Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



County will have tax measures and nonpartisan offices; major parties will choose nominees for Nov. 3 election.

PMG PHOTO BY PETER WONG - The electronic display board at the Oregon Capitol as candidate filings closed on Tuesday, March 10, for the May 19 election. Western Washington County voters will decide tax measures and nonpartisan candidates for county offices, and major parties will choose nominees for the Oregon Legislature, statewide and federal offices.These candidates and ballot measures will appear on the May 19 primary election ballot in western Washington County. Incumbents are listed first. In nonpartisan races, if no one wins a majority in the primary, the top two finishers advance to the Nov. 3 general election. In partisan races, the winning nominees of the major parties advance to the general election; minor-party candidates qualify by a different process.

Only registered Democrats can vote on Democratic nominees, and registered Republicans on Republican nominees. Deadline for party registration for the primary is April 28.

This list excludes federal and statewide offices.

Washington County

(Nonpartisan, four years except as indicated)

Sheriff: Pat Garrett, incumbent, seeking third full term; Red Wortham.

Commissioner, District 1: Manuel Castaneda of Beaverton; Nafisa Fai of Aloha; Jeff Hindley of Beaverton. Five-term incumbent Dick Schouten of Beaverton is running for the Oregon Senate.

Circuit Court Position 5 (six years): Steven Charles Burke; Edward Kroll; Kelly Lemarr; Ron Ridehalgh. Incumbent Keith Raines is retiring.

Circuit Court, other positions: Incumbents Rebecca Guptill (2), Andrew Erwin (7), Ricardo Menchaca (8), Brandon Thompson (10) and Beth Roberts (12) are unopposed for new six-year terms.

Measure 34-296: Proposes five-year local-option levy of 47 cents per $1,000 for public safety services.

Measure 34-297: Proposes five-year local-option levy of 22 cents per $1,000 for countywide library services.

Metro Council

Pending ballot measure: Proposes tax on incomes exceeding $125,000 (single filer) and $200,000 (joint filers) and business profits exceeding $5 million to generate money for homeless services. There are two pending challenges to the summary known as a ballot title, so the measure is pending in the parts of the three counties within the Metro boundaries.

Oregon Senate

(Four-year term)

District 14 (Aloha; part of Beaverton; part of Multnomah County)

Democrats: Kate Lieber of Portland; Dick Schouten of Beaverton. Democratic incumbent Mark Hass of Raleigh Hills is running for Oregon secretary of state.

Republican: Harmony Mulkey of Aloha.

Districts 15 and 16 are not up for election this cycle.

Oregon House

(Two-year terms)

District 28 (Part of Beaverton; Aloha)

Democrats: Alisa Blum, Jacob Bride, Wlnsvey Campos, all of Aloha; Raman Velji of Beaverton. Democratic incumbent Jeff Barker of Aloha is retiring after 18 years.

Republican: Daniel Martin of Beaverton.

District 29 (Part of Hillsboro; Forest Grove, Cornelius)

Democrat: Susan McLain of Forest Grove, incumbent, seeking fourth term.

Republican: David Dowler, Dale Fishback, both of Hillsboro.

District 30 (Part of Hillsboro; North Plains)

Democrat: Janeen Sollman of Hillsboro, incumbent, seeking third term.

Republican: Darrell Gulstrom of Hillsboro.

District 31 (Banks; Columbia County and part of Multnomah County)

Democrat: Brad Witt of Clatskanie, incumbent, seeking ninth term.

Republicans: William Spencer of Clatskanie; Brian Stout of Columbia City.

District 32 (Clatsop County and parts of Washington and Multnomah counties)

Democrats: George Klepke of Astoria; Debbie Boothe-Schmidt of Warrenton. Democratic incumbent Tiffiny Mitchell of Astoria is leaving after one term.

Republican: Vinetta Lower of Seaside; Suzanne Weber of Tillamook.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top