Markley Drake, Brett Sherman elected for first time this year by city-councilor position rather than in previous top-two format

According to unofficial Nov. 6 election results, Happy Valley Councilor Tom Ellis won the mayoral position by 52.4 to 47.6 percent against fellow City Council member David Golobay.

Tom EllisEllis and Golobay both filed for the seat being vacated by Mayor Lori Chavez-DeRemer as she ran in a rematch against state Rep. Janelle Bynum for the local seat in the Oregon Legislature.

Ellis won election to the City Council seat in 2012 and re-election in 2016. His priority is livability in the city, with new housing construction outpacing the speed at which infrastructure is built in Happy Valley.

In a statement thanking supporters, Ellis said his door will be open to all citizens to discuss any issue.

"I will work hard to earn your trust in the coming years," Ellis said. "We must all work together to keep Happy Valley a place we are proud to call home."

The remaining four city councilors are set to discuss the process for determining a replacement at a Jan. 15 work session, said Assistant City Manager Ben Bryant.

In other Happy Valley races, incumbents will hold onto their seats against challengers, with the city councilors running for re-election winning more than 55 percent of the vote each.

Nick Tacheny again took on longtime Happy Valley City Councilor Markley Drake, but this time it's a race specifically for Position 1, rather than an open-election format. Brett Sherman, first elected to City Council in 2014, faced a head-to-head matchup with Joshua V. Callahan, the chair of the Happy Valley Planning Commission.

A Happy Valley councilor since 2005, Drake previously served over two years on the Planning Commission and three years on the Parks Committee. He has served on the Clackamas County Coordinating Committee, River Health Advisory Board, Water Environment Services Advisory Committee and Sunrise Water Authority Budget Committee.

Sherman was the Happy Valley Traffic & Public Safety Committee vice-chairman and has been a longtime coordinator of the Happy Valley Hikers group.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine