Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



In the face of a tough personal loss, Brayden Duke played at a high level all year and was rewarded with an all-state nod.

PMG FILE PHOTO - Crook County's Brayden Duke was selected to the Class 4A all-state team as a linebacker. Duke was also named as the Defensive Player of the Year in the Intermountain Conference this year.Crook County High School has placed one player on the Class 4A football all-state team.

Senior linebacker Brayden Duke was named to the second team defense.

Duke, who also started at running back for the Cowboys, played at a high level the entire season despite his dad losing a long battle with cancer during the season.

"I feel speechless. It's something I worked so hard at football for the last four years and it's one of those things that is just an honor and just makes me proud. I feel my dad would be proud of me for accomplishing that huge achievement. It came from everybody, the coaches pushing me, my teammates helping me in practice and a lot of it came with my own determination and grit and just pushing through all the hard things that came in life. With what happened with my dad it pushed me to work harder and harder every day to make him proud, and My mom gave me a big ole hug."

Marshfield quarterback Dom Montiel was named the offensive player of the year while linebacker Ezra Waterman, also of Marshfield, was named the defensive player of the year. Marshfield head coach John Lemmons was named coach of the year.

In addition to Montiel, the all-state offense first team includes running backs Blake Lewis of Cascade and Lucas Tuski of Marist Catholic; wide recievers Conner Chase of Marist Catholic, D.J. Daugherty and Maddux Mateski, both of Marshfield; tight end Charlie White of Banks; center Nate Tramp of Mazama; linemen Devin Gotchall and Dominic Nacoste, both of Estacada; limemen Kale Pasley and Tanner Relling of Marist Catholic; and kicker Colin Smittle of Cascade.

The all-state first team defense are made up of defensive linemen Cole Jorgensen of La Grande, Tanner Relling of Marist Catholic and Isaac Schnepp of Cascade; linebackers Tulson Higgins of Henley, Tuski of Marist Catholic, Waterman of Marshfield and White of Banks; defensive backs Daugherty of Marshfield, Jamar Flippen of Banks, Jacob Hage of Cascade, Maddux Mateski of Marshfield and punter Cade Johannsen of North Eugene.

Marshfield defeated Marist Catholic 49-34 to win the state championship. Tri-Valley league champion Estacada lost to Marist Catholic in the semifinals.

CLASS 4A All-State Football team Offensive player of the year - Dom Montiel, Marshfield

Defensive player of the year - Ezra Waterman, Marshfield

Coach of the year: John Lemmons, Marshfield

First team offense – QB Dom Montiel, Marshfield, senior. RB Blake Lewis, Cascade, senior. RB Lucas Tuski, Marist Catholic, senior. WR Conner Chase, Marist Catholic, senior. WR DJ Daugherty, Marshfield, senior. WR Maddux Mateski, Marshfield, senior. TE Charlie White, Banks, senior. C Nate Tramp, Mazama, senior. OL Devin Gotchall, Estacada, senior. OL Dominic Nacoste, Estacada, junior. OL Kale Paslay, Marist Catholic, senior. OL Tanner Relling, Marist Catholic, senior. K Colin Smittle, Cascade, senior

Second team offense – QB Jacob Hage, Cascade, senior. RB Jamar Flippen, Banks, senior. RB Brody MacMillan, La Grande, senior. WR Aaron Brown, Banks, senior. WR Ryan Cary, Marist Catholic, senior. WR Brady Nichols, Sweet Home, junior. TE Pierce Davidson, Marshfield, senior. TE Isaac Schnepp, Cascade, senior. C Hayden Murphy, Marshfield, senior.

OL Gavin Bond, Cascade, senior. OL Josh Giacomini, Marshfield, senior. OL Isaac Pena, Mazama, senior. OL Michael Vereen, Banks, senior. K Alberto Castillo, Marshfield, senior

Honorable mention offense – QB Cooper Gobel, Banks, senior. QB Carter Greene, Marist Catholic, senior. QB Cory James, Estacada, junior. QB Shaw Stork, Henley, junior. RB Jake Behrman, Estacada, senior. RB Tate Brechbiel, Gladstone, senior. RB Waylon Riedel, Estacada, junior. RB Lance Van Hoose, Cascade, senior. RB Miguel Velazquez, Marshfield, senior. WR Kaden Bruns, Newport, senior. WR Nick Frith, Stayton, senior. WR Mason Pederson, Marshfield, senior. WR Cael White, Madras, junior. WR Nolan Wyers, North Eugene, senior. TE Caleb McDonald, Estacada, senior. TE Noah McIlmoil, La Grande, junior. C Nick Bornstedt, La Grande, senior. C Jared Landolt, Tillamook, senior. C Caymus Roache, Cascade, senior. OL Jake Cooper, Milwaukie, senior. OL Ismael Jantes, Seaside, sophomore. OL Aiden Johnson, Tillamook, senior. OL Cole Jorgensen, La Grande, senior. OL Aiden Moon-Reed, Hidden Valley, senior. OL Manny Ramirez, Ontario, senior. OL Alex Ritter, Baker, senior. OL Santiago Roque Manzo, Woodburn, senior. OL Cody White, Estacada, junior. OL Daniel Yancey, Mazama, senior. K Spencer Fiske, Hidden Valley, senior. K Wyatt Hesselman, Banks, sophomore.

First team defense – DL Cole Jorgensen, La Grande, senior. DL Hayden Murphey, Marshfield, senior. DL Tanner Relling, Marist Catholic, senior. DL Isaac Schnepp, Cascade, senior. LB Tulson Higgins, Henley, senior. LB Lucas Tuski, Marist Catholic, senior. LB Ezra Waterman, Marshfield, senior. LB Charlie White, Banks, senior. DB DJ Daugherty, Marshfield, senior. DB Jamar Flippen, Banks, senior. DB Jacob Hage, Cascade, senior. DB Maddux Mateski, Marshfield, senior. P Cade Johannsen, North Eugene, senior.

Second team defense – DL Devin Gotchall, Estacada, senior. DL Dominic Nacoste, Estacada, junior. DL Kale Paslay, Marist Catholic, senior. DL Nate Tramp, Mazama, senior. DL Michael Vereen, Banks, senior. LB Brayden Duke, Crook County, senior. LB Aiden Johnson, Tillamook, senior. LB Blake Lewis, Cascade, senior. LB Owen McOmber, Marist Catholic, senior. DB Savien Burk, Mazama, senior. DB Ryan Cary, Marist Catholic, senior. DB Conner Chase, Marist Catholic, senior. DB Tomas Veliz, Woodburn, senior. P Nick Frith, Stayton, senior.

Honorable mention defense – DL Gavin Bond, Cascade, senior. DL Ethan Finnigan, Gladstone, junior. DL Toby Johnston, Marshfield, junior. DL Isaac Pena, Mazama, senior

DL Manny Ramirez, Ontario, senior. DL Santiago Roque Manzo, Woodburn, senior. DL Dillon Stein, Tillamook, senior. DL Daevon Vereen, Banks, junior. LB Trevor Anderson, Mazama, junior. LB Jake Behrman, Estacada, senior. LB Wolfgang Betts, Marist Catholic, senior. LB Gauge Bloomer, Baker, senior. LB Brody MacMillan, La Grande, senior. LB Waylon Riedel, Estacada, junior. LB Kellen Sande, Cascade, senior. LB Lawson Talamantez, Seaside, senior. LB Lance Van Hoose, Cascade, senior. DB Devon Anderson, North Eugene, junior. DB Cory James, Estacada, junior. DB Jack Lyda, Banks, junior. DB Tyler Moncrief, Tillamook, junior. DB Rogue Newton, Cascade, junior. DB Joshua Rodriguez, Marist Catholic, senior. DB Noah Stone, Hidden Valley, senior. DB Brody Thomson, Milwaukie, senior. P Spencer Fiske, Hidden Valley, senior. P Colton McMaster, Astoria, senior.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework