Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The five volunteer board members will be honored through student poetry during Jan. 13 board meeting

CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Crook County School District

We have some amazing superheroes among us.

The Crook County School District will join the other 196 school districts throughout Oregon to celebrate January as School Board Recognition Month with the theme "School Board Super Heroes."

Our five school board members spend countless hours of unpaid time working to provide the best possible education for our students. They also serve as the board of directors for one of our community's largest employers. Celebrating School Board Recognition Month is one way to say thanks for all they do.

The five superhero board members will be recognized during the regular board meeting at 6:30 p.m. Monday, Jan. 13, at the CCSD District Office. Students are busy composing poems about the board members with the theme "Crook County School Board Members are More Than Super Heroes … They are Poetry in Motion."

School board members represent their fellow citizens' views and priorities in the complex enterprise of maintaining and running the community's public schools. They also reinforce the principle of local control over public education, which is an important, highly valued aspect of education in Oregon.

Too often, the efforts of school board members go unrecognized.

Here at CCSD, our board members' roots run deep.

Current Board Chair Scott Cooper attended Crook County schools as a student and now has children attending our schools. He has served on the board for 11 years and brings institutional knowledge as well as expertise in community relations and networking. Cooper's experience as the executive director of NeighorImpact gives him additional perspective about the socioeconomic needs of students.

Similarly, Doug Smith attended schools in Crook County and often claims he bleeds blue and gold. His mother was a teacher here, his children went to school here, and now he has a grandchild attending. During his 10 years on the school board, Smith has served as board chair and has also brought his historical knowledge and construction expertise to the board.

Vice Chair Patti Norris has served on the board for 11 years. Her child recently graduated from Crook County High School, and she is intensely loyal to our school district. Norris brings years of networking and community relations experience to the board. She analyzes issues from each angle and often questions things that no one else catches.

Walt Wagner has served as a school board member for seven years and has grandchildren in our schools. He brings much public relations experience to the board as well as a deep commitment to student and staff safety. Wagner often sees issues from different perspectives and raises awareness to issues that others may not see.

Gwen Carr has served on the board for seven years and has children in Crook County schools. She brings financial, social service, education experience and business development expertise to the board. She feels strongly that education plays an important role in the success of students.

The school board's main goal is to support student achievement. To achieve that goal, the board focuses on several needs.

They create a vision for what parents and citizens want their school district to become and how to make student achievement the top priority. They set standards for what students must learn and be able to do.

Board members assess whether schools achieve their goals and whether students are learning. They account for the outcomes of decisions and track progress and report results. They align the use of the district's human and financial resources.

The board strives to create a safe and orderly climate where students can learn and teachers can teach. They collaborate to solve common problems and to support common successes. Board members focus on continuous improvement by questioning, examining, revising, refining and revisiting issues related to student achievement.

Thank you, Scott Cooper, Doug Smith, Patti Norris, Walt Wagner and Gwen Carr, for your dedicated and selfless service to the Crook County School District.

Even though we are making a special effort during January to show appreciation for our school board members, we recognize that their contributions reflect a year-round effort on their part. They are dedicated individuals who are committed to improving student achievement and to fighting for the best for all of our students.

Holly Scholz is the Crook County School District communication and event specialist. She can be reached at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework