Cowboys put three on all-league first team, nine others receive recognition

After a 0-4 start, the Crook County High School football team rebounded to finish third in the Tri-Valley Conference.

The Cowboys finished with a 3-6 overall record and a 2-2 conference mark.

After the strong finish, Crook County was well represented on the Tri-Valley Conference all-star team.

The Cowboys placed three people on the all-league first team, four people on the second team, while five more Cowboys received honorable mention recognition.

LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Dominic Langley, first team wide receiverSenior Victor Ramirez and juniors Dominic Langley and Caleb Parrott all were named to the all-league first team.

Langley, who played wide receiver, defensive back, and returned punts and kickoffs for the Cowboys, was named one of two first-team wide receivers.

Parrott, who missed the entire pre-league slate with a knee injury, was named first team as an offensive tackle, while Ramirez was the Tri-Valley Conference first team kicker.

Earning second team recognition for the Cowboys were four defensive players.

Will Combee, a senior lineman, was named second team defensive line as well as receiving honorable mention recognition as a center on offense. Combee was the lone Cowboy to receive recognition on both offense and defense.

Erick Gonzalez, a senior linebacker, was also selected to the second team. Gonzalez also played special teams and occasionally ran the ball for the Cowboy offense.

The remaining two Cowboys to receive second team honors were defensive backs Colton Burkhardt and Brody Connell.

Burkhardt, a junior, was also the Cowboys' starting quarterback.

Connell, a sophomore, was Crook County's backup quarterback as well as a defender.

In addition to Combee, defensive linemen Luke Flegel, Grayson Lockley, linebackers Connor Blaylock and Jason Slawter, and running back Kyle Knudtson all received honorable mention recognition.

CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Caleb Parrott, first team offensive tackle
Flegel, Lockley and Blaylock are all seniors, while Slawter is a junior, and Knudtson a sophomore.

Estacada quarterback Nick Keller, a junior, was named the league offensive player of the year, while Derek Lee, a senior linebacker, was selected as defensive player of the year, and Jack Foss, a Gladstone junior, was named lineman of the year.

Jerry Shaw, of Madras, was selected as the assistant coach of the year, with Gladstone's Wayne Harris earning head coach of the year honors.

Tri-Valley Conference football all-league team

Offensive Player of the Year: Nick Keller, junior, Estacada

Defensive Player of the Year: Derek Lee, senior, Gladstone

Lineman of the Year: Jack Foss, junior, Gladstone

Assistant Coach of the Year: Jerry Shaw, Madras

Head Coach of the Year: Wayne Harris, Gladstone

Offense First Team

Nick Keller, junior, quarterback, Estacada. Damian Alvarado, senior, running back, Gladstone. Justin Drury, senior, running back, Estacada. Treyvon Easterling, sophomore, running back, Madras. Wyatt Riedel, senior, tight end, Estacada. Dominic Langley, junior, wide receiver, Crook County. Jeff Larsen, junior, wide receiver, Molalla. Jason Schaffer, senior, center, Estacada. Jack Foss, junior, guard, Gladstone. Ryan Sandidge, junior, guard, Estacada. Caleb Parrott, junior, tackle, Crook County. Kyle Anderson, senior, tackle, Gladstone.

Second Team

Chase Lazdinski, senior, quarterback, Molalla. Dylan Farris, senior, running back, Gladstone. Silverio Lopez, junior, running back, Molalla. Spencer Boyd, junior, running back, Gladstone. Brandon Palmer, senior, tight end, Molalla. Austin Heywood, senior, center, Gladstone. Tyler Clark, senior, guard, Molalla. Lee Campbell, senior, guard, Estacada. William Lemus, senior, tackle, Madras.

Honorable Mention

Chandler Berks, senior, quarterback, Gladstone. Kyle Knudtson, sophomore, running back, Crook County. Will Combee, senior, center, Crook County. Tyrell Reynoso, senior, guard, Madras.

Defense First Team

Devin Hall, senior, defensive line, Gladstone. Justin Drury, senior, defensive line, Estacada. Harrison Manu, senior, defensive line, Madras. Skyler Conner, senior, defensive line, Gladstone. Derek Lee, senior, linebacker, Gladstone. Wyatt Riedel, senior, linebacker, Estacada. Ben Pruitt, senior, linebacker, Molalla. Jared Weaver, senior, linebacker, Estacada. Nick Keller, junior, defensive back, Estacada. Silverio Lopez, junior, defensive back, Molalla. Deric Penn, senior, defensive back, Gladstone. Jeff Larsen, junior, defensive back, Molalla.

Second Team

Gabe Martinez, junior, defensive line, Estacada. Will Combee, senior, defensive line, Crook County. Hunter Gotchall, junior, defensive line, Estacada. Jackson Simmons, junior, defensive line, Gladstone. Brandon Palmer, senior, linebacker, Molalla. Jason Schaffer, senior, linebacker, Estacada. Ben McCoy, senior, linebacker, Gladstone. Erick Gonzalez, senior, linebacker, Crook County. Colton Burkhardt, junior, defensive back, Crook County. Brandon Thornhill, senior, defensive back, Estacada. Brody Connell, sophomore, defensive back, Crook County. Wessley Beymer, junior, defensive back, Madras.

Honorable Mention

Luke Flegel, senior, defensive line, Crook County. Grayson Lockling, senior, defensive line, Crook County. Walker Melton, senior, linebacker, Gladstone. Connor Blaylock, senior, linebacker, Crook County. Catalino Leclair, senior, linebacker, Madras. Jason Slawter, junior, linebacker, Crook County. Damian Pingo, sophomore, linebacker, Molalla. Jaxon Jedrykowski, sophomore, defensive back, Gladstone. Casey Brooks, sophomore, defensive back, Molalla. Dalton Waldow, junior, defensive back, Madras.

Special Teams

First Team

Ben Hill, junior, Gladstone. Victor Ramirez, senior, kicker, Crook County. Jared Weaver, senior, punter, Estacada.

Second Team

Josiah Wachlin, senior, kicker, Gladstone.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine