For 13 years, the chamber has recognized outstanding Hillsboro teachers, and other district staff.

COURTESY PHOTO - Nearly a dozen teachers, administrators and staff in the Hillsboro School District received awards at last weeks Crystal Apple awards ceremony.Nearly a dozen Hillsboro School District teachers, administrators and staff were recognized last week, as part of the Hillsboro Chamber of Commerce's annual Crystal Apple awards.

Ten school district employees received awards on April 19, among nearly 40 nominees selected for the year's awards.

For 13 years, the Chamber has awarded outstanding teachers, and other staff who make a difference in the lives of area children.

The Crystal Apple award categories include administrators, licensed staff — which includes teachers and school counselors — as well as classified staff, which includes custodians, secretaries and other employees who work behind the scenes.

The winners this year included Lincoln Elementary School principal Carmen Brodniak, W.L. Henry Elementary School teacher Cecilia Dean, Mooberry Elementary School teacher Gretchen Erlandsen, McKinney Elementary School teacher Karen Lawson, R.A. Brown Middle School teacher Jennifer Wallace and office manager Maria Fernandez-Arellano, Orenco Elementary School bilingual assistant Mary Ann Bertelson, Hillsboro High School activities director Sarah Cole, Miller Education Center West secretary Teri Rogers and the district's webmaster, Justin Arey.

The awards have raised awareness about the "critical need to provide every child with a quality public education," Chamber officials said in a news release earlier this year.

"This event is an essential way for Hillsboro to recognize educators who excel at engaging and activating our future workforce to strengthen the community," the Chamber said in its release.

Each of the 39 nominees were recognized with a surprise ceremony in their schools earlier this year.

"We truly appreciate the opportunity to publicly recognize and thank our amazing HSD staff members," the school district said in a statement.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine