Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

Edmundson & Ramana: Nuclear power doesn't fit with Green…

Edmundson & Ramana: Nuclear power doesn't fit with Green…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'This is as it should be, for GND proposals also emphasize considerations having to do with ethics and equity.'
Kearns Moore: Make police misconduct records public

Kearns Moore: Make police misconduct records public

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'It will take many bold reforms to restore ... trust. Adding more transparency and accountability must be among them.'
Barton: Address childhood trauma for criminal justice reform

Barton: Address childhood trauma for criminal justice reform

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'By the time a crime is committed and a victim is harmed, the root causes of that crime may have occurred long ago.'
Burton: Exercise and your immune system

Burton: Exercise and your immune system

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Exercise directly improves our bodies' abilities to fight infection and disease.'
Our Opinion: A generation for this moment

Our Opinion: A generation for this moment

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The world is a mess. Thankfully, our inspiring young students and graduates are on the case.
Scott & Haynes: Internet is critical lifeline for…

Scott & Haynes: Internet is critical lifeline for…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'...We are hoping to enable more people stay connected, informed, employed and, yes, even healthy.'
Winegar: A way forward

Winegar: A way forward

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'The police need to go beyond just listening.Rather than a fixed mindset, the police need to adopt a growth mindset.'
Field: Paycheck protection brings hope to small businesses

Field: Paycheck protection brings hope to small businesses

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'...I write to you, Oregonians, to say despite some bumps in the road, the PPP is working.'
Fruits: Era of permanent prosperity is over

Fruits: Era of permanent prosperity is over

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'We can't turn the public sector's budget problems into a private sector bankruptcy crisis.'
Smith: Bigger issues at play in Washington County justice

Smith: Bigger issues at play in Washington County justice

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Jail provides no solution to the host of underlying problems inmates present.'
Letters to the Editor: June 25, 2020

Letters to the Editor: June 25, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our mailbag includes concerns about pollution, common decency and presidential incompetence.
Our View: Pamplin papers change use of 'Black'

Our View: Pamplin papers change use of 'Black'

Portland Tribune - Opinion
AP style change focuses on being inclusive and respectful in news reporting and the evolution of language.
Garber: Journalism has never been more important

Garber: Journalism has never been more important

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
PRESIDENT'S COLUMN: As our reporters cover protests, disease and more in our cities and small towns, we need your help.
Our Opinion: Society poised to change for the better if we…

Our Opinion: Society poised to change for the better if we…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
There is a growing recognition that police cannot and should not be called to respond to every crisis.
Siah: Standing up and standing with the community

Siah: Standing up and standing with the community

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Without our Black community, we are no community, and we must educate ourselves and make our support heard.'
Boone: Oregon cities, frontline of COVID response, need…

Boone: Oregon cities, frontline of COVID response, need…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'We can and need to do better, but that cannot happen without a strong ... partnership on the state and federal level.'
Reimann: Psychology may be key to solving police problems

Reimann: Psychology may be key to solving police problems

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Completely disbanding or downsizing police agencies is not the answer. This is not a time to shoot from the political hip.'
Letters to the Editor: June 18, 2020

Letters to the Editor: June 18, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
A police chief weighs in on reform efforts, a community leader hails a protest rally and more.
My View: Open Oregon says make police misconduct records…

My View: Open Oregon says make police misconduct records…

Portland Tribune - Opinion
Open Oregon, a member of the National Freedom of Information Coalition, shares the frustration of those stymied in their efforts to hold police…
Our Opinion: COVID-19 hard to project, but Oregonians need…

Our Opinion: COVID-19 hard to project, but Oregonians need…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
As our state cautiously reopens and braces for more new cases, workers and businesses are still smarting.
Cottle: On discrimination and violence, we are all…

Cottle: On discrimination and violence, we are all…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'We have to engage in self-realization of our own faults and attitudes towards others.'
Brownell: Host homes help unaccompanied youth toward…

Brownell: Host homes help unaccompanied youth toward…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Host homes help break the cycle of houselessness by providing a footing for youth to achieve high school graduation...'
Rake: The struggle for a more perfect union continues

Rake: The struggle for a more perfect union continues

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'However far we've come since 1965, since 1775, the last 25 miles are, will be, the hardest.'
Smith: COVID-19 shutdown skews primary election results

Smith: COVID-19 shutdown skews primary election results

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Even with these two significant advantages, the incumbent failed to win an outright majority.'
Letters to the Editor: June 11, 2020

Letters to the Editor: June 11, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Readers write in about foster care, protests, and election reform in Oregon.
Our Opinion: Protest and policing in a plural democracy

Our Opinion: Protest and policing in a plural democracy

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
For millions of Americans, the system is broken. Our focus should be on fixing it, not punishing those who call it out.
Witt: Oregon still working to address unemployment claims

Witt: Oregon still working to address unemployment claims

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'We want to help and are willing and able to step up and do our best to help you obtain whatever benefits are owed you.'
Chiotti: We need to keep Oregon State Police in Columbia…

Chiotti: We need to keep Oregon State Police in Columbia…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Please write to our State Emergency Board and ask that we have adequate coverage for our area.'
De La Cruz: To rebuild education system, we must reckon…

De La Cruz: To rebuild education system, we must reckon…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'The educational system is in chaos and will never be the same as it was prior to March 2020.'
Wilkens: Banks, credit unions adapt to 'new normal'

Wilkens: Banks, credit unions adapt to 'new normal'

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Almost every Oregonian has been forced to shift to online and mobile banking to handle many of their most common transactions.'

Letters to the Editor: June 4, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: June 4, 2020
Readers share their opinions on the coronavirus pandemic, social media, policing and more.

Our Opinion: Primary is prologue in many local races

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our Opinion: Primary is prologue in many local races
It'll be November before we know the full outcome of the 2020 election season, even in local government.

Wagner: A time of challenges, transitions and…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Wagner: A time of challenges, transitions and…
'This last week, my Democratic colleagues in the Senate elected me to serve as the Senate majority leader.'

Kane: BBB sees sharp uptick in price gouging reports

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Kane: BBB sees sharp uptick in price gouging reports
'Refrain from taking unfair advantage of a public emergency such as the coronavirus situation.'

Letters to the Editor: May 28, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: May 28, 2020
It was apparently Poetry Week on Portland's Westside; plus thoughts on jurisprudence, disease and volunteerism.

Pang: It's nice to be outside, but still better to…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Pang: It's nice to be outside, but still better to…
'...I realize this may be difficult for people as the weather has gotten nicer.'

Nordberg & Field: Economic lifeline to rural…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Nordberg & Field: Economic lifeline to rural…
'...America's hospitals and businesses have the grit and tenacity that make them strong.'

Moore: Connect your kids to class with financial…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Moore: Connect your kids to class with financial…
'Take advantage of this time at home to teach your kids how to make smart financial decisions.'

Letters to the Editor: May 21, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: May 21, 2020
Readers share their feelings about mail-in voting, Washington County's reopening and more.

Our Opinion: Elections are funny, important things

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our Opinion: Elections are funny, important things
Tuesday's results have some surprises and some cliffhangers. Mostly, we're glad Oregonians got to have their say.

Our Opinion: A new stage in our fight against the…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our Opinion: A new stage in our fight against the…
We have not beaten this disease. We will need to be cautious, and very patient, as we adapt to a 'new normal.'

Hillsboro City Council: Acting together to stop…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Hillsboro City Council: Acting together to stop…
'If we do not acknowledge, put name to, and directly address racism ... we will continue to perpetuate inequality.'

San Soucie: Charter gives insurance for Beaverton's…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
San Soucie: Charter gives insurance for Beaverton's…
'Council-manager is a very typical structure ... This puts you, the voter, more in control, not less.'

Pettit: Why you should vote in the primary election

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Pettit: Why you should vote in the primary election
'The current coronavirus crisis has made the need for good government abundantly clear.'

Rogers: Cancer doesn't stop, but neither do we

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Rogers: Cancer doesn't stop, but neither do we
'We are deeply concerned about the spread of COVID-19 and its impact on cancer patients...'

Kertis: Virus shows addiction stigma still exists

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Kertis: Virus shows addiction stigma still exists
'It's so ingrained in society that we still punish drug possession with jail time rather than treatment.'

Letters to the Editor (part one): May 14, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor (part one): May 14, 2020
Readers have their say in our final mailbag before the May 19, 2020, primary election.

Letters to the Editor (part 2): May 14, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor (part 2): May 14, 2020
We received so many letters from area readers before our Monday morning deadline, we have a second stack of them here.

Readers Letters: Who's hoarding all those garbanzo…

Portland Tribune - Opinion
Readers Letters: Who's hoarding all those garbanzo…
Letter writers from around the region take aim at COVID-19 pandemic, elections, candidate endorsements and, of course, hoarding.

ENDORSEMENT: Vote 'no' on Metro homeless measure

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
ENDORSEMENT: Vote 'no' on Metro homeless measure
Thanks to the pandemic, the timing couldn't be more wrong to raise taxes on individuals and businesses.

Prusak: A look inside one nurse's 'new normal'

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Prusak: A look inside one nurse's 'new normal'
'It was an entirely different patient care experience than I have ever encountered.'

Letters to the Editor: May 7, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: May 7, 2020
Readers write in about election issues and candidates, the pandemic, and protests.

The News-Times needs your support. GIVE TODAY

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The News-Times needs your support. GIVE TODAY
Tax-deductible donations made to the News-Times will help us continue telling these important stories.

ENDORSEMENT: Beaverton voters should stay the course

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
ENDORSEMENT: Beaverton voters should stay the course
We back Denny Doyle. His re-election means stability and strong leadership for Beaverton at a difficult juncture.

Darrah: Unfair taxes put local business under at a…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Darrah: Unfair taxes put local business under at a…
'Our locally owned independent business is now just another statistic ... strangled by unreasonable new taxes.'

Letters to the Editor: April 30, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: April 30, 2020
Our mailbag this week is filled with political letters and advice for giving back.

Our Opinion: This is not the end of all things,…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Our Opinion: This is not the end of all things,…
Times now are difficult to take. Make sure to counter all of the bad news with reminders of positivity and hope.

Greathouse: In times of crisis, I see you

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Greathouse: In times of crisis, I see you
'Greeting one another is the first step in human connection, even between strangers and passersby.'

Truax: Forest Grove responds to the coronavirus

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Truax: Forest Grove responds to the coronavirus
'...We have changed the way we do things in Forest Grove as well as the rest of Oregon.'

Letters to the Editor: April 23, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: April 23, 2020
Readers write in about the May elections, inappropriate pandemic behavior and more.

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by JoomlaShine.com | powered by JSN Sun Framework