Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The school culminated its Centennial Celebration by inducting 34 heroes - 12 posthumously - into its new Hall of Achievement, during an awards dinner at Portland's Nordia House.

Beaverton High School has produced high achievers since it was dedicated on June 8, 1916, before a crowd fired with "pride and the enthusiasm of progress" in the words of the Beaverton Times.

On Feb. 11, the school culminated its Centennial Celebration by inducting 34 heroes — 12 posthumously — into its new Hall of Achievement, during an awards dinner at Portland's Nordia House. About 150 people attended, including Beaverton Mayor Denny Doyle and Len Case, who has served as an administrator in nearly every high school in Beaverton. Nike sponsored the event, covering expenses so that the funds raised, at $75 a plate, would replenish the Success Fund used to enhance school programs and facilities.

Among the inductees was the late Michael "Smitty" Smith (1960), drummer with the rock band Paul Revere and the Raiders. So were Morten Lauridsen (1960), five-time Grammy nominee for his work in film scoring; Carolyn Wood (1963), Olympic gold medalist and author of the memoir "Tough Girl"; Mac Wilkins (1969), Olympic gold medalist in discus; Rod Harman, former BHS coach, now training Olympians; and BHS basketball coach Nick Robertson, who co-founded the Les Schwab Classic and Camps for Kids.

Despite the program photo showing Thomas Montag (1975) with hair almost to his shoulders, he became CEO of the Bank of America in New York and funded ball fields at BHS. Bob Woodell (1962), formerly president of Nike and director of the Port of Portland, settled down to a cold one, co-founding Rogue Brewery. Doug Stamm (1971) a former Nike executive, is CEO of Meyer Memorial Trust. Steve Biles (1960), is Vice President of UBS Financial Services and senior member of The Heritage Wealth Management Group in Portland.

Medical stars include Dr. Richard Drake (1951) co-inventor of the Drake Willock dialysis machine; Clarence "Jack" Neff (1947), who helped develop cathode ray tube electronic displays; Barbara Glidewell (1961), associate professor at Oregon Health & Science University's Division of Internal Medicine and Geriatrics and assistant professor at the School of Dentistry; and the late Dr. Herbert Mason (1932), who served as a medic during World War II, then practiced medicine in Beaverton, often making house calls.

Inductees serving others include the late Amarette Barnes, BHS teacher from 1929 to 1970, who was active on behalf of migrant farm workers; Dr. Elisabeth Hampton-Gray, PhD (1960), who served as prison chaplain, ministered to children in crisis in the Philippines, and helped rescue girls from sex trafficking; Lucille Goyak Rogers (1950), who developed a multi-cultural curriculum for teachers working with second-language students; the late Ralph Stoffer (1932), a former science teacher at BHS, who worked with young students in Mexico; Bert Waugh (1961), who co-founded Transitional Youth to support homeless and at-risk youth and served on the boards of Medical Teams International and Goodwill Industries of the Columbia Willamette.

After receiving numerous medals, including a Purple Heart, Col. Charles Meadows (1957) dedicated himself to removing landmines left in Vietnam. John Polos (1960) served with the Navy air squadron and volunteered with the Young Eagles Program giving disadvantaged children the opportunity to fly. The late Michael Colley (1956) commanded submarine forces during the first Gulf War and retired as vice admiral. Ross Fogelquist (1957) served as acting Swedish Consul for Oregon. The late Robert Sayre (1942) served on the US Security Council and the Bureau of Inter-American Affairs and as Ambassador to Uruguay, Panama and Brazil.

Other inductees stayed close to home, helping to shape BHS and the surrounding area. Mike Herzog (1960) helped form the Beaverton Arts Foundation and the Herzog-Meier Arts Scholarship program. The late Mike Metzler, served as BHS's principal and Superintendent of Beaverton Schools. The late James Springer (1954) served on the boards of Rotary and Jaycees. The late Elmer Stoller (1947) made a point of hiring young people for the family business. Nancy Schmidt (1943) supported the community through charity work. John Thompson (1960) works with the Rose Festival Association and BHS's Golden Grads. Ralph Holland (1953) helped develop the Beaverton Farmer's Market and served on the Washington County Fair Board. The late Lillian Bales (1935) helped develop the Cedar Mill Community Library. The late Merle Davies was a district teacher from 1916 to 1957. And the late Ruth Pasley (1930) established the Golden Grads for BHS, alumnae who graduated at least 50 years ago; the group was instrumental in identifying the honorees for this Centennial event.

Go to top