 72 points from the judges, eight points short of getting paid.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine