Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

Our Opinion: Ad campaign offers some tough love, hard truths

Our Opinion: Ad campaign offers some tough love, hard truths

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The new series of Wieden+Kennedy ads on COVID-19 have been controversial. But it's a message we have to take to heart.
Evanson: Anyone for hopscotch?

Evanson: Anyone for hopscotch?

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Isolation is changing the way people entertain themselves, maybe even for the better.
From the Editor: New presentation, same commitment to local…

From the Editor: New presentation, same commitment to local…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Mark Miller explains the temporary changes coming to the weekly print edition, starting this Thursday.
Our Opinion: Where is the leadership?

Our Opinion: Where is the leadership?

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Gov. Kate Brown has acted, but slowly. At the federal level, some don't seem to be taking this crisis seriously.
Fruits: Tax relief can slow spread of financial panic

Fruits: Tax relief can slow spread of financial panic

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'People need cash, but they don't want handouts. And that's where state and local governments can help out. Now.'
Tan: Fear the racism pandemic uncovers in our communities

Tan: Fear the racism pandemic uncovers in our communities

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'We ought to try harder; to not let this fear cripple ourselves or our empathy.'
Letters to the Editor: March 25, 2020

Letters to the Editor: March 25, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Readers have thoughts on how local businesses, schools and churches are reacting to the coronavirus.
Evanson: In times like these, we can use some positivity

Evanson: In times like these, we can use some positivity

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The News-Times sports editor is putting together a bracket of all-time greats from western Washington County.
Our Opinion: Take social distancing seriously

Our Opinion: Take social distancing seriously

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Not everyone can stay home, but those who can should in order to reduce transmission of the coronavirus.
Kelly: Clinging to facts, not fear, in this age of health…

Kelly: Clinging to facts, not fear, in this age of health…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'You don't get to be my age ... without making some peace with the idea of dying.'
Disruption from virus won't stop our quality journalism

Disruption from virus won't stop our quality journalism

Portland Tribune - Opinion
Mark Garber is publisher of the Portland Tribune and president of Pamplin Media Group. You can reach him at [email protected]
Kane: Be prepared for coronavirus cons

Kane: Be prepared for coronavirus cons

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'With items selling out and production on others halted, scammers and opportunists are looking to cash in.'
Greer: A lack of leadership at a time of crisis

Greer: A lack of leadership at a time of crisis

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'The time has finally come for all of us as a nation to admit that Donald Trump was the wrong choice to lead our country.'
Letters to the Editor: March 18, 2020

Letters to the Editor: March 18, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Readers share their thoughts on the shrieval election, cap-and-trade, the coronavirus pandemic and more.
Evanson: Our norm is under attack, and it's leaving a sea…

Evanson: Our norm is under attack, and it's leaving a sea…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
COVID-19 has had a tremendous impact on local sports, and while paling in comparison to its true dangers, the effects are truly sad.
Review: 'The Measure of Innocence' at The Vault talks…

Review: 'The Measure of Innocence' at The Vault talks…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The Bag&Baggage Productions' show will be at The Vault Theatre in Hillsboro through March 22.
Our Opinion: Accountability requires access to public…

Our Opinion: Accountability requires access to public…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Sunshine Week is an opportunity to highlight the importance of open government.
O'Connell-Long: Follow guidance from health authorities on…

O'Connell-Long: Follow guidance from health authorities on…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'During an outbreak, it becomes even more important for us to protect our communities and the providers...'
Byrd: Support new approach to battling addiction

Byrd: Support new approach to battling addiction

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'While it can't erase the inequities I have encountered, it will help stop them in the future.'
Letters to the Editor: March 11, 2020

Letters to the Editor: March 11, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Readers write to us about a local couple's COVID-19 story, the legislative session and more.
Evanson: Lillard following Drexler's trail in Blazers lore

Evanson: Lillard following Drexler's trail in Blazers lore

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The News-Times sports editor says Clyde the Glide is still the greatest Trail Blazer, but maybe not for much longer.
Our Opinion: Be responsible and stay safe as coronavirus…

Our Opinion: Be responsible and stay safe as coronavirus…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Use common sense and practice basic hygiene. This virus needs to be taken seriously, but don't panic.
Currie: Faith, science offer politicians wisdom on climate…

Currie: Faith, science offer politicians wisdom on climate…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Religious bodies nearly uniformly support measures to protect God's creation.'
Charles: The grid is not a tinker toy

Charles: The grid is not a tinker toy

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'We are on the brink of a blackout crisis. Instead ... state legislators have wasted the 2020 short session.'
Hayes: Oregon forests are at a crossroads

Hayes: Oregon forests are at a crossroads

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'...The deeper issue is the future of democracy and the character and culture of this state.'
Sollman, Prusak & Keny-Guyer: Gun storage bill will save…

Sollman, Prusak & Keny-Guyer: Gun storage bill will save…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'...Responsible Oregon gun owners ... understand that with rights come responsibilities.'
Webb: Electric vehicles have many advantages

Webb: Electric vehicles have many advantages

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Yes, a Tesla is expensive, but have you priced a new full-size pickup lately?'
Letters to the Editor: March 4, 2020

Letters to the Editor: March 4, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Readers have different perspectives on cap-and-trade and the Republican walkout, among other topics.
Evanson: Ionescu, Thorns are evidence women's sports is…

Evanson: Ionescu, Thorns are evidence women's sports is…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
All sports fans should be happy to see women's sports getting more attention.
Our Opinion: Metro in an uncharacteristic rush

Our Opinion: Metro in an uncharacteristic rush

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The regional government abandoned its usual deliberative process and made mistakes on the way to a May vote.

Bonamici & Cruz: Virginia Garcia's work needs…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Bonamici & Cruz: Virginia Garcia's work needs…
'Despite all of the good work at Virginia Garcia, we know there is still unmet need.'

Trainor, Becker & Hertel-Fernandez: On 'mandatory…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Trainor, Becker & Hertel-Fernandez: On 'mandatory…
'Business leaders should not be able to use their workplaces to further entrench their political clout.'

Kane: Current economic climate right for small…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Kane: Current economic climate right for small…
'The takeaway for business owners and entrepreneurs: the lending space is going digital.'

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 26, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 26, 2020
Readers write in about climate change, political discourse and disinformation, and more.

Evanson: Wrestling. Love it or hate it, you've got…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Evanson: Wrestling. Love it or hate it, you've got…
It'll be pure passion at the state wrestling tournament this Friday and Saturday at the Memorial Coliseum.

Review: "A Midsummer Night's Dream" at HART brings…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Review:
The comedy will be at the Hillsboro Artists' Regional Theatre through March 1.

Our Opinion: Homeless tax idea needs a lot more…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our Opinion: Homeless tax idea needs a lot more…
It's a worthy goal, but Metro has yet to answer questions about the role it will play and what effect the tax would have.

Pihl: Cap-and-trade will hurt rural Oregon jobs

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Pihl: Cap-and-trade will hurt rural Oregon jobs
'If you add the costs of a new cap-and-trade bill to the corporate activity tax ... companies like mine won't make it.'

Dannen: Climate misinformers seek to divide us

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Dannen: Climate misinformers seek to divide us
'...We are all going to have to make sacrifices and pay the price for our ignorance.'

Kane: Protect yourself amid wedding-season woes

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Kane: Protect yourself amid wedding-season woes
'If you're one of those couples planning a wedding, be sure the season of love lasts all the way to the wedding day.'

Williams: Human trafficking victims need support

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Williams: Human trafficking victims need support
'Pursuing justice in human trafficking is not just about holding traffickers accountable.'

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 19, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 19, 2020
This week's letters include more thoughts on the State of the City and the Columbia River Crossing.

Evanson: Mighty Manfred strikes out on Houston…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Evanson: Mighty Manfred strikes out on Houston…
The News-Times' sports editor excoriates Major League Baseball's top dog for letting Houston off the hook.

Our Opinion: Blazers can honor Bryant by rekindling…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our Opinion: Blazers can honor Bryant by rekindling…
Following National Girls and Women in Sports Day, we argue it's time to bring the WNBA back to Oregon.

Botteri: President misses the point of prayer

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Botteri: President misses the point of prayer
'Let us praise the prayers of Italian Catholic grandmothers. Trump should feel honored and thankful to Nancy Pelosi.'

Stride: On climate change and western Oregon

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Stride: On climate change and western Oregon
'As a boy growing up in western Oregon in the mid-1970s, I witnessed a much cooler and damper climate than we have now.'

Gurr: Forest Grove and the 5G imperative

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Gurr: Forest Grove and the 5G imperative
'...To ensure that the U.S. and Oregon are at the forefront of 5G, certain regulatory barriers must be addressed.'

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 12, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 12, 2020
This week's mailbag includes responses to News-Times opinion pieces and President Donald Trump's State of the Union.

Evanson: What's the fascination with Pete Rose?

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Evanson: What's the fascination with Pete Rose?
Sure, he belongs in the Hall of Fame, but in this sports editor's eyes, he is a deserving pariah.

Our Opinion: After 'season of giving' comes the…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our Opinion: After 'season of giving' comes the…
Homeless shelters and service providers, among other charitable causes in Washington County, still need support.

Clark Lompa: State of the City's new meaning in…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Clark Lompa: State of the City's new meaning in…
'The State of the City needs to include our problems as well as our successes.'

Aartsen: As Hillsboro grows, its leaders shrink…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Aartsen: As Hillsboro grows, its leaders shrink…
'We belatedly became aware that uninhibited growth will destroy our environment.'

Bishara: Retail licenses limit youth tobacco use

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Bishara: Retail licenses limit youth tobacco use
'A local community has the right and responsibility to protect its children from the addictive effects of nicotine.'

Evanson: Women want a fair shake. They're closer to…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Evanson: Women want a fair shake. They're closer to…
In this week's column, the News-Times sports editor finds reason for optimism about the state of women's sports.

Our Opinion: Local businesses, love 'em or lose 'em

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our Opinion: Local businesses, love 'em or lose 'em
We all like having small businesses around. But without loyal customers, they struggle to compete.

Kane: The saga of the local coffee shop

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Kane: The saga of the local coffee shop
'In order to truly make money as a business owner, you must consider opening multiple shops.'

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 29, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Jan. 29, 2020
One reader offers a wish for a calmer legislative session this year. Another decries the state of homelessness.

Our Opinion: 'Short session' looms on February…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our Opinion: 'Short session' looms on February…
Beyond the legislation expected to be on the table, Oregon is bracing for another work stoppage in Salem.

Lynde: ODOT preps year-round for winter storms

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Lynde: ODOT preps year-round for winter storms
'The preparations for our winter operations go on year-round. Our crews have their jobs, but winter is never far away.'

Dawson: Rural Oregon subsidizing Teslas for urban…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Dawson: Rural Oregon subsidizing Teslas for urban…
'Purchasing an EV ... isn't a viable option for many residents living in rural counties.'

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by JoomlaShine.com | powered by JSN Sun Framework