Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The Oregon Health Authority also announced 344 new cases of COVID-9 but no deaths on Friday, July 3.

PMG FILE PHOTO - State inspectors will be doing spot checks in bars and restaurants over the 4th of July Weekend.Oregon Liquor Control Commission and Oregon Occupational Safety & Health Administration announced they would make spot checks of bars as restaurant on Friday as state health officials announced 344 new cases of COVID-19.

Inspectors from both agencies intend to enforce Oregon Gov. Kate Brown's new order that people wear masks in indoor public spaces to slow the spread of the novel coronavirus. The order, which once encompassed only eight of Oregon's 36 counties, now includes the entire state.

"We want to make sure our licensees maintain their diligence this holiday weekend and not be complacent," said Steve Marks, OLCC executive director. "Quite frankly the health of Oregonians and the ability for bars and restaurants to stay open is dependent on it."

Where there is a clear violation of Oregon law or OLCC rules, the commission will take administrative action against the licensee. If inspectors observe violations of social distancing requirements outside the commission's enforcement authority, the agency will report that information to Oregon OSHA for action.

The Oregon Health Authority did not report any new deaths on July 3, leaving the state total at 209. But the 344 new cases is the second highest ever reported, behind the 375 reported on Thursday, July 2. The state total is now 9,636.

Brown also identified eight counties that will be placed on a "Watch List" based on these data: Jefferson, Lake, Lincoln, Malheur, Morrow, Umatilla, Union and Wasco counties. State and local health officials will monitor the situation in these counties closely in coming days and will prioritize additional resources to suppress the virus in these hotspot communities.

Friday's new confirmed and presumptive COVID-19 cases were reported in the following counties: Benton (7), Clackamas (22), Clatsop (1), Columbia (3), Coos (1), Crook (1), Deschutes (9), Douglas (1), Jackson (9), Jefferson (5), Josephine (3), Klamath (2), Lake (1), Lane (16), Lincoln (18), Linn (2), Malheur (20), Marion (32), Morrow (10), Multnomah (59), Polk (5), Sherman (1), Tillamook (1), Umatilla (49), Union (8), Wasco (10), Washington (46), and Yamhill (1).

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top