Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Need to catch up on last night's election results? Here's what you should know about what happened in Clackamas County.

The pandemic may have halted nearly everything in our daily lives, but democracy must press on.

We saw that last night as Oregon held its usual May primary — and the results indicate significant change is on its way to Clackamas County.

Still trying to catch up? Here's a rundown of the most significant results.

Bernard and Smith

County chair

Clackamas County will soon be under new leadership, as incumbent Board of Commissioners chair Jim Bernard lost to Tootie Smith by five percentage points.


County sheriff

Angela Brandenburg may have earned just enough votes to avoid a runoff on the November ballot. Brandenburg, who currently serves the county as undersheriff, earned 50.9% of the vote according to early returns.

Board of Commissioners position 3

Martha Schrader easily won reelection to the Clackamas County Board of Commissioners position 3, defeating two challengers.

Board of Commissioners position 4

Ken Humberston may face another hurdle to win reelection to Clackamas County Board of Commissioners Position 4.


5th congressional district

Rep. Kurt Schrader fended off two challengers to earn the Democratic nomination for a seventh straight cycle. On the Republican side, Amy Ryan Courser handily defeated three opponents by earning 53% of Republican votes.

Metro homeless measure

Portland area voters are overwhelmingly supporting a massive tax measure to help address the region's growing homeless population and lack of affordable housing.

House District 39

Tessah Danel is winning the Democratic nomination to face off in November against the sole Republican candidate, freshman incumbent Christine Drazan, to represent the unincorporated Oregon City areas of Beavercreek and Redland.

House District 40

Oregon City resident Josh Howard won the Republican nomination for this seat representing Gladstone, Johnson City and parts of unincorporated Clackamas County, which is currently occupied by Rep. Mark Meek (he ran unopposed in the Democratic primary).

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework