Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The 6-foot-2, 225-pound senior defensive end/outside linebacker helped lead the Cavs to a second straight league championship

PAMPLIN MEDIA: JIM BESEDA - Clackamas senior Justin Pagan was named the Mt. Hood Conference's Defensive Player of the Year after the Cavaliers went undefeated in league play for the second season in a row.Clackamas senior Justice Pagan was named the Mt. Hood Conference's Defensive Player of the Year and landed on the all-league first team for the second season in a row after leading the Cavaliers to a third consecutive league championship.

In four league games, Pagan, a 6-foot-2, 225-pound defensive end registered 27 tackles, including 20 solo tackles and a team-high 15 tackles for loss as the defending Class 6A state champion Cavaliers went undefeated in league play for the second straight season.

"It's an honor to be recognized by all the coaches that thought I was good enough to be worthy of such an award," Pagan said. "I just want to thank all my teammates and coaches for pushing me to be the player that I'm capable of being.

"I put in a lot of work this past offseason and it's definitely paying off this year."

Barlow senior running back Jobadiah Malary was recognized as the league's Offensive Player of the Year, and Reynolds' Ryan Aldred was named Coach of the Year in his second season with the Raiders.

Joining Pagan and Malary on the all-league first team from Clackamas were junior quarterback Austin Atkeson, senior linebacker Jake Bushman, senior offensive lineman Brian Espinoza, junior offensive lineman Nick Espinoza, senior defensive lineman Kelsen Hennessy, and junior wide receiver Richard Kennewell.

Jeffrey Nelson of the Cavaliers was named to the all-league first team as a placekicker for the second year in a row, and also landed on the first team as a punter for the first time.

Clackamas' Grant Schoen made the all-league second team as a defensive back, and six other Cavaliers -- Alex Hall, Jailen Hammer, Noah Hobbs, Chris Thor, Thomas Tolonen, and Tyler Vaughn -- earned honorable mention.

"I felt there were some guys who I thought were more deserving of high accolades, some guys who maybe were left off who deserved to be on there, some guys who were honorable mention that I think could have been first- or second-team guys," Cavaliers coach Joe Bushman said. "But that's how it goes sometimes, you know? I mean, what can you do? You can't control how the other coaches vote."

Atkeson, who split time at quarterback with Caleb 'C.J.' Jordan, completed 24 of 37 passes for 434 yards with four touchdowns and one interception in four league games. He had rushed for 62 yards on 18 carries with two touchdowns.

Kennewell, the 6-3, 180-pound wide receiver, caught passes in three of four league games, finishing with seven receptions for 194 yards and five touchdowns.


Offensive Player of the Year: Jobadiah Malary, Sr., Barlow

Defensive Player of the Year: Justice Pagan, Sr., Clackamas

Coach of the Year: Ryan Aldred, Reynolds



Cade Knighton, Jr. Central Catholic

Austin Atkeson, Jr. Clackamas

Running backs

Jobadiah Malary, Sr. Barlow

Elijah Elliott, Jr. Central Catholic

Wide receivers

Silas Starr, Jr. Central Catholic

Richard Kennewell, Jr. Clackamas

Kehdon Fletcher, Sr. Reynolds

Tight end

Dominic Jacoby, Sr. Barlow

Offensive linemen

Jadon Morgan, Jr. Barlow

Robesan Abraham, Sr. Centennial

Brian Espinoza, Sr. Clackamas

Nick Espinoza, Jr. Clackamas

Blaze Johnson, Jr. Gresham

Talati Polamalu, Sr. Sandy


Daniel Jefferies, Sr. Central Catholic


Defensive linemen

Braeden Veary, Jr. Central Catholic

Kelsen Hennessy, Sr. Clackamas

Justice Pagan, Sr. Clackamas

Talati Polamalu, Sr. Sandy


Jared Eggleston, Sr. Barlow

Cyrus Boatman, Sr. Centennial

Joe Nizich, Jr. Central Catholic

Jake Bushman, Sr. Clackamas

Defensive backs

Josh Nomie, Jr. Barlow

Travis West, Sr. Central Catholic

Miles Jordan, Jr. Central Catholic

Kehdon Fletcher, Sr. Reynolds


Jeffrey Nelson, Sr. Clackamas

Kick returner

Kehdon Fletcher, Sr. Reynolds


Jeffrey Nelson, Sr. Clackamas


Quarterback: Jaren Hunter, Jr., Barlow. Running backs: Jimmie Barton, Jr., Centennial; Lucas Rhinevault, Sr., Gresham. Wide receivers: Kalvin Souders, Jr. Central Catholic; Omar Muse, Soph., David Douglas; Glynn McGaughey, Sr., Sandy. Tight end: Alex Ibarra, Jr., Centennial. Offensive linemen: Carson Stephens, Sr., Barlow; Andrew Gross, Jr. Central Catholic; Joey Franco, Sr., David Douglas; Ben Reed, Soph., Reynolds. Centers: Nathaniel Koenig, Sr., Barlow; T. Michael Proehl, Sr., Centennial.


Defensive linemen: Carsen Stephens, Sr., Barlow; Robesan Abraham, Sr., Centennial; Logan Nomura, Jr., Central Catholic; Gabe Wantowski, Jr., Sandy. Linebackers: Jobadiah Malary, Sr., Barlow; Tyler Budge, Sr., Gresham; Miles Wilson, Soph., Reynolds; Colby Carson, Jr., Sandy. Defensive backs: Grant Schoen, Sr., Clackamas; Michael Hodge, Sr., David Douglas; Dominique Mller, Jr., Reynolds; Glynn McGaughey, Sr., Sandy. Punter: Chase Hallenius, Sr., Barlow. Kick retruner: Elijah Elliott, Jr. Central Catholic. Placekicker: Lach Davidson, Sr., Central Catholic.


Quarterbacks: Jayden Hawkinson, Sr., Reynolds; Chet Chamberlain, Jr., Sandy; Kevin Rodrueuez Nava, Sr., David Douglas. Running backs: Noah Hobbs, Sr., Clackamas; Romeo Manue, Sr., Daivd Douglas; Miles Wilson, Soph., Reynolds; Colby Carson, Jr., Sandy; Nick Garcia, Sr., Centennial; D'Andre Katz, Sr., Reynolds; Kael Schilperoot, Sr., Sandy. Wide receivers: Hunter Stotts, Sr., Barlow; Charles Ndayizeye, Sr., Barlow; Thomas Tolonen, Sr., Clackamas; Jailen Hammer, Sr., Clackamas; Jermaine Robinson, Jr., David Douglas; Nick Hanes, Jr., Reynolds; Nehemiah Dedmon, Sr., Clackamas. Tight ends: Jalen Ridgeway, Soph., Central Catholic; Ethan Evans, Soph., Ethan Evans. Offensive linemen: Kevin Hernandez, Sr., Cetnral Catholic; Chris Thor, Jr., Clackamas; Jacob Ross, Soph., Reynolds; Joseph Merchado, Sr., Reynolds; Trenton Rainforth, Sr., Central Catholic; Ian Schroeder, Sr., Gresham; Ricardo Castro, Sr., Gresham; Kole Adovinik, Sr., Sandy. Centers: Alex Hall, Jr., Clackamas, Dane Barham, Sr., Gresham; Ian Manson, Sr., Reynolds.


Defensive linemen: Aidan Armstrong, Sr., Barlow; Ayden Hendrie, Sr., Barlow; T. Michael Proehl, Sr., Centennial; Henry Vasend, Sr., Central Catholic; Kingsley Toloke, Soph., David Douglas; Roman Busch, Sr., Gresham; Joseph Merchado, Sr., Reynolds; Jacob Ross, Soph., Reynolds; Tucker Scroggins, Sr., Central Catholic. Linebackers: Nathaniel Koenig, Sr., Barlow; Clyde Bell, Jr., Central Catholic; Germaine Flentroy, Sr., Central Catholic; Tyler Vaughn, Jr., Clackamas; Keenan Herigstad, Jr., David Douglas; Michael Regan, Jr., Gresham; Nathaniel Wilson, Jr., Reynolds; Abdullahi Abdullahi, Sr., David Douglas. Defensive backs: Joe McDonald, Soph., Barlow; Hunter Stotts, Sr., Barlow; Elijah Elliott, Jr., Central Carholic; Nick Haynes, Jr., Reynolds; Jailen Hammer, Sr., Clackamas. Punters: Fritz Kabelseman, Sr., Central Catholic; Connor Henkle, Sr., Gresham. Kick returners: Jimmie Barton, Jr., Centennial; Omar Muse, Soph., David Douglas. Placekicker: Connor Henkle, Sr., Gresham.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework