Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Crass leads the Cowgirls and Radabaugh first in for the Cowboys as each squad brings home third place trophy

LON AUSTIN  - The top three Crook County Cowboys finishers at state run together during the race Saturday: Adam Radabaugh (668), Gavin Humphreys (666) and Keirnan Teasdale. Both the Cowboys and Cowgirls took third place in the state meet. Saturday was a big day for the Crook County High School cross country team as both the boys and girls squads earned third place finishes at the OSAA Class 4A State Championships.

Crook County won both trophies without putting a single runner in the top 10 in either race. Both teams were able to accomplish that by running in a tight pack for most of the race.

The Cowgirls were led by Natalia Crass, who finished in 13th place with a time of 20:32.1. Ruby Snider, who ran with Crass for virtually the entire race, finished in 16th place with a time of 20:44.1, while Pati Carne was close behind in 21st place in a time of 20:59.9. Next in for the Cowgirls was Chalis Beukert, who finished 41st with a time of 22:00.0. Rounding out the scoring for Crook County was Emily Rice, who finished 72nd in 24:03.1.

The remaining two Cowgirls were Raelynn Weaver, who finished 76th with a time of 24:14.8, and Jane Rice, who was 83rd in 24:31.4.

Kyla Potratz of Phoenix was the individual champion with a time of 18:47.5, while La Grande took the girls team title and Philomath was second.

In the boys race, Adam Radabaugh finished 15th for the Cowboys with a time of 17:39.8, while Gavin Humphreys was 17th in 17:39.8. Kiernan Teasdale was next in for the Cowboys, taking 27th place with a time of 17:53.0. Rounding out the team scoring for the Cowboys were Hunter Davis in 45th with a time of 18:13.9, and Russell Rodgers, who finished 59th in 18:31.5.

Also running for the Cowboys were Aidan Bonner and Jacob McKinnon who finished in 61st and 63rd place, respectively, with times of 18:35.4 and 18:36.7.

Alexander Garcia-Silver of Marshfield won the individual championship with a time of 15:22.2, while The Dalles took the team title and Philomath finished second.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top