Voters filled four seats up for grabs on the Mt. Hood Community College school board with all new faces, unseating two incumbents in Tuesday's election.

Teena Klawa/Ainslie won a four-year term with 1,890 votes, over Mark Callahan with 1,643. The seat was previously held by Todd Sloan, who did not run for reelection.

Incumbent Robert Coen, with 1,446 votes, was unseated by challenger Kenney Polson with 1,555 votes

for the four-year term on the MHCC board. Coen had been a director since 2011.

Incumbent Diane Noriega, chairman of the community college board, was unseated by Michael Calcagno for a four-year term. Calcagno had 10,115 votes to Noriega's 7,536 votes.

Nurse Tamie Arnold won her volunteer seat with 10,394 votes over to Fairview Mayor Ted Tosterud's 5,105 votes. MHCC faculty member Marshall Tuttle drew 3,948 votes. Incumbent Paul Cappell decided not to run for another term.

Eleven candidates ran for the four seats on the MHCC board as the college moves toward its 50th anniversary and considers how to upgrade its campus. The crowded field of candidates was on the ballot at a pivotal time for the college, as the school tries to keep costs to students affordable. In addition, a bond measure is being considered to bring the campus, built in the 1960s, into the 21st century.

Founded in 1966, the college serves more than 30,000 students, offering 120 academic programs.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine