Oregon City's Emma Baertlein and Lane Marshall, Milwaukie's Bryant Smith, Logan LaPine, and Fiona McConnell, and Putnam's Jonny Hernandez are featured

PMG PHOTO: JIM BESEDA - Oregon City's Lane Marshall stands atop the podium after going 4-0 with four pins to clinch the 285-pound title at the OSAA Class 6A wrestling state championships at Memorial Coliseum.Here are some photos from Saturday's OSAA wrestling state championships finals at Veterans Memorial Coliseum in Portland.

There were six wrestlers from area schools that advanced to the finals, started with Oregon City's Emma Baertlein, who faced Newberg's Sophia Redwine in the first championship match of the first official OSAA girls' wrestling state championship tournament.

The next to wrestle in order were Milwaukie's Bryant Smith, Putnam's Jonny Hernandez, Milwaukie's Logan LaPine, Milwaukie's Fiona McConnell, and Oregon City's Lane Marshall.

The results (in order of appearance):

Girls 100 -- Baertlein lost to Redwine by a 6-0 decision.

5A 138 -- Smith lost to Thurston's Manuel Monroy by a 10-8 decision in overtime.

5A 145 -- Hernandez lost to Crescent Valley's James Rowley by a 6-2 decision.

5A 170 -- LaPine lost to North Salem's Ein Carlos by a 16-1 technical fall.

Girls 190 -- McConnell lost to Madras' Bailey Dennis by a 5-1 decision.

6A 285 -- Marshall won by fall over Sheldon's Oscar Atterberry at 4:14.

There also are some shots at the end of the gallery of a few podium presentations, inlcluding shots of Oregon City's Sage Brown and Mannix Perry, and Clackamas' Ethan Edgerly and Danny Pacheco.

OSAA wrestling state finals

By Jim Beseda
Sports editor
email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Follow us on Twitter
Visit Us on Facebook

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine