by: MARK MILLER - New school board members Gordon Jarman, far left, and Kellie Smith, far right, recite the oath of office as incumbents Marshall Porter, seated left, and Ray Biggs, seated right, look on. The third new board member, Jeff Howell, arrived late to the meeting and was sworn in separately.Three new members of the St. Helens School District’s board of directors were sworn into office at an organizational meeting Tuesday, July 16.

Jeff Howell, Gordon Jarman and Kellie Smith were elected in May to fill the three seats up for election. All are new to the five-member school board.

Jarman was elected vice chairman of the board in a unanimous vote, while the incumbent chairman, Marshall Porter, was reelected without opposition.

The board will continue to meet on the second and fourth Wednesdays of each month at 6:30 p.m., with the St. Helens School District office as its meeting place.

The new board will also have a retreat soon.

“Since a majority of you are new to this, I’d like to offer the opportunity to seek out and bring in a professional board trainer,” said Mark Davalos, district superintendent.

The members agreed, with Ray Biggs suggesting it might be a good opportunity to get to know new board members.

“Gordon I’ve known decades ago and I need to get reacquainted with him, and Jeff and Kellie I really don’t know hardly at all,” Biggs said. “It would be nice to kind of be able to socially talk to each other about families and jobs and just what our interests are, and kind of get to know each other on a social level, because this is always going to be business here.”

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine