Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Crook County middle blocker is recognized as one of best volleyball players in the state

CENTRAL OREGONIAN FILE PHOTO - Senior middle blocker Kenna Woodward led the Cowgirls in kills and blocks as well as being near the top of team stats in aces and digs. Woodward also helped lead the Cowgirls to a fourth-place finish at the state tournament. Woodward is pictured during the Cowgirls road matchy against Ridgeview, wich occurred late in the season.Crook County High School middle blocker Kenna Woodward was recently named to the Class 5A Volleyball All-State first team.

The 5-foot-11 senior helped lead Crook County to a fourth-place finish at this year's state volleyball tournament.

Woodward blasted 318 kills on 724 attempts during the season with 134 errors for a .254 hitting percentage.

Woodward also had 43 aces on 331 serves with an 89.73 serving percentage. She led the Cowgirls in blocks with 43 and finished the season with 115 digs, third on the team, but the most of all nondefensive specialists on the team.

Joining Woodward on the first team were seniors Allicitie Frost and Rylee Troutman of Ridgeview, Ryann Gregg of Corvallis, Sydney Backer of West Albany, Lindsey Hartford of Wilsonville and Alexis Hobie of North Eugene. Randy Viggiano, the head coach at Ridgeview was named Coach of the Year, while the Player of the Year has not yet been named.

Four players are still in line for that honor, Gregg, Hobbie, Hartford and Troutman.

Class 5A Volleyball All-State Team

Coach of the Year: Randi Viggiano, Ridgeview.

Player of the year: Not yet announced. Four finalists are Rylee Troutman, Ridgeview, Ryann Gregg, Corvallis, Alexis Hobbie, North Eugene, and Lindsey Hartford, Wilsonville.

First Team: Sydney Backer, West Albany, Senior. Allicitie Frost, Ridgeview, Senior. Ryann Gregg, Corvallis, Senior. Lindsey Hartford, Wilsonville, Senior. Alexis Hobie, North Eugene, Junior. Rylee Troutman, Ridgeview, Senior. Kenna Woodward, Crook County, Senior.

Second team: Nevaeh Bray, Corvallis, Senior. Darci De Troy, Scappoose, Senior. Madie Dowell, West Albany, Junior. Ally Henry, Ridgeview, Junior. Clarissa Klein, Wilsonville, Junior. Heidi Norman, Thurston, Senior. Hailey Van Well, Dallas, Senior.

Honorable Mention: Susanna Bailey, Ridgeview, Senior. Kennedy Juranek, Wilsonville, Senior. Elijah Sanders, West Albany, Junior. Hannah Stadstad, West Albany, Junior. Vai Taale, Putnam, Junior.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework