Support Local Journalism!        

Link to Owner Dr. Robert B. Pamplin Jr.



There is one seat freeing up in Wards 1 through 3, and one of them will have no incumbent on the ballot.

COURTESY PHOTO: CITY OF HILLSBORO - The current election cycle will use this map of ward boundaries, despite the city being in the process of redistricting following the 2020 Census. Three seats on the Hillsboro City Council are up for grabs this November, as current terms expire after the start of next year.

The seats span three different wards, which councilors must live within the boundary of to be eligible. Each ward has two seats on the council, and wards 1 through 3 each have a position expiring in January.

The seats are currently occupied by Council President Kyle Allen, Ward 1 Councilor Beach Pace, and Ward 3 Councilor Olivia Alcaire. Both Alcaire and Pace have filed for reelection.

A challenger, Ivette Pantoja Avalos, has filed to run against Alcaire.

There is currently no one registered with the city recorder's office for the Ward 2 seat that's about to be vacated by Allen, who cannot run for a third consecutive term under the city's charter.

Pantoja Avalos indicated in her election filing that she's the owner of Briar Rose School, a private daycare, preschool and prekindergarten facility on East Main Street.

Alcaire sits on the boards of local nonprofits, including Bienestar, HomePlate, and Habitat for Humanity.

The election will correspond to the city ward map as it's currently drawn, though the city is in the process of redistricting the ward boundaries to bring their populations closer together. The 2020 census revealed that more citizens live in northern Ward 1 than either of the other two.

The current makeup of ward boundaries can be found online at

The deadline to file is Aug. 26.

Candidates must pay a $50 filing fee once their qualifications are confirmed.

Candidates must be registered to vote and have lived in the city for at least 12 months by the time of the Nov. 8 election.

Hillsboro City Council terms last four years, and no one can serve for more than two consecutive terms.

Council members are sworn in during the first business meeting in January.

You count on us to stay informed and we depend on you to fund our efforts. Quality local journalism takes time and money. Please support us to protect the future of community journalism.

Have a thought or opinion on the news of the day? Get on your soapbox and share your opinions with the world. Send us a Letter to the Editor!

Go to top
JSN Time 2 is designed by | powered by JSN Sun Framework