Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Crook County crowns one individual champion and has 10 placers en route to their second place finish

LON AUSTIN/CENTRAL OREGONIAN - Hunter Mode works to pin his opponent during the 138 pound finals at the OSAA Class 5A State Wrestling Championships. Mode was the lone Cowboy individual champion as the team finished second to Crescent Valley.The No. 1 ranked Crescent Valley Raiders pulled away late to easily win the OSAA Class 5A State Wrestling Championships, which were held Friday and Saturday at Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Portland.

After leading for all of day one the Raiders momentarily lost the lead to the Crook County Cowboys during the third round of consolation early Saturday morning. The Cowboys were still close midway through the semifinal round.

However, in the end, Crescent Valley had just too much firepower for the Cowboys.

Crook County's last lead of the tournament was 147.5 to 140. By the time the third-place matches ended Crescent Valley had not only overcome the deficit but led 256 to 220.5.

By the end of the championship round the Raiders had amassed 303 points, while the Cowboys were second with 226.5.

Thurston finished a distant third, while Crater placed fourth.

Crook County, who qualified four wrestlers for the championship finals, crowned just one individual champion.

Unfortunately, that paled by comparison to the Raiders, who placed 10 wrestlers into the championship round and crowned, a state tournament record, nine individual champions at the two-day event.

Hunter Mode was the lone Cowboy champion, taking first at 138 pounds. Tucker Bonner, 106, Zach Mauras, 132 and Kyle Knudtson, 182, all placed second for the Cowboys.

Placing third for the Cowboys were Cash Wells, 113, Steven Ware, 120, Ben Sather, 152, and Gavin McLean, 160.

Also placing for Crook County were Mitch Warren, 106, and Jace England, 126, who both finished in sixth place.

England was pinned in the fifth and sixth place match, while Warren was trailing 5-3 when suffered what appeared to be a serious injury. However, Warren was back in the arena in time to watch the finals and take his place on the awards stand.

Thurston finished a distant third, while Crater placed fourth.

Reedsport upset Culver to win the 1A/2A state championship, Burns was crowned the 3A champion, while La Grande edged Sweet Home to take the 4A title. Newberg outpointed Roseburg to win the 6A championship.

For complete coverage of the wrestling state championships check out Tuesday's edition of the Central Oregonian.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework