Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The May 2023 change is set to draw board Chair Tom Colett out of the zone he currently represents.

PMG FILE PHOTO - Beaverton School District board member Tom Colett will be drawn out of the zone he represents come May 2023.New Beaverton School District board zones approved this week draw one sitting member out of his seat, meaning he cannot run for reelection in May 2023.

That's no problem for board Chair Tom Colett, though — he says he wasn't planning on running for reelection anyway.

The Beaverton School Board unanimously approved a new map for board zone boundaries, after the 2020 U.S. Census results forced the maps to be redrawn so that each elected member represents nearly the same number of voters.

At its meeting Monday night, Nov. 14, the board followed up on the two proposals to redraw the zones based on the Census data. The board unanimously approved the new zones that also place a high school or option school in each zone and align more closely with high school attendance boundaries.

The new zones do not affect attendance maps for schoolchildren.

The new maps will come into play in May 2023, when three school board seats are up for election.

School board members must live within the zone they are running for, but they are elected by voters across the school district boundaries. The idea is to ensure all parts of the sprawling Beaverton School District — Oregon's third-largest K-12 school district, taking in most of Aloha, Bethany and other unincorporated communities, as well as a small portion of Tigard, along with the midsize city of Beaverton — are represented.

Colett will be drawn out of his district come 2023, a fact confirmed by Beaverton School District spokesperson Shellie Bailey-Shah.

Colett represents Zone 7 in the central eastern portion of the district, which currently covers west Beaverton, north to Cedar Park Middle School and south to Sexton Mountain Elementary School.

His home will be drawn into Zone 1 come 2023.

While he wasn't planning to run to retain his seat, Colett said even if he was considering running, Oregon rules prohibit new district maps from favoring a potential candidate.

"We were making decisions about the maps that are not drawn to benefit any incumbent," Colett said in an interview Tuesday, Nov. 15.

His seat, as well as board members Becky Tymchuk and Eric Simpson's, are up for election in May 2023. Bailey-Shah said that none of the three are looking to run to keep their seats in May 2023.

The seat for Zone 1, held by Susan Greenberg, is not up for election.

After the new Census data was made available, the Beaverton School District enlisted the help of Portland State University's Population Research Center to create two proposals for the new maps.

Research center director Ethan Sharygin presented two possible maps in October: Plan 1, which had as few adjustments as possible to even out the populations in each zone, and Plan 2, which realigned the maps closer to attendance boundaries.

The board picked Plan 2 on Monday, which allows for additional population growth in Zone 2 — the district's northwest area, including Bethany and Rock Creek elementary schools and Westview High School — and Zone 6 — the district's south area, including Cooper Mountain and Scholls Heights elementary schools and Mountainside High School.

The new map boundaries are available here.

Zone 1 (southeast), represented by Greenberg: North to Southwest Allen Boulevard and Southwest Scholls Ferry Road, east to the Washington County line and west to Southwest Murray Boulevard and Southwest 130th Avenue. Includes Fir Grove, Vose, McKay, Montclair and Greenway elementary schools; Highland Park, Conestoga and Whitford middle schools; and Southridge High School.

Zone 2 (northwest), represented by Karen Pérez: South to Northwest Sunset Highway and east past Oak Hills. Includes Sato, Springville K-8, Oak Hills, Rock Creek and Bethany elementary schools and Westview High School.

Zone 3 (northeast), represented by Simpson: North of Northwest Sunset Highway but including Meadow Park Middle School, east of Oak Hills to the eastern Washington County border. Includes Jacob Wismer, Findley, Bonny Slope, Terra Linda, Cedar Mill and West Tualatin View elementary schools; Meadow Park, Tumwater and Stoller middle schools; and Sunset High School.

Zone 4 (southwest), represented by Sunita Garg: south of Southwest Tualatin Valley Highway, east to Murray Boulevard, south near Southwest Bany Road and Southwest Rigert Road, Includes Kinnaman, Aloha-Huber Park K-8, Hazeldale, Errol Hassell and Chehalem elementary schools; Mountain View Middle School; and Aloha High School and International School of Beaverton.

Zone 5 (west), represented by Ugonna Enyinnaya: south of Northwest Sunset Highway, north of Southwest Tualatin Valley Highway and east along Southwest Merlo Road and Southwest 170th Avenue. Includes McKinley, Elmonica and Beaver Acres elementary schools; Five Oaks Middle School; and Beaverton Academy of Science and Engineering and Merlo Station High School.

Zone 6 (south), represented by Tymchuk: South of Southwest Bany Road and Southwest Rigert Road and west of Southwest Murray Boulevard and Southwest 135th Avenue. Includes Cooper Mountain, Sexton Mountain, Nancy Ryles, Scholls Heights and Hiteon elementary schools and Mountainside High School.

Zone 7 (east), represented by Colett: Beaverton, south of Northwest Sunset Highway to Southwest Greenway, west to Merlo Station Road and east to the county border. Includes Raleigh Park, Raleigh Hills K-8, Ridgewood, William Walker and Barnes elementary schools; Cedar Park Middle School; and Beaverton High School and Arts & Communications Magnet Academy.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top