Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Foundation gives out annual scholarship named after Dr. Howard Anderson, Tim DeShields

Milwaukie's Rotary Club Foundation named La Reina Canty this year's recipient of the $5,000 Dr. Howard Anderson/Tim DeShields Scholarship. COURTESY PHOTO: ROTARY CLUB OF MILWAUKIE - Rotary Club Foundation treasurer Heather Hobson, MHS graduate La Reina Canty and Community Service Chair Joel Bergman.

A graduating senior at Milwaukie High School, Canty was a National Honor Society member, has been involved in numerous school athletics, held down a part-time job and has a notable history of community service work in Milwaukie.

Canty intends to pursue a four-year degree that will allow her to become an elementary school teacher, where she hopes to make an impact in the lives of other young people like her teachers had on her.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top