Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



The Braves put 11 on the Cowapa League's list of honorees, Greyhounds seven in the Northwest League.

PMG PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Banks' Jarred Evans during a game against Valley Catholic this past season. Evans was selected as the Cowapa League's Offensive Player of the Year.Win a league title, 22 straight games, and play your way into the OSAA 4A State Championship Game, and you likely have a wealth of pretty good players.

Banks did that, and those players, along with a handful of Gaston gridders were recognized recently on the Cowapa and Northwest League all-star teams.

Banks garnered 11 Cowapa League selections, including sweeping the offensive, defensive, kicker and coach of the year awards. In all, the Braves had six offensive honorees and five on the defensive side of the ball.

PMG PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Austin LeisegangOffensive selections included senior wide receivers Jarred Evans and Jacob Slifka, who combined to catch 116 balls for nearly 2,000 yards and 26 touchdowns; senior center Andrew Nichols, senior offensive tackle Walker Copley, senior running back Martial Stegemeier, who carried 152 times for 974 yards and 14 touchdowns, averaging 6.4 yards per carry; and senior quarterback Tanner Shook, who completed 67 percent of his throws for 2,299 yards and 27 touchdowns, while throwing just nine interceptions.

Defensively, the Braves were represented by senior linebacker Bryson Cook, senior defensive lineman Risdon White, and defensive backs, senior Gabe Streblow, along with Evans and Slifka again.

Cook was selected as the Cowapa PMG PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Bryson CookDefensive Player of the Year. The linebacker led Banks with 117 tackles, 23 of which were for a loss, along with 3.5 sacks.

Evans, who caught 61 balls for 926 yards and 11 touchdowns — in addition to carrying the ball 28 times for 92 yards and completing 23 of 35 pass attempts for 354 yards and two touchdowns — was named the league's Offensive Player of the Year.

Slifka was voted Kicker of the Year after converting nine of 12 field goal attempts and 49 of his 54 PATs.

Banks head coach Cole Linehan was selected as the Co-Coach of the Year along with Seaside's Aaron Tanabe for the second consecutive year.

In the Northwest League, Gaston — who finished 3-6 overall and fifth in the league standings — boasted seven all-league honorees, including three second team selections and four honorable mention.

PMG PHOTO: CHRISTOPHER OERTELL - Jacob SlifkaSecond team selections included sophomore linebacker Dylan Tallent, junior defensive back Forrest Burlingham and sophomore running back Jaden Dolan.

Honorable mention selections included sophomore defensive lineman John Garner, sophomore running back Austin Leisegang, sophomore tight end Jason Ruiz and senior offensive lineman Elijah Bryant-Wall.

The entire list of Cowapa League honorees is below:

2019 Class 4A - Special District 1- All-League Football Team


WR Jarred Evans Banks 5'10" 165 SR

WR Jacob Slifka Banks 6'5" 180 SR

WR Kaleb Boomer Tillamook 6'0" 175 SR

WR Tristan Boyle Astoria 5'8" 145 SR

C Andrew Nichols Banks 5'9" 190 SR

C Nathan Lulay Valley Catholic 6'2" 240 JR

OG William Droessler Valley Catholic 6'2" 225 JR

OG David Toyooka Seaside 5'8" 200 SR

OG Brady Laccino Molalla 5'10" 235 JR

OT Walker Copley Banks 6'1" 255 SR

OT Perry Reeder Tillamook 6'4" 270 SR

TE Kellen Shelley Tillamook 6'3" 190 SR

TE Will French Valley Catholic 6'3" 220 JR

RB William Eberhart Valley Catholic 5'9" 200 SR

RB Andrew Teubner Seaside 5'8" 170 JR

RB Damian PIngo Molalla 5'8" 170 SR

RB Afanasy Kutsev Molalla 5'10" 175 SR

RB Martial Stegemeir Banks 5'10" 178 SR

RB Aedyn Cook Seaside 5'11" 175 JR

QB Daniel Pruitt Valley Catholic 6'3" 205 SR

QB Tanner Shook Banks 6'0" 170 SR

Kicker of the Year:

Jacob Slifka Banks 6'5" 180 SR

Offensive Player of the Year:

WR Jarred Evans Banks 5'10" 165 SR

2019 Class 4A - Special District 1- All-League Football Team


DB Afanasy Kutsev Molalla 5'10" 175 SR

DB Gabe Streblow Banks 5'10" 165 SR

DB Jarred Evans Banks 5'10" 165 SR

DB Jacob Slifka Banks 6'5" 180 SR

LB Levi Card Seaside 5'10" 175 SR

LB Andrew Teubner Seaside 5'8" 170 JR

LB Lawson Talamantez Seaside 5'10" 195 SO

LB Alex Werner Tillamook 5'10" 180 SR

LB Miquel Neimi Tillamook 5'10" 180 JR

LB Bryson Cook Banks 6'0" 210 SR

LB James Baglai Valley Catholic 6'0" 190 SR

LB Damian PIngo Molalla 5'8" 170 SR

LB Jacob Nix Molalla 6'3" 210 SR

LB Ebin Hillard Astoria 5'11" 185 SR

DL David Toyooka Seaside 5"8" 200 SR

DL Luke Nelson Seaside 6'1" 210 SR

DL Risdon White Banks 5'11" 235 SR

DL Aiden Johnson Tillamook 6'0" 220 SO

Punter of the Year:

Kaleb Boomer Tillamook 6'0" 175 SR

Defensive Player of the Year:

LB Bryson Cook Banks 6'0" 210 SR

Co-Coaches of the Year:

Cole Linehan BANKS Aaron Tanabe SEASIDE

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework