Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



East Washington County voters will decide tax measure and two seats on TVF&R board; there are also contests for four THPRD seats and two Tigard-Tualatin School Board seats.

All voters in east Washington County will decide on one tax measure and some contested races in the Tuesday, May 21 election.

Ballots can be mailed through Thursday, but should be left at official drop sites after then. The deadline for county officials to have them in hand is 8 p.m. May 21.

Tualatin Valley Fire & Rescue, which extends from east Washington County into three other counties, is seeking a five-year renewal of a local-option levy of 45 cents per $1,000 of taxable property values. It is in addition to the district's permanent rate of $1.52 per $1,000.

Both incumbents on the TVF&R board face challengers.

For Position 4, it's two-term incumbent Randy Lauer against Robert Satterwhite, who spent 17 years of his 37-year firefighter career at TVF&R and who served on the board of Washington County Fire District No. 2 before it consolidated with TVF&R in 2017.

For Position 5, it's five-term incumbent Brian Clopton against Justin Dillingham, a former Life Flight Network executive. The names of Jason Hitzert and Kevin Van Dyke also are on the ballot, but they have endorsed others.

For Tualatin Hills Park and Recreation District, four board seats are up — two are for two-year terms because of resignations — and all of them are contested.

For the two-year Position 2, it's appointed incumbent Wendy Kroger against Amber Wilson-Valdivia.

For the two-year Position 3, which has no incumbent running, it's Ashley Hartmeier-Priggs and Bill Kanable, a former two-term board member.

For Position 4, it's five-term incumbent John Griffiths against Heidi Edwards and Mahesh Udata.

For Position 5, it's one-term incumbent Ali Kavianian against Bhaskar ALuru and Tya Ping.

For the Tigard-Tualatin School Board, two incumbents face challengers.

One-term incumbent Terri Burnette faces Ben Bowman and Gigi Olguin for Position 2.

Three-term incumbent Jill Zurschmeide faces Edward Childress for Position 4.

In contrast, there are no contests for school board seats in Beaverton and Sherwood.

In Beaverton, Eric Simpson and Becky Tymchuk are up for second terms in Zones 3 and 6, and Tom Colett is up for a full term in Zone 7. He won a four-way race in 2017.

In Sherwood, Jessica Adamson is seeking a new term in Position 1 — she has been on the board since November 2012 — and Sue Hekker is up for a fourth term in Position 5.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework