Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Despite sub .500 record the Cougars picked up first league win in years, received TRL distinctions

ARCHIVE PHOTO: TANNER RUSS - Canby's Alejandro RomeroAfter going just 1-12-1 last year, expectations coming into the season for the Canby boys' soccer team were muted, to say the least. After the end of the 2018 season, whatever those expectations were had to have been met.

Canby tripled its win total on the season with victories over Clackamas, McMinnville, and Lake Oswego. The last victory over the Lakers was also a seminal moment for the team, as it marked the team's first Three Rivers League (TRL) victory in three years when Canby got the shutout 3-0.

Coaches Ivan Munoz and Brad Matlock credit the teams improved success to "believing" in themselves and the process, and it showed. Not just in the win column, but also in goals scored and goals given up. In the 2017, Canby scored just 17 goals, while allowing 50. This year, the Cougars 26 goals, and gave up only 41. At the end of the season last year, the team was ranked 50th; this year it moved up to 41st.

Defensively, the team was led by junior defender Alejandro Romero and senior goalkeeper Noe Rodriguez. The duo, along with sophomore Francisco Cabello and senior David Bernal on the backline, were responsible for the improved defensive statistics. All four were honored in the all-league process, with Romero in particular earning the first team distinction.

ARCHIVE PHOTO: TANNER RUSS - Canby senior Thijs Pepperkamp The goal scoring was thanks in part to junior Ian Quinlan and senior Thijs Pepperkamp, who were a scoring duo with Pepperkamp feeding the ball up to Quinlan from the midfield. Quinlan and Pepperkamp were both recognized with all-league second team honors after the regular season ended.

Full Three Rivers League honors are below:



Jackson Cleaver, junior, Tigard


Sajad Al Rikabi, Tigard, senior

Nathan Buckalew, Tualatin, junior

Michael Phillips, West Linn, junior

Alejandro Romero, junior, Canby


Lorenzo Lopez, junior, Oregon City

Abdul Ali, senior, West Linn

Zack Wesson, senior, Tualatin

Chase Hoffinger, senior, Lake Oswego

Trevor Smith, junior, Tigard

Daniel Valdovinos, senior, Tualatin


Mario Quiterio, senior, Tualatin

Gavin Tinsley, senior, West Linn

Oscar Jacinto, senior, Tigard



Josepher Juarez-Cruz, sophomore, Oregon City


Robbie Hamilton, senior, Oregon City

Richy Olguin, senior, Tualatin

Adam Sommer, senior, Lakeridge

Jared Debban, junior, Tigard


Ryan Sze, freshman, Lakeridge

Thijs Pepperkamp, sophomore, Canby

Garrett Jackson, senior, West Linn

Anthony Bautista, senior, Oregon City

Jack Hallam, sophomore, Tigard

Rasheed Tahuni, junior, Tigard


Ian Quinlan, junior, Canby

Eric Seaman, sophomore, Lake Oswego

Ashton Johnson, senior, Oregon City



Noe Rodriguez, senior, Canby

Caden Kesselring, sophomore, West Linn


Garrett Wiancko, senior, West Linn

Chris Anissian, senior, Lake Oswego

Aaron Rudder, senior, Lake Oswego

Edson Jimenez-Sutton, sophomore, Oregon City

Francisco Cabello, sophomore, Canby

Carter Phelps, freshman, Oregon City

Marco Gallardo, senior, Tigard

Adam Beyer, senior, West Linn

Cole Carlile, senior, Tualatin

Luis Salas, senior, Tigard

David Bernal, senior, Canby


Seba Marin-Quiros, senior, Lakeridge

Ben Martinusen, junior, Canby

Matt Kurtin, senior, West Linn

Javas Wray, senior, Lake Oswego

Brandon Bautista, senior, Oregon City

Gian Gargurevich, senior, Lakeridge

Sidarth Daga, senior, Lake Oswego


Pierce Boucher, senior, Lakeridge

Aaron Padarath, senior, Tigard

Luke Tinsley, freshman, West Linn

Christian Pumpelly, senior, Tualatin

Saul Aparicio, senior, Tualatin

Quality local journalism takes time and money, which comes, in part, from paying readers. If you enjoy articles like this one, please consider supporting us.
(It costs just a few cents a day.)

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine