The Spartans qualify nine wrestlers for State, Peterson named Wrestler of the Year.

PAMPLIN MEDIA PHOTO: JIM BESEDA - Hilhi's Cole Siemon wrestles in the 126-pound final at the NWOC District Championships Feb. 10.It may not have been exactly what the Hillsboro Spartan wrestling team was looking for from last weekend's NWOC district wrestling championships, but despite finishing fourth in the team competition, Hilhi qualified nine wrestlers for the OSAA State Wrestling Championships Friday, Feb. 16, and Saturday, Feb. 17, at Portland's Memorial Coliseum.

Milwaukie won the event, scoring 334 points, 31.5 ahead of second-place Wisonville (302.5), 87.5 ahead of third-place Sandy (246.5), and 133.5 (200.5) points clear of the Sparts. Putnam (158), St. Helens (139) and Parkrose (10) rounded out the scoring.

Hilhi's Nick Peterson was the Spartans' only district champion, winning the 138-pound weight division and being named the Wrestler of the Year in the 106-145 pound weight classes. Peterson won his final over Sandy's Levi Rotzien by fall, pinning Rotzien in 5:40.

Other Hillsboro state qualifiers included second-place finishers Tristin Keffer (120), Cole Siemon (126), and Jorge Vega-Gallardo (152); Damon Chavez (113), Joshua Smith (120), Jayden Strickland (138), and Christopher Day (182), who finished third; and Willfredo Peraza-Nava, who placed fourth at 145 pounds.

PAMPLIN MEDIA PHOTO: JIM BESEDA - Hilhi's Nick Peterson shows-off his trophies for winning the NWOC 138-pound title, and Wrestler of the Year in the 106-145 pound division at the NWOC District Championships Feb. 10.Spartan point-earners were as follows: Damon Chavez (113) 18 pts, Joshua Smith (120) 16 pts, Tristin Keffer (120) 22 pts, Cole Siemon (126) 21 pts, Tyler Schertenlieb (132) 10.5 pts, Jayden Strickland (138) 23.5 pts, Nick Peterson (138) 27 pts, Scott Ellis (145) 8.5 pts, Willfredo Peraza-Nava (145) 12 pts, Jorge Vega-Gallardo (152) 18 pts, Christopher Day (182) 15 pts and Joshua Villa-Hernandez 9 pts.

The state championships will tip off Feb. 16 at 8:30 a.m. and will run until 9:30 p.m. Saturday's action will also start at 8:30 a.m., with the finals beginning at 6:30 p.m.

Go to top
Template by JoomlaShine