Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Cohen Daves, Ryme Jaekel named first teamers; Cody Aker picked Coach of the Year.

PMG PHOTO: ANDREW DIECKHOFF - Gladstone junior Hanne Hopkins was named Tri-Valley Conference Player of the Year after leading the Gladiators to a second-place finish in league and a state playoff berth.The Gladiators' best have taken their places among the Tri-Valley Conference's best.

Gladstone's best basketball players — highlighted by first-team picks Cohen Daves and Ryme Jaekel, Player of the Year Hanne Hopkins and Coach of the Year Cody Aker — were recognized on Tri-Valley Conference all-star teams for 2021-22.

Hopkins and Jaekel helped lead the Gladiator girls team to an 8-2 conference record and second-place TVC finish, and a 17-4 overall record capped by a berth in the Class 4A state playoffs.

On the boys side, Daves and Aker took Gladstone to an 8-2 record and TVC championship, as well as a 14-8 overall record and a berth in the Class 4A state playoffs.

PMG PHOTO: MILES VANCE - Gladstone boys coach Cody Aker was named Tri-Valley Conference Coach of the Year after leading the Gladiators to a TVC championship and a state playoff berth.

Tri-Valley Conference Boys

First Team — Joe Fundak, sr., Corbett; Cohen Daves, jr., Gladstone; Dominic Nacoste, jr., Estacada; Cole Hammack, fr., North Marion; Lane Fort, sr., Corbett.

Player of the Year —Joe Fundak, Corbett

Coach of the Year — Cody Aker, Gladstone

Second Team — Jack Davies, so., Molalla; Seneca Ball, so., Madras; Carver Mellema, jr., Gladstone; Cory Rather, sr., Gladstone; Isaiah Mata, sr., North Marion.

Honorable Mention — Cole Weien, jr., Corbett; Cory James, jr., Estacada; Ben Hoffman, jr., Gladstone; Ricky White, sr., Gladstone; Dru Boyle, jr., Madras; Zach Clinton, so., Molalla; Caden Cox, jr., Molalla; Jacob Watson, sr., Molalla.

Tri-Valley Conference Girls

First Team — Hanne Hopkins, jr., Gladstone; Ally Schimel, so., Corbett; Rylan Davis, so., Madras; Rubie Burge, sr., Molalla; Ryme Jaekel, fr., Gladstone.

Player of Year — Hanne Hopkins, Gladstone

Coach of Year — Jerin Say, Madras

Second Team — Grace Merrill, sr., Corbett; ChaCha Ramirez, sr., Madras; Sasha Esquiro, so., Madras; Laura Cabrero, sr., North Marion; Ella Holwege, so., Corbett.

Honorable Mention — Anna Parker, jr., Molalla; Ally Coulombe, jr., North Marion; Alyx DeVeny, sr., Gladstone; Isabelle VanHee, sr., Corbett; Alexis Guarnieri, sr., Estacada; Hannah Lake, sr., Estacada; Sam Jedrykowski, jr., Gladstone; Lily Libokmeto, sr., Madras; Rhyli Grim, jr., Gladstone; Tiffani Kelly, sr., North Marion; Mallory Patzer, sr., North Marion; Sydney Schimel, sr., Corbett; Ashley Goetz, sr., Molalla; Teal Kluver, sr., Molalla.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top