Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.

Review:

Review: "A Midsummer Night's Dream" at HART brings the…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The comedy will be at the Hillsboro Artists' Regional Theatre through March 1.
Our Opinion: Homeless tax idea needs a lot more conversation

Our Opinion: Homeless tax idea needs a lot more conversation

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
It's a worthy goal, but Metro has yet to answer questions about the role it will play and what effect the tax would have.
Pihl: Cap-and-trade will hurt rural Oregon jobs

Pihl: Cap-and-trade will hurt rural Oregon jobs

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'If you add the costs of a new cap-and-trade bill to the corporate activity tax ... companies like mine won't make it.'
Dannen: Climate misinformers seek to divide us

Dannen: Climate misinformers seek to divide us

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'...We are all going to have to make sacrifices and pay the price for our ignorance.'
Kane: Protect yourself amid wedding-season woes

Kane: Protect yourself amid wedding-season woes

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'If you're one of those couples planning a wedding, be sure the season of love lasts all the way to the wedding day.'
Williams: Human trafficking victims need support

Williams: Human trafficking victims need support

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Pursuing justice in human trafficking is not just about holding traffickers accountable.'
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 19, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 19, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
This week's letters include more thoughts on the State of the City and the Columbia River Crossing.
Evanson: Mighty Manfred strikes out on Houston Astros…

Evanson: Mighty Manfred strikes out on Houston Astros…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
The News-Times' sports editor excoriates Major League Baseball's top dog for letting Houston off the hook.
Our Opinion: Blazers can honor Bryant by rekindling Fire

Our Opinion: Blazers can honor Bryant by rekindling Fire

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Following National Girls and Women in Sports Day, we argue it's time to bring the WNBA back to Oregon.
Botteri: President misses the point of prayer

Botteri: President misses the point of prayer

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Let us praise the prayers of Italian Catholic grandmothers. Trump should feel honored and thankful to Nancy Pelosi.'
Stride: On climate change and western Oregon

Stride: On climate change and western Oregon

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'As a boy growing up in western Oregon in the mid-1970s, I witnessed a much cooler and damper climate than we have now.'
Gurr: Forest Grove and the 5G imperative

Gurr: Forest Grove and the 5G imperative

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'...To ensure that the U.S. and Oregon are at the forefront of 5G, certain regulatory barriers must be addressed.'
Letters to the Editor: Feb. 12, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Feb. 12, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
This week's mailbag includes responses to News-Times opinion pieces and President Donald Trump's State of the Union.
Evanson: What's the fascination with Pete Rose?

Evanson: What's the fascination with Pete Rose?

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Sure, he belongs in the Hall of Fame, but in this sports editor's eyes, he is a deserving pariah.
Our Opinion: After 'season of giving' comes the rest of the…

Our Opinion: After 'season of giving' comes the rest of the…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Homeless shelters and service providers, among other charitable causes in Washington County, still need support.
Clark Lompa: State of the City's new meaning in Jackson…

Clark Lompa: State of the City's new meaning in Jackson…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'The State of the City needs to include our problems as well as our successes.'
Aartsen: As Hillsboro grows, its leaders shrink from their…

Aartsen: As Hillsboro grows, its leaders shrink from their…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'We belatedly became aware that uninhibited growth will destroy our environment.'
Bishara: Retail licenses limit youth tobacco use

Bishara: Retail licenses limit youth tobacco use

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'A local community has the right and responsibility to protect its children from the addictive effects of nicotine.'
Evanson: Women want a fair shake. They're closer to getting…

Evanson: Women want a fair shake. They're closer to getting…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
In this week's column, the News-Times sports editor finds reason for optimism about the state of women's sports.
Our Opinion: Local businesses, love 'em or lose 'em

Our Opinion: Local businesses, love 'em or lose 'em

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
We all like having small businesses around. But without loyal customers, they struggle to compete.
Kane: The saga of the local coffee shop

Kane: The saga of the local coffee shop

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'In order to truly make money as a business owner, you must consider opening multiple shops.'
Letters to the Editor: Jan. 29, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 29, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
One reader offers a wish for a calmer legislative session this year. Another decries the state of homelessness.
Our Opinion: 'Short session' looms on February calendar

Our Opinion: 'Short session' looms on February calendar

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Beyond the legislation expected to be on the table, Oregon is bracing for another work stoppage in Salem.
Lynde: ODOT preps year-round for winter storms

Lynde: ODOT preps year-round for winter storms

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'The preparations for our winter operations go on year-round. Our crews have their jobs, but winter is never far away.'
Dawson: Rural Oregon subsidizing Teslas for urban elite

Dawson: Rural Oregon subsidizing Teslas for urban elite

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
'Purchasing an EV ... isn't a viable option for many residents living in rural counties.'
Letters to the Editor: Jan. 22, 2020

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 22, 2020

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
This week, readers write in about legislative action, a dangerous stretch of highway and more.
Our Opinion: Chief's departure leaves unanswered questions

Our Opinion: Chief's departure leaves unanswered questions

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Forest Grove city officials are being awfully tight-lipped about something clearly in the public interest.
Stride: Planting riparian zones helps the Tualatin River

Stride: Planting riparian zones helps the Tualatin River

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The Tualatin River is only as healthy as the sum of the tributaries that empty into it.'
Witt: A time to honor law enforcement officials

Witt: A time to honor law enforcement officials

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'The death of a law enforcement officer devastates a family in many ways, emotionally and financially.'
Fruits: We need to think big on I-5 bridge project

Fruits: We need to think big on I-5 bridge project

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
'An I-5 replacement that does nothing to improve the flow of goods and people is a waste of money.'

Johnson: County turns its back on sound timber…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Johnson: County turns its back on sound timber…
'If only Washington and Tillamook County commissioners were as steadfast and true to their word as Clatsop County's.'

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 15, 2020

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Jan. 15, 2020
This week's letters express worries about 5G and frustration over impeachment.

From the Publisher: Don't worry. We're still here.

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
From the Publisher: Don't worry. We're still here.
'Unfortunately, the days are gone when we could count on our advertising to completely sustain us.'

Bates: Vietnam Vets another year older, still…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Bates: Vietnam Vets another year older, still…
'The Vietnam War Memorial on the Oregon State Capitol Grounds is needed sooner rather than later.'

Unander: Tell Wyden to stop holding up copyright…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Unander: Tell Wyden to stop holding up copyright…
'Violators are essentially free to reproduce, publish and profit from works they did not create and have no rights to.'

Frazier: OK boomer, it's time for 'the talk'

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Frazier: OK boomer, it's time for 'the talk'
'Rather than birds and bees, this generation needs to talk about wills and trustees.'

Review: STAGES' 'Chicago' at Hillsboro Artists'…

Forest Grove News-Times - Features
Review: STAGES' 'Chicago' at Hillsboro Artists'…
The show is bringing the heat and runs through Sunday, Jan. 19 at HART Theatre in Hillsboro.

Letters to the Editor: Jan. 8, 2020

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Jan. 8, 2020
Letter-writers express support for a bill to reduce carbon dioxide emissions.

Our Opinion: It could happen here

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: It could happen here
Oregon experienced devastating forest fires in 2017 and 2018. What is happening in Australia dwarfs them.

Field: 2010s were a decade of perseverence for…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Field: 2010s were a decade of perseverence for…
'Our economy and our communities wouldn't be what they are today without the perseverance of entrepreneurs.'

Kullberg: Don't use 'junk' science to guide policy

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Kullberg: Don't use 'junk' science to guide policy
'Covanta can no longer spin itself as the most climate-friendly alternative we have.'

Our Opinion: Our wishes for 2020

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: Our wishes for 2020
We wish for peace, sustainability and the good health of journalism in the New Year.

Kane: Oregon tourism is reaching new heights

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Kane: Oregon tourism is reaching new heights
'Vacasa ... has noticed an uptick in buyers wanting to purchase vacation homes throughout Oregon.'

Keeling & Nordahl: Spend funds for students wisely

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Keeling & Nordahl: Spend funds for students wisely
'Adequately staffing Oregon's schools -- in alignment with the statewide Quality Education Model -- matters to all of us.'

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 25, 2019

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Dec. 25, 2019
Our Christmas mailbag includes thoughts on public transit and the Oregon International Air Show.

Our Opinion: How do you measure a year?

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: How do you measure a year?
We consider the impact of 2019 and look ahead to 2020, the start of a new decade.

DeBuse: Strong community journalism starts with a…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
DeBuse: Strong community journalism starts with a…
'Without you, we don't have an audience for our work, or a business model to pay for it.'

Renard: For Oregon Cultural Trust, make it a double

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Renard: For Oregon Cultural Trust, make it a double
'Participating in the Oregon Cultural Trust tax credit program is the best way to give back...'

Freeman, Main & Pope: Ruling ensures sustained…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Freeman, Main & Pope: Ruling ensures sustained…
'This shift in policy, with the requirement of sustained yield management, will ensure ... access to the O&C lands.'

Inan: A number of reasons to celebrate Gert Boyle

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Inan: A number of reasons to celebrate Gert Boyle
'Thanks for all your contributions to our lives, Gertrude Boyle. I hope you rest in peace.'

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 18, 2019

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Dec. 18, 2019
A thought-provoking mailbag covers the possible benefits of yoga in schools and rising rural power rates.

Review: Bag&Baggage's latest show, 'The Game's…

Forest Grove News-Times - Features
Review: Bag&Baggage's latest show, 'The Game's…
Sherlock Holmes brings fun twist and holiday cheer to The Vault in Hillsboro.

Dawson: Transit plans reflect Metro's priorities,…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Dawson: Transit plans reflect Metro's priorities,…
'They are attempting to force their own transportation agenda on the region.'

Wyden: Artificial intelligence can lead to biased…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Wyden: Artificial intelligence can lead to biased…
'Without very careful consideration, the algorithms ... can further perpetuate those very biases.'

Burton: The meat and potatoes of healthy eating

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Burton: The meat and potatoes of healthy eating
'Healthier people perform better at work and at school, and eating more vegetables is even good for the environment.'

Letters to the Editor: Dec. 11, 2019

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Letters to the Editor: Dec. 11, 2019
This week, readers share their thoughts about caregiving and medical billing.

Editorial: We need your help to save local…

Hillsboro Tribune - Opinion
Editorial: We need your help to save local…
We've fared far better than many, but the path toward sustainability means relying more on our readers.

Our Opinion: It's the time of the season for…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Our Opinion: It's the time of the season for…
Take care when road conditions are poor. Be cautious, be alert and be patient with drivers who want to take it slow.

Strickler: Yes, ODOT will use salt if needed on…

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Strickler: Yes, ODOT will use salt if needed on…
'When using salt, in most cases, we'll mix it with deicer as it's spread on the road.'

Bonamici: Bill would help us care for aging parents

Forest Grove News-Times - Opinion
Bonamici: Bill would help us care for aging parents
'We have a moral obligation to care for those who came before us. ... It is now our turn to care for them.'

There are no articles in this category. If subcategories display on this page, they may have articles.

Contract Publishing

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine