Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



Hilhi's Nate Smith and head coach Dan Shuff are honored as league defensive player, coach of the year.

PMG PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Hillsboro's Nate Smith during a game this past season. Smith was a first team all-league offensive and defensive selection, and was selected the league Defensive Player of the Year.No state titles, but a winning record and a couple of postseason bids left Forest Grove and Hillsboro High School decorated with a wealth of All-League honors in the recently released Special District #1 West All-Star Selections.

In all, the two teams combined for 25 honorees — 10 first-teamers, 10 second-teamers and five honorable mentions.

Hillsboro led the way with eight first-team selections, in addition to second-year head coach Dan Shuff being named Coach of the Year, while senior defensive end Nate Smith earned Defensive Player of the Year honors.

Shuff led the Spartans to a 6-4 overall record, 4-2 league record and third-place league finish. Hillsboro started slow, losing three of their first four games, but battled back to win four straight league games to end the regular season. The Spartans then defeated Hood River Valley in a league playoff before falling to eventual state runner-up Crater in the state playoffs' first round.

Smith was among five Spartan players to earn first-team honors in eight different positions. The senior was honored as both a tight end and down lineman, PMG PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Forest Grove's Dylan Straughan during a Vikings game this past season. Straughan was one of two Forest Grove players selected to the leagues first team.
and was joined on the first team by multiple honorees, including junior Slade Shufelt (down lineman, running back) and senior Tristan Keffer (safety, returner), along with senior linebacker Elian Lopez-Arana and senior wide receiver Scott Ellis.

Spartan second-teamers included Keffer again at wide receiver, junior down lineman Dillon Condit, senior linebacker Trevor Schubmehl, senior quarterback Kane Kiaunis, senior running back Thomas Johnson, senior punter Jesus Ortiz and senior placekicker Jonathan Verdis.

Forest Grove, who finished the season with an overall record of 4-5 and a fourth-place finish in league play, garnered 10 honorees, including two first-teamers, three second-teamers and five honorable mentions.

First-teamers included senior defensive back Dylan Straughan and senior linebacker Caleb Silva. Both were key contributors to a Vikings' resurrection over the last two years, one which entailed two postseason appearances following a two-year stretch that saw Forest Grove win but one game.

In addition to Straughan and Silva, second-team honorees included junior down lineman Shane Parrow, senior linebacker Gavin Rice and senior wide receiver Cameron Ulloa.

PMG PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Hillsboro's Tristan Keffer.Vikings selected as honorable mention included senior Cameron Bennett, who got the nod as both a down lineman and tight end, senior Joe Wilson at safety, senior quarterback Jarod Miller and senior punter Sage Perrin.

In all, Wilsonville garnered the most honors, grabbing 19 overall honorees, while Scappoose had 16 overall selections, including eight first-teamers.

In addition to Smith and Shuff, Wilsonville's Jayce Knapp was selected Offensive Player of the Year, while Cleveland's Venly Tatafu was the league's Lineman of the Year.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework