Pride Disposal, a family owned hauling company serving Washington County for nearly 30 years, provided an empty machine shop for the most non-traditional backdrop to date for Sherwood’s premier recognition event, the Sherwood Chamber of Commerce annual Awards Dinner presented by Providence Newberg Medical Center on June 27..

A “Mad Men”-theme inspired flair, décor by It’s All Arranged Floral shop, and 19 tables decorated by local business sponsors made the affair elegant and unforgettable. The inaugural “Taste of Sherwood” feast showcasing delicacies and sweets from 14 local restaurateurs received rave COURTESY OF DARCI VANDENHOEK / BLUELINE STUDIOS - TOP CITIZEN â€' Selma Broadhurst, center, receives the Sherwood Chamber of Commerce’s Citizen of the Year award from former Mayor Keith Mays, left, and Tim Heine, 2011-12 chamber president and Bank of Oswego’s Sherwood branch vice president and senior lending officer.

More than 160 Sherwood business and community leaders joined to celebrate the people who strive to support Sherwood as one of Oregon’s most desirable communities.

Sherwood City Council President Linda Henderson welcomed ladies and gentlemen sporting retro fashions tailored for the lifestyle of the 1950s/1960s business leaders on June 27. She also acknowledged the work of the chamber under the great leadership of its most recent presidents including Dr. Ben Aanderud (2009-10), Dr. Scott Johnson (2010-11), Tim Heine (2011-12), and Leanna Knutson (2012-13).

2013 Annual Awards & Acknowledgements:

Outgoing Sherwood Chamber of Commerce President Leanna Knutson and Executive Director Nancy Bruton introduced the chamber board members and presented the annual awards for community leadership.

Awards winners garnered rounds of applause and standing ovations.

A special acknowledgement was presented to Captain Dan Atkinson for his service to the community of Sherwood as Tualatin Valley Fire & Rescue’s Station 33 captain.

The Pride Disposal & Sherwood Chamber of Commerce $2,500 Sherwood High School Scholarship recipient, Bryce Keicher, was acknowledged as COURTESY OF DARCI VANDENHOEK / BLUELINE STUDIOS - TOP COP - Outgoing Sherwood Chamber of Commerce President Leanna Knutson awards Capt. Mark Daniel of the Sherwood Police Department with the chamber's Community 
Service Award.

Bill Montgomery of Montgomery Promotions was awarded the Sherwood Chamber of Commerce Ambassador of the Year Award.

The chamber’s annual awards went to:

Large Business: Sherwood’s Les Schwab Tire Center;

Small Business: Sesame Donuts;

Business Leader: Amber Gardner of Gardner Team-Hasson Company Realtors;

Commitment to Youth: Jim Winkler, Youth Transition Program;

Golden Apple (Educator): Mike Dyer, Sherwood School District;

Community Service: Captain Mark Daniel, Sherwood Police Department;

Youth Leader: Liz Wells;

Citizen of the Year: Selma Broadhurst.

The event introduced Renee Brouse as the 2013-14 Chamber of Commerce president. With over 20 years of business experience, Brouse leads the largest non-profit business in Sherwood as the executive director of the Sherwood Regional Family YMCA, a branch of the YMCA of Colombia-Willamette and a member of the YMCA of the USA, serving communities for over 165 years.

Brouse has worked for both the for-profit (large and small) and non-profit business community and has experience in the Restaurant/Service industry and Retail. Renee has a passion for building community and her past experience with both the-for profit and non-profit worlds have given her valuable knowledge and insight in how to handle various challenges businesses may face.

Incoming Board of Directors

Joining the Chamber board of directors for a three year term are Heather Cordie, Sherwood School District; Dianne Snyder, The Bank of Oswego; and Chris Stidd, Les Schwab Tire Center.

Standing board members include Past President Leanna Knutson, IIM, Inc; Secretary Amanda Bates, Symposium Coffee; Treasurer Eric Evans-Altech Financial Services Inc.; Dr. Ben Aanderud, Pacific Family Dental; Michael Carlson- Portland Badge and Sign Company; Christine Adams- The Springs at Sherwood; and Keith Mays- Forest Industry Supply. Ex officio members include Sherwood City Councilor Krisanna Clark and Assistant City Manager Tom Pessemier.

Outgoing Board of Directors

Outgoing board members were acknowledged including Past President Tim Heine, The Bank of Oswego(2010-13), Liz Durrell– Trinity Wealth Strategies (2010-13), and Jim Haynes– Western Heritage Public Relations 2011-13; Appointed).

— Sherwood Chamber of Commerce

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine