Crook County High School setter Anna Woodward is named second team all-state, while libero Mekynzie Wells is honorable mention

LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN -  Crook County High School junior setter Anna Woodward was named second team all-state.Two Crook County High School volleyball players were recently named to the Class 5A All-State Team.

Junior setter Anna Woodward was selected to the All-State second team, while senior libero Mekynzie Wells received honorable mention recognition.

Both Cowgirls were also selected to the Intermountain Conference first team.

Woodward played nearly every second of the season, leading the Cowgirls. She led the Cowgirls in assists and was also one of the team's top servers.

Wells also seldom came off the floor and led the Cowgirls in both digs and aces

The senior was one of Crook County's team captains and handled most of the service receive responsibilities for the Cowgirls.

Crook County finished third in the Intermountain Conference but still qualified for the state tournament.

Other Intermountain Conference players to make the All-State Team included Nicole Bossemeyer, Ridgeview, honorable mention; Emily Curtis, Hood River Valley, honorable mention; Allicite Frost, Ridgeview, honorable mention; Carli Stroud, Hood River Valley, honorable mention; Katie Kennedy, Hood River Valley, first team; and Rylee Troutman, Ridgeview, first team.

LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN -  Senior Mekynzie Wells, Crook County's libero, was named honorable mention all-state.Steve Hyrell of the state champion Corvallis Spartans was named coach of the year.

The player of the year has not yet been named, but Kennedy, Troutman, Kylynn Quinn of Corvallis and Tylor Williams of Churchill are the four finalists for the award.

Class 5A Volleyball All-State Team

Coach of the year: Steve Hyrell, Corvallis

First team: Taylor Williams, Sr, Churchill. Rylee Troutman, Jr, Ridgeview. Katie Kennedy, Sr, Hood River Valley. Kylynn Quinn, Sr, Corvallis. Rane Jensen, Sr, Crater. Lindsey Hartford, Jr, Wilsonville. Ryann Gregg, Jr, Corvallis. Nevaeh Brey, Jr, Corvallis.

Second Team: Hailey Van Well, Jr, Dallas. Anna Woodward, Jr, Crook County. Hannah Randall, Jr, North Eugene. Maddie Hanson, Sr, La Salle Prep. Nehkyah Ellis, Sr, Crater. Alexis Chapman, Sr, West Albany. Sydney Backer, Jr, West Albany.

Honorable Mention: Nicole Bossemeyer, Jr, Ridgeview. Emily Curtis, Sr, Hood River Valley. Liza Dahl, Sr, Silverton. Allicite Frost, Jr, Ridgeview. Kennedy Juranek, Jr, Wilsonville. Aubrey Kievit, Sr, Crater. Taylor Quinn, Sr, Corvallis. Carli Stroud, Sr, Hood River Valley. Mekynzie Wells, Sr, Crook County.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine