Abby Dalton, Ashley Owens Berkley Puckett and Brooke Dalton all receive statewide recognition

Abby Dalton second team outfieldAfter reaching the first round of the state playoffs, four members of this year's Crook County High School softball team have received all-state recognition.

Leading the way for Crook County is senior outfielder Abby Dalton, who was named to the all-state second team.

Dalton, who was a first team all-state selection a year ago, is a four-year all-league selection. Joining Dalton on the all-state team are junior Berkley Puckett as well as sophomores Ashley Owens and Brooke Dalton.

Owens — last year's most valuable player in the state championship game and an all-league selection this season — was selected to the all-state third team, also as an outfielder.

Ashley Owens, third team all-state outfieldPuckett, an honorable mention infield selection, was first team all-league in the Tri-Valley Conference.

Brooke Dalton, an honorable mention selection, was the Cowgirls' starting pitcher most of the season, leading the team to a second-place finish in the Tri-Valley Conference.

She was selected to the all-league first team in her first year as a starter.

The Cowgirls finished the year with a 17-10 overall record and a 10-5 league mark.

The Cowgirls were eliminated from the playoffs by La Grande, which went on to win the state championship with a 6-1 victory over last year's champion, the Henley Hornets.

La Grande's Jayce Seaver was named player of the year, while teammate Allie Brock was named pitcher of the year, and La Grande head coach Kirk Travis was named coach of the year.

Editor's note: The Central Oregonian previously ran a list of Crook County High School softball players who made the all-state team. The article missed Berkley Puckett. We regret the error.

Class 4A All-State Softball Team

Coach of the year: Kirk Travis, La Grande.

player of the year: Jayce Seaver, La Grande.

pitcher of the year: Allie Brock, La Grande.

First team: Allie Brock, La Grande, 10, pitcher. Brooklyn Dalton honorable mention pitcherJena Kister, Junction City, 10, pitcher. Shaye Pinner, Gladstone, 12, pitcher. Jayce Seaver, La Grande, 10, catcher. Abby Bumcrot, Junction City, 10, catcher. Kaila Mick, Henley, 11, infield. Kamryn Potter, Junction City, 11, infield. Carrie Lillis, Philomath, 12, infield. Kalie Mann, South Umpqua, 11, infield. Halle Vandomelaen, Banks, 10, infield. Faith McQueen, Corbett, 12, infield. Keegan Wise, Banks, 12, outfield. Drew Culver, North Bend, 12, outfield. Ally Tow, Sweet Home, 12, outfield. Page Nemic, Henley, 10, outfield. Kylee Anderson, Elmira, 12, utility. Sabrina Ward, Gladstone, 11, utility.

Second team: Lilly Poe, Henley, 11, pitcher. Tayah Kelley, South Umpqua, 11, pitcher. Kamden Combs, Philomath, 9, pitcher. Cheyenne Datan, North Bend, 12, pitcher. Gabie Krueger, Scappoose, 12, catcher. Lindsey Flegel, Corbett, 11, catcher. Mekenzie Brock, North Bend, 12, infield. Hannah Galey, Scappoose, 12, infield. Alaina Carson, La Grande, 11, infield. Cheyanne White, Elmira, 10, infield. Sydney Grider, North Valley, 11, infield. Abby Dalton, Crook County, 12, outfield. Taylor Johnson, Scappoose, 11, outfield. Linsey Stripling, Junction City, 11, outfield. Makalia Saathoff, Philomath, 9, outfield. Tanner Higgins, Henley, 12, utility. Madyson Bell, La Grande, 12, utility.

Berkley Puckett honorable mention infieldThird team: Nicole Doughtery, Scappoose, 12, pitcher. Kaylin Hernandez, Banks, 11, pitcher. Hattie Imbler-Bremmer, Newport, 9, pitcher. Maddie Perez, Henley, 9, catcher. Rieley Reichhuber, Philomath, 12, catcher. Kalea Blodgett, Newport, 9, infield. Rose Gwillim, Baker, 11, infield. Hannah Williams, Philomath, 11, infield. Samantha Baylie, North Marion, 11, infield. Hadley Enos, Scappoose, 12, infield. Megan Gaibler, Yamhill-Carlton, 12, infield. Faith Kelly, McLoughlin, 12, outfield. Ashley Owens, Crook County, 10, outfield. Mackenzie Davis, Banks, 12, outfield. Dessie Alvarado, Gladstone, 10, outfield. Sophie Dziak, Newport, 12, outfield. Sydney Maurer, Stayton, 10, utility. Grace Paranto, Newport, 12, utility.

Honorable Mention: Rayana Arana, North Valley, 12, pitcher. Broke Dalton, Crook County, 10, pitcher. Emily Gates, Molalla, 12, catcher. Hannah McCourt, Banks, 11, catcher. Aailyah Rudy, South Umpqua, 11, catcher. Nehani DeLaRosa, Mazama, 12, infield. Jackie Howton, La Grande, 10, infield. Rachel Lyon, McLoughlin, 12, infield. Kaylan Mosser, Baker, 12, infield. Morgan Stafford, Corbett, 9, infield. Berkley Puckett, Crook County, 11, infield. Kandice Flaigg, Seaside, 9, infield. Aime Russell, Philomath, 11, infield. Shalyn Gray, South Umpqua, 10, infield. Ashtyn Walker, Sweet Home, 10, infield. Josie Dickson, Elmira, 11, infield. Mariah Ohman, Junction City, 11, infield. Brooke Kentner, Phoenix, 12, outfield. Isabelle Kirkland, North Valley, 11, outfield. Kara Gooderham, La Grande, 11, outfield. Lexie Gomes, La Grande, 11, outfield. Jewlz Wagner, Newport, 12, outfield. Sunhee Bitter, Sweet Home, 11, outfield. Sydney Collins, Junction City, 10, outfield.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine