Cowboys place first in 10 weight divisions at 10-team tournament

The Crook County Cowboys totally dominated the Central Oregon Officials Wrestling Tournament Saturday, taking first in 10 of the 14 weight LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Zach Smith works to pin Michael Hageman of Bend during the semifinals of the 220-pound bracket at the Central Oregon Officials Tournament on Saturday. Smith finished 3-0 in the tournament, winning all of his matches by fall. Crook County easily won the tournment as 10 Cowboys won their weight division at the 10-team tournament.

I was happy with the team’s performance,” said Crook County Head Coach Jake Huffman. “I thought everyone wrestled well. We still have a lot of things to work on, but that’s expected at the beginning of the year.”

The Cowboys finished the 10-team tournament with 287.5 points, far ahead of second-place Redmond with 155 points. Culver finished third with 127 points. Crane finished in fourth, followed by Bend, Burns, Summit, Mountain View, Ridgeview, La Pine, Madras, and Sisters.

The Cowboys won 33 of their 38 matches, including 24 wins by fall. Trey Shores (113), Kurt Mode (120), Brent Bannon (132), Hayden Bates (138), Colbran Meeker (152), Brendan Harkey (170), Clark Woodward (182), Gunnar Robirts (195), Zach Smith (220), and Jason Williams (285) all won individual championships at the tournament.

Jared Wheeler finished second at 106 pounds, Brogan Howard was fourth at 160 pounds, and Johnny Avina (126) and Cole Ovens (145) each finished fifth.

Williams, the defending heavyweight state champion, pinned all three of his opponents in the first round. Smith, who was not even scheduled to wrestle in the tournament until Trevor Rasmussen injured his ankle in practice Friday evening, was nearly as impressive, pinning two of his opponents in the first round and the third late in the second round. by: LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Clark Woodward works to turn Jacob Pickering of Redmond during the 182- pound championship match. Woodward went on to win by fall.

Harkey and Woodward also won all of their matches by fall, while Robirts won two matches by fall and a third by injury default.

The Cowboys also had 15 wrestlers win their respective brackets in the JV portion of the tournament. As a team, the Cowboy JV squad finished with a 55-17 record, winning 49 matches by fall.

“I thought that our fitness level was higher than most teams and we did some basic things well, but we still have things we have to do better,” Huffman said.

What makes the Crook County domination perhaps even more impressive is that several of Crook County’s top wrestlers did not compete in the tournament.

Defending state champion Tyler Berger was taking his SAT tests while Rasmussen, Ryder Shinkle, and Trayton Libolt were all out with minor injuries and Grayson Munn was sick.

The Cowboys will compete in two varsity tournaments this weekend. The varsity team will travel to North Bend to compete in the Coast Classic while the JV squad will travel to the Culver Invitational. Both tournaments are scheduled to run Friday and Saturday.

Central Oregon Officials Tournament

Team scores — Crook County 287.5, Redmond 155, Culver 127, Crane, Bend, Burns, Summit, Mountain View, Ridgeview, La Pine, Madras, Sisters.

Individual results (First place and all Crook County varsity placers) — 106 — 1. Dallon Higgins, Burns. 2. Jared Wheeler, CC.

113 — 1. Trey Shores, CC..

120 — 1. Kurt Mode, CC.

126 — 1. Austin Rystedt, Redmond. 5. Johnny Avina, CC.

132 — 1. Brent Bannon, CC.

138 — 1. Hayden Bates, CC.

145 — 1. Mitch Willett, Redmond. 5. Cole Ovens, CC.

152 — 1. Colbran Meeker, CC.

160 — 1. Jacob Thompson, Summit. 4. Brogan Howard, CC.

170 — 1. Brandon Harkey, CC.

182 — 1. Clark Woodward, CC.

195 — 1. Gunnar Robirts, CC.

220 — 1. Zach Smith, CC.

285 — Jason Williams, CC.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine