Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The Hawks got the best of the All-MHC voting, taking home five total superlative awards across three different sports.

PMG PHOTO: RALEIGH EMERSON - Nelson High School football players Max Kirsch (9), Connley Courtney (8), Owen Hunt (24) and Alex Nita (4) were all named to the All-Mt. Hood Conference teams, with Kirsch winning Defensive Player of the Year.

The Mt. Hood Conference has released its all-league teams for football, volleyball and soccer, with athletes and coaches from Adrienne C. Nelson High School and Clackamas High School well represented on the lists.

The Hawks had the best showing in the All-MHC voting, with three players and two coaches receiving superlative awards as the top performers in their given sport. Clackamas did well in the voting, too, with eight first-team selections across all sports, led by five football players who helped guide the team to the Columbia Cup quarterfinals.

Here is the full list of athletes at Clackamas and Nelson who made the All-Mt. Hood Conference teams for the fall 2022 season.


Superlative awards

Max Kirsch, Nelson senior, Defensive Player of the Year; Aaron Hazel, Nelson head coach, Coach of the Year

PMG PHOTO: ANDY DIECKHOFF - Nelson head football coach Aaron Hazel (middle) was named the Mt. Hood Conference Coach of the Year.

First team

Jaidon Siler, Nelson sophomore, running back; Cooper Beltz, Clackamas senior, wide receiver; AJ Perez, Clackamas senior, wide receiver; Reid Gray, Nelson senior, wide receiver/kick returner; Devin Brooks, Clackamas junior, offensive line; Noah Julison, Nelson junior, offensive line;Tyler King, Clackamas senior, defensive line; Sullivan McDaniel, Clackamas senior, linebacker; Max Kirsch, Nelson senior, defensive back

Second team

Avirey Durdahl, Nelson sophomore, quarterback; Luke Womack, Nelson junior, wide receiver; Connley Courtney, Nelson senior, tight end; Nolan Allen, Nelson senior, center; Boone Standley, Nelson junior, defensive line; Kayle Pisano, Clackamas junior, defensive line/punter; Owen Hunt, Nelson junior, linebacker; Nathan Crouchley, Clackamas senior, defensive back

Honorable mention

Blake Baker, Clackamas senior, quarterback; Max Kirsch, senior, wide receiver; Parker Harrison, Clackamas senior, wide receiver; Boone Standley, Nelson junior, offensive line; Logan Wacker, Clackamas senior, defensive line; Dominic Macon, Nelson sophomore, defensive line; Matthew Snyder, Clackamas senior, defensive line; Alex Leontyuk, Nelson junior, linebacker; Alex Nita, Nelson senior, linebacker/punter; Luke Womack, Nelson junior, defensive back; Vlade Thilavanh, Nelson senior, defensive back; Adam Whitman, Clackamas senior, kicker


Superlative awards

Kali Lukovich, Nelson senior, Co-Player of the Year; Lisa Flaherty-McBee, Nelson head coach, Coach of the Year

PMG PHOTO: ANDY DIECKHOFF - Seven players from the Nelson Hawks volleyball team were named to the All-Mt. Hood Conference team, including senior Kali Lukovich (middle), who was named as one of the Co-Players of the Year.

First team

Kali Lukovich, Nelson senior, all around; Halsey Brumitt, Clackamas senior, all around; Madi Andrews, Nelson freshman, hitter; Amelia Eubanks, Nelson junior, setter; Zoë Szczesniak, Nelson senior, libero

Second team

Maddy Abraham, Nelson senior, hitter; Kaylie Christopher, Nelson senior, hitter; Morgan Fetty, Clackamas sophomore, setter

Honorable mention

Summer Artman, Clackamas senior, hitter; Erin Taylor, Clackamas senior, hitter; Shanah Denham, Nelson senior, defensive specialist

Boys soccer

Second team

Paul Bachinsky, Clackamas senior, forward; Gavin Ripley, Clackamas senior, midfielder; Mason Khamsouthavong, Clackamas junior, defender; Zach Nguyen, Clackamas senior, defender; Daniel Miramon, Nelson sophomore, goalkeeper

PMG PHOTO: ANDY DIECKHOFF - Clackamas goalkeeper Bryson Cabine (21) and defenders Zach Nguyen (6) and Mason Khamsouthavong (5) were all named to the All-Mt. Hood Conference teams.

Honorable mention

Luke Farley, Clackamas junior, midfielder; Soren Matsuoka, Nelson junior, defender; Eiden Kato, Nelson senior, defender; Bryson Cabine, Clackamas junior, goalkeeper

Girls soccer

Superlative awards

Lola McArthur, Nelson senior, Goalkeeper of the Year

First team

Piper Goss, Clackamas senior, forward; Kasia Lopez, Clackamas freshman, midfielder; Lola McArthur, Nelson senior, goalkeeper

PMG PHOTO: ANDY DIECKHOFF - Clackamas senior Regina Diaz-Garcia, shown here helping the cross country team qualify for state, was named to the All-Mt. Hood Conference girls soccer team.

Second team

Maddie Haggart, Nelson sophomore, forward; Emelia Puerta, Nelson senior, forward; Lexi Boyer, Nelson senior, midfielder; Aubrey McAllister, Clackamas junior, defender; Lauryn Nguyen, Clackamas junior, defender; Adrianna Sale, Nelson senior, defender

Honorable mention

Alondra Villanueva-Dunn, Clackamas senior, midfielder; Regina Diaz-Garcia, Clackamas senior, midfielder; Tessa Pham, Nelson sophomore, midfielder; Jaisa Juliano, Nelson junior, defender

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top