Forest Grove, Cornelius and Banks' mayors are running unopposed, but several council seats are contested.

STAFF PHOTO: MARK MILLER - The Nov. 6 election is coming up, and several local cities have published the final lists of candidates who have been certified to appear on the ballot.The candidate filing period has closed in western Washington County's cities for the Nov. 6 general election.

Forest Grove will see a crowded field for three seats on its City Council, with six candidates being certified for the ballot, including all three incumbent officeholders up for re-election. However, Forest Grove Mayor Pete Truax will not face another challenger on the ballot, so — barring a major surprise involving write-in votes — it appears he will be re-elected for another term in November.

Three candidates have certified to run for two open seats on the Cornelius City Council. Neither incumbent councilor, Harley Crowder or Jose Orozco, filed to seek another four-year term. Cornelius Mayor Jef Dalin is seeking re-election; like Truax, he drew no challenger before the close of the filing deadline Tuesday evening, Aug. 28.

In Banks, there will be no contested City Council races. Banks Mayor Pete Edison is running unopposed, as is Councilor Mark Gregg in Position 5. Two active city volunteers are running for the two seats being vacated by Councilor Dan Keller (Position 1) and Councilor Mark Walsh (Position 3).

North Plains has four candidates running for three City Council seats, including two incumbent councilors. Councilor Larry Gonzales is not seeking re-election. North Plains Mayor Teri Lenahan is not up for re-election until 2020.

The candidate filing period in Gaston closed this week, but the city recorder has not yet provided a list of certified candidates.

Forest Grove

Candidates for Forest Grove City Council who have been certified to appear on the ballot:

• Solomon Clapshaw, Community Forestry Commission student liaison and high school senior

• Devon Downeysmith, Committee for Community Involvement member and marketing consultant

• Tom "TJ" Johnston, city councilor and retired police officer

• Karen Reynolds, Committee for Community Involvement member and healthcare professional

• Ronald Thompson, city councilor and retired forester

• Malynda Wenzl, city councilor and schoolteacher

In Forest Grove, the top three vote-getters will be declared as elected to the three seats currently held by Johnston, Thompson and Wenzl.


Candidates for Cornelius City Council who have been certified to appear on the ballot:

• John Colgan, schoolteacher

• Andrew E. Dudley, security officer

• Luis Hernandez, planning commissioner and emergency management official

In Cornelius, the top two vote-getters will be declared as elected to the two seats currently held by Crowder and Orozco.


Candidates for Banks City Council who have been certified to appear on the ballot:

Position 1: Marsha Kirk, planning commissioner, economic development commissioner and school bus driver

Position 3: Erica Harold-Heine, budget committee member, economic development commissioner and IT manager

Position 5: Mark Gregg, city councilor

In Banks, city councilors are elected by position rather than from a single list.

North Plains

Candidates for North Plains City Council who have been certified to appear on the ballot:

• Garth Eimers, city councilor and retired fire chief

• James Fage, planning commissioner and high-tech worker

• Sherrie Simmons, city councilor and healthcare director

• Rickey Smith, Parks & Recreation Board member and produce buyer

In North Plains, the top three vote-getters will be declared as elected to the three seats currently held by Eimers, Gonzales and Simmons.

Elsewhere and beyond

The Hillsboro City Council features two contested races this fall.

All of Washington County will be asked to select the new chairperson of Oregon's second-most populous county in November as well. Metro Councilor Kathryn Harrington was the top vote-getter in May, but she did not clear 50 percent of the total vote. She'll face off with runner-up Bob Terry, the county commissioner who represents western Washington County on the Board of Commissioners now, on the November ballot.

In state races, several local legislators face challenges for re-election. State Rep. Deborah Boone is not seeking another term, meaning that House District 32 — which covers parts of rural western Washington County as well as a swath of the North Coast — is an open-seat race.

Democratic Gov. Kate Brown is also seeking re-election. She is challenged by state Rep. Knute Buehler, the Republican nominee, and political newcomer Patrick Starnes, the Independent Party of Oregon nominee.

Like all other seats in the U.S. House of Representatives, Oregon's First Congressional District is up for grabs on Nov. 6 as well. U.S. Rep. Suzanne Bonamici, a Democrat, is seeking a fourth full term. Republicans nominated perennial candidate John Verbeek to run against Bonamici.

By Mark Miller
Editor, Forest Grove News-Times
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Follow me on Twitter
Visit us on Facebook
Subscribe to our E-News

Quality local journalism takes time and money, which comes, in part, from paying readers. If you enjoy articles like this one, please consider supporting us.
(It can cost as little as 3 cents a day.)

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine