Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Kenna Woodward and Liz Barker are both selected to the Intermountain Conference first team

LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Kenna WoodwardAfter finishing second in the Intermountain Conference and earning a home game in the first round of the state playoffs, the Crook County Cowgirls have placed six players on the IMC all-league team.

"It's always nice to have our kids recognized no matter what team they are on," Crook County head coach Kristy Struck said. "I'm pleased with who got selected and who got honored. Coaches in our league recognize that we play a good game of volleyball and they always want to be fair and kind to our kids."

Senior middle blocker Kenna Woodward and junior opposite hitter Liz Barker led the way for the Cowgirls, earning first team recognition.

LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Liz BarkerWoodward led the Cowgirls in kills and was second in the league, while Barker led the league in hitting percentage.

Senior setter Anna Woodward, along with junior Libero Kacie Stafford, were named to the all-league second team, while senior Lily Cooper and freshman McKenzie Jonas both received honorable mention recognition.

Woodward led the Intermountain Conference in assists, while Stafford led the team in digs. Jonas and Cooper both had more kills in league than anyone on the all-league second team.

Senior Rylee Troutman, an outside hitter for the league champion Ridgeview Ravens, was named the Intermountain Conference player of the year, while Ridgeview head coach Randi Viggiano was named coach of the year.

LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Anna WoodwardTroutman led the IMC in kills and is one of the most dominant players in the state, while Viggiano led the Ravens to their second consecutive league championship.

Like the Cowgirls, the Ravens also placed six players on the all-league team.

In addition to Troutman, Susanna Bailey, Allicitie Frost, Kennedy Buckner and Ally Henry were all named to the first team, while Nicole Bossemeyer was a second team selection.

The only other player named to the all-league first team was Pendleton's Zoe Jones.

Crook County is not yet done with their season. The No. 5-ranked Cowgirls host 12th-ranked Ashland on Saturday at 4:30 p.m. in the first round of the state playoffs, with the winner advancing to the state LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Kacie Staffordtournament, which will be held Friday and Saturday, Nov. 8-9 at Liberty High School in Hillsboro.

Intermountain Conference All-League Volleyball Team

Player of the year: Rylee Troutman, Ridgeview

Coach of the year: Randi Viggiano, Ridgeview

First team: Rylee Troutman, senior, Ridgeview outside hitter. Kenna Woodward, senior, Crook County, middle blocker. Liz Barker, junior, Crook County, opposite hitter. Zoe Jones, senior, Pendleton, outside hitter. Susanna Bailey, senior, Ridgeview middle blocker. Allicitie Frost, senior, Ridgeview setter. Kennedy Buckner, junior, LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Lily CooperRidgeview setter. Ally Henry, junior, Ridgeview, libero.

Second team: Anna Woodward, senior, Crook County, setter. Kacie Stafford, junior, Crook County, libero. Kiyarah Hicks, sophomore, Redmond, libero. Daisy Jenness, sophomore, Pendleton, hitter. Audrey Synon, senior, The Dalles, hitter. Aspen Bradley, sophomore, Redmond, hitter. Chloe Kurahara, senior Hood River Valley, hitter. Nicole Bossemeyer, senior, Ridgeview, middle blocker.

LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN - McKenzie JonasHonorable mention: McKenzie Jonas, freshman, Crook County, middle blocker. Lily Cooper, senior, Crook County, outside hitter. Sauren Garton, sophomore, Pendleton, hitter. Cassie Kandle, sophomore, Redmond, hitter. Kaylee Flemming, freshman, The Dalles, hitter. Sami Spriet, senior, Pendleton, setter. Kayla Sheasby, sophomore, Hood River Valley, libero.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework