Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The Canby Rotary Foundation gives out scholarships to local students totalling $32,500

The Canby Rotary Foundation awarded 27 scholarships totaling $32,500 for the coming school year. Since 2000 the foundation has awarded 310 scholarships totaling over $280,000.

Rotary awards a scholarship annually to honor Dick Brown, a founding member of the Rotary Club and long-time Canby educator. This year Canby Rotary awarded two Dick Brown scholarships, each for $3,000 -- to Claire Wright and Garrett Sasse. Both plan to attend George Fox.

For the fourth year a scholarship with a focus on leadership was awarded in memory of Canby Rotary founding member Don Peterson. This year's recipient of the $1,500 scholarship went to Trevor Taylor.

Ten new scholarships were awarded from The Canby Rotary Foundation general fund to graduating seniors. Those included $1,500 each to Emma Gingerich and Rose Phillips, and $1,000 scholarships each to Emily Fuentes, Rosemay Hosie, Gage Lemuz, Daphne Negrette Vazquez, Isabelle Parker, Grace-Ann Pegnone, Stephen Rue, and Jasmin Vera. Additionally, five current college students received scholarships: Jack Bigej, Ryan Bigej, Adrianna Davis, Ian Oakes and Gus Warren.

The foundation administers the Canby Telcom (now DirectLink) scholarship fund, awarding seven new scholarships for $1,000 each. Recipients this year are Aracely Barajas, Karla Bermudez, Kyler Boyd, Kendra Guttridge, Rizdin Miller, Teresa Reding Hoffart, and Analiz Wickham.

For the second year scholarships were available to graduating seniors who plan to pursue a professional/technical career education and training other than a traditional four-year college. This year's recipient of a $2,000 scholarship is Abraham Pittman.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework