Ovens, Benton named to first team

Seven Crook County High School softball players have been selected to the Intermountain Conference All-League team.

The Cowgirls, who finished in third place in the IMC, were led by seniors Emily Benton and Jena Ovens. who were selected to the all-league first team.Emily Benton

Benton, a pitcher, finished the year with a 16-6 record and a 2.18 earned run average. The senior pitched 131.2 innings, striking out 109 batters while walking just 37. Benton also had two saves during the course of the year.

Meanwhile, Ovens, a shortstop led the league in hitting, slugging percentage, on-base percentage, home runs and runs scored.

The leadoff hitter finished with a .622 batting average, a slugging percentage of 1.022 and an on-base percentage of .640. Ovens also led the league in home runs with seven and added seven doubles and four triples. In addition she stole 25 bases in 28 attempts and scored 43 runs.

Kelsee Martin, Karlee Hollis and Aspen Christiansen were selected to the second team.

Martin, a senior first baseman, was instrumental in many of Ovens' runs. Ovens frequently bunted. Once on base she would steal second then Martin would advance her to third with a sacrifice bunt. Martin was also a stalwart on the Cowgirl defense.

Meanwhile, junior outfielder Karlee Hollis led the Cowgirls in doubles with 12. Christiansen, a freshman, started at catcher for the Cowgirls and rapidly developed into one of the top defensive catchers in Central Oregon.Jena Ovens

Infielder Kaylee Wright-Johnson and designated hitter Bailee Wood, both seniors, were named honorable mention all-league.

Bend’s Lisa Sylvester was named player of the year, while Sandy Fischer of Ridgeview was named coach of the year.

Ridgeview and Bend finished the year with identical 12-3 league records. However, Ridgeview won the league title due to a better head-to-head record. The Cowgirls finished with a 9-6 league record and a 16-9 overall record. Ridgeview, 20-5, is scheduled to play McLoughlin today in the Class 4A semifinals.

Intermountain Conference Softball All-League Team

Player of the year — Lisa Sylvester, Bend.

Pitcher of the year — Megan Berrigan, Bend.

Coach of the year — Sandy Fischer, Ridgeview.

First team

Pitchers — Megan Berrigan, Bend. Emily Benton, Crook County. Rachel Collins, Ridgeview.

Catchers — AubrieElle Kinkade, Bend. Paige Davis, Ridgeview.

Infielders — Kiahna Brown, Redmond. Lisa Sylvester, Bend. Jena Ovens, Crook County. Kendall Kramer, Bend. Erin Ware, Ridgeview. Hannah George, Ridgeview.

Outfielders — Katie Brown, Bend. Carriann Elms, Mountain View. Jenna Henninger, Mountain View. Kaitlin Ross, Redmond.

Utility player/Designated hitter — Hannah Wicklund, Mountain View.

Second team

Pitchers — Alexis Hill-Gruenberg, Bend. Sara McKinney, Ridgeview. Hannah Wicklund, Mountain View.

Catchers — Aspen Christiansen, Crook County. Aubrey Clemens, Summit.

Infielders — Morgan Watts, Summit. Kelsee Martin, Crook County. Ivy Vann, Mountain View. Jamie Withrow, Mountain View. Shawna Marshall, Ridgeview. Savanah O’Neil, Redmond.

Outfielders — Karlee Hollis, Crook County. Alex Popp, Summit. Jeaneva Senko, Redmond. Mariah Buckner, Bend.

Utility player/Designated hitter — Kirsten Hawk, Ridgeview.

Honorable mention — Kaylee Johnson, Crook County. Jacqueline Manley, Summit. Zoe Lash, Ridgeview. Madison Edwards, Redmond. Sara McKinney, Ridgeview. Lexy Brown, Ridgeview. Alex Spencer, Ridgeview. Brook Berry, Bend. Hailey Burress, Redmond. Bailee Wood, Crook County. Brooke Frey, Summit.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine