Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



One of two unseated for TVF&R board; two lose on THPRD board and a former member loses as a three-woman slate captures those seats.

Voters were in a mood for change on the boards of Tualatin Valley Fire & Rescue District and Tualatin Hills Park & Recreation District boards Tuesday.TVF&R

One of two incumbents on the fire board lost. Two of three incumbents on the park board lost, and voters turned back a comeback bid by a former board member for an open seat.

But voters did renew the fire district's local-option levy for another five years, contained in Measure 34-286, starting in 2020.

In the fire district, which extends from east Washington County into Multnomah, Clackamas and Yamhill counties, five-term incumbent Brian Clopton badly trailed Justin Dillingham for Position 5. Dillingham, 40, is a former Life Flight Network executive. Clopton, 62, owns his own excavating business and had been on the board since 1999.

Two others were on the ballot, but one endorsed Dillingham and the other Clopton.

Randy Lauer was winning handily for a third term in Position 4 against Robert Satterwhite, a retired firefighter. Lauer, 61, is regional director for American Medical Response, which provides ambulance services. Satterwhite, also 61, spent 37 years as a firefighter and paramedic — 17 of them at TVF&R — before he retired in 2015. He had been on the board of Washington County Fire District No. 2 before it consolidated with TVF&R in 2017.

Voters did renew TVF&R's local-option levy by a 4-to-1 majority. The levy of 45 cents per $1,000 of taxable value is in addition to the district's permanent rate of $1.52, and will take effect when the current levy ends in mid-2020.THPRD

The district serves more than 500,000 people, including six east Washington County cities, North Plains, West Linn, Wilsonville and Newberg.

In the park district, which serves about 250,000 people in Beaverton and unincorporated communities, voters elected four women in a rare opportunity to reshape the board because of resignations. The board now has five women.

However, only one incumbent won.

Appointee Wendy Kroger, 78, won the remaining two years in Position 2, from which Jerry Jones resigned under pressure in 2018. Kroger defeated Amber Wilson-Valdivia.

Ashley Hartmeier-Prigg, Heidi Edwards and Tya Ping, who campaigned as a slate for change, turned out two incumbents and turned back a former board member seeking a comeback.

Hartmeier-Prigg, 35, a business operations manager at Nike, won the Position 3 seat vacated last year by Holly Thompson, now the district's communications director. The appointee, Todd Duwe, chose not to run for the two-year term. Hartmeier-Prigg defeated Bill Kanable, 58, a systems analyst for Regence Blue Cross Blue Shield of Oregon, who was on the board from 2003 to 2011.

Edwards, 45, a finalist for appointment to the vacancies, unseated five-term incumbent John Griffiths in Position 4. She is admissions and recruitment coordinator at Portland Community College Rock Creek.

Griffiths, 66, a consultant, was the board's longest serving member. Also running was Mahesh Udata, 49, a client partner in information technology and supply-chain services for IBM.

Ping, 35, a pharmacist at Kaiser Permanente, unseated Ali Kavianian after one term in Position 5. Kavianian, 37, is a certified financial planner and was the current board president. Also running was Bhaksar Aluru, 52, who manages ZynoSoft Inc. and has had more than 25 years of experience in information technology.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework