Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



One senator seeks statewide office; three representatives are retiring after a decade or more of service. Filing deadline is March 10 for the May 19 party primaries.

Four state legislative seats in Washington County being vacated by incumbents are drawing the most candidates so far for the May 19 primary.

With about two months left before the filing deadline at 5 p.m. March 10, competitors are emerging for the open seats in Senate District 14 and House districts 28, 33 and 35. Parts of three districts are within other counties.

Incumbents are running in most other districts that take in parts of Washington County.

For all seats, registered Democrats and Republicans choose their candidates in the primary. Independent Party of Oregon has opened its primary to nonaffiliated voters.

Minor-party candidates qualify by a different process for the Nov. 3 general election.

The Democratic primary in Senate District 14 has drawn Kate Lieber of Portland and Dick Schouten of Beaverton. Lieber is an instructor at Portland Community College and a former Multnomah County deputy district attorney. Schouten, also a lawyer, is vacating his District 1 seat on the Washington County Board of Commissioners, where he has served almost 20 years.

Democratic incumbent Mark Hass of Raleigh Hills is leaving the Senate after 13 years to run for Oregon secretary of state.

Two veteran Democratic representatives, Jeff Barker of Aloha and Mitch Greenlick of Portland, are retiring, each having served 18 years. Democratic Rep. Margaret Doherty of Tigard also is retiring after more than 10 years in the House.

Greenlick's seat in District 33, which covers Northwest Portland and unincorporated communities north of Beaverton, has drawn four candidates so far in the Democratic primary.

Serin Bussell, a geologist by training, was most recently chief of staff to Sen. Jeff Golden, D-Ashland. Maxine Dexter is a physician with Kaiser Permanente. Andy Saultz is a professor at Pacific University. Christina Stephenson is a civil rights lawyer.

No Republican has filed.

Barker's seat in District 28, which covers Aloha and part of Beaverton, has drawn three candidates so far in the Democratic primary. No Republican has filed.

Alisa Blum and Raman Velji are business owners. Wlnsvey Campos is a case manager for Family Promise of Beaverton, which offers shelter for families as a transition to permanent housing.

Doherty's seat in District 35, which covers Tigard and part of Multnomah County, has drawn three Democrats and a Republican so far.

The Democrats are Keenan Casavant, a business development manager; Dacia Grayber of Tigard, a firefighter and paramedic for Tualatin Valley Fire & Rescue, and Terri Riggsby of Tigard, executive director of the Tryon Creek Watershed Council and chair of the West Multnomah Soil and Water Conservation District. The Republican is Bob Niemeyer of Tigard, a self-employed engineer who lost to Doherty in 2018.

Filings in other Washington County legislative races as of 6 p.m. Monday, Jan. 13. Incumbents are listed first.

• Senate District 18 (includes Tigard): Ginny Burdick of Portland, Democratic incumbent, seeks seventh term.

• House District 26 (includes Wilsonville): Courtney Neron of Wilsonville, Democratic incumbent, seeks a second term; Republican Larry McDonald of Wilsonville.

• House District 27: Sheri Schouten of Beaverton, Democratic incumbent, seeks a third term.

• House District 29: Susan McLain of Forest Grove, Democratic incumbent, seeks a fourth term.

• House District 30: No filings, although Democratic incumbent Janeen Sollman of Hillsboro is expected to seek a third term.

• House District 31: Republicans William Spencer of Clatskanie and Brian Stout of St. Helens. Democratic incumbent Brad Witt of Clatskanie, who is in his eighth term, has not filed so far.

• House District 32: Tiffiny Mitchell of Astoria, Democratic incumbent, seeks a second term; Republicans Vineeta Lower of Seaside, Suzanne Weber of Tillamook.

• House District 34: Ken Helm of Beaverton, Democratic incumbent, seeks a fourth term.

• House District 37 (includes Tualatin): Rachel Prusak of West Linn, Democratic incumbent, seeks a second term; Republican Ron Garcia of West Linn.

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

NOTE: Adds filings for House districts 31 and 32, small parts of which are in Washington County. Adds a Democratic candidate in House District 35 and a Republican candidate in House District 32. Adds Democratic candidates in House District 28; corrects misspelling.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework